Search Results for:


Danger Mouse & Jemini

Ghetto Pop Life - 2024 Reissue

    Originally released on Lex Records in 2003 it has been out of print for a number of years and is now being reissued to coincide with the release of Born Again. Featuring guest appearances from tha Liks , J- Zone , Prince Po , and the Pharcyde.


    1. Born-A-MC
    2. Ghetto Pop Life (Intro)
    3. Ghetto Pop Life
    4. Omega Supreme (Who?!)
    5. What U Sittin On?
    6. The Only One
    7. Take Care Of Business
    8. That Brookyln Shit
    9. Yoo-Hoo!
    10. Copy Cats
    11. Don't Do Drugs
    12. Medieval
    13. Bush Boys
    14. Here We Go Again
    15. I'ma Doomee
    16. Knuckle Sandwhich

    Danger Mouse & Jemini

    Born Again

      Remarkably This Soul And Funk Infused Hip-hop Tour De Force Arrives Two Decades After Its Creation And The Duo's Debut LP, 'Ghetto Pop Life' Which Celebrates Its 20th Anniversary This Year.

      Enthused By The Response To 'Ghetto Pop Life', Soon After Danger Mouse And Jemini Began To Tour And To Write And Record 'Born Again'. Finally, Having Been Recorded Two Decades Ago And Indefinitely Shelved Until Now, 'Born Again' Will Finally Be Released To Coincide With The Twentieth Anniversary Of 'Ghetto Pop Life'.

      The Previously Unheard Record Retains Many Of The Elements Of Danger Mouse And Jemini's Debut; The Fun-loving, Shit-talking Innocence, But Also Adopts A Noticeably More Introspective And Confessional Tone. This Time, In Addition To Light-hearted Topics Such As Being An Incredible Artist ('Knuckle Sandwich II', 'Brooklyn Basquiat'), Living Large And Being A Magnet For Attention ('Me'), Jemini Also Delivers Highly personal And Occasionally Devastating Lyrics About Missed Opportunities And Redemption ('All I', 'Born Again'), His Time In Prison ('Locked Up') And Complicated Relationship With His Father ('Dear Poppa').

      His Effortless Free Flowing Cadence And Indelible Sing-song Delivery Elevate Each Track With A Melodic Infectiousness Whilst Danger Mouse Exhibits An Affinity For Resonant Instrumentals Built From Sampled Organ, Vibraphone, Or Guitar Loops And Infused With His Trademark Minor Key Magic. The Result Is A Classic, Timeless Hip Hop Record.


      Matt says: Modern musical polymath Danger Mouse revisits this lost project written and recorded some 20 years ago but never ever released! Isn't it both beguiling but frustrating when you hear of these artists that just have endless, top quality content just lying around waiting to be discovered. "Born Again" is a brilliantly soulful and funky hip-hop joint, retaining the producer's deliciously old school style and reminiscent in many ways of last year's "Cheat Codes" (with Black Thought").


      1. All I
      2. Locked Up
      3. Me
      4. Knuckle Sandwich II
      5. Born Again
      6. Brooklyn Bazquiat
      7. Walk The Walk
      8. Where You From
      9. Dear Poppa
      10. World Music

      Latest Pre-Sales

      158 NEW ITEMS

      E-newsletter —
      Sign up
      Back to top