Image of Fouk - Mirage
Record Label

About this item

The consistently on-point Heist hit us with another doozy of tech house brilliance via the mighty Dutch duo - Fouk.

"Mirage" is built around a stuttering synth loop and a seductive female vocal chanting ‘What made you wanna…” The real star here is the bassline, which propels the track into a seriously infectious groove. Add some Detroitian strings (very UR / Galaxy 2 Galaxy") and moody changeovers and you’ve got yourself a full-blown dancefloor weapon.

"Coffee" has that familiar bounce we've come to love from the pair. Rising strings and keyboard stabs also bring forth that Detroit flavour but without being too pastiche; whilst the skillfully executed breakdowns, coupled with a hooky arrangement give the track more of an exuberance, terrace-leaning sound.

"Tapioca" unpacks some serious electric funk into proceedings, and with its shuffled drum beat, I'm again reminded of Galaxy 2 Galaxy - it's clear that Fouk are fans of the Detroit supergroup!

Milan techno princess Eliza Bee ups the tempo and intensity of "Mirage" - adding slamming 909s and a very techno mindset before "Abalone" closes off proceedings with a very wavy, psychedelic house jaunt that's great for the warm up or the wind down. Top stuff! 


Matt says: Heist continues to be my one-stop shop when looking for that killer new house track for the weekend. Tasteful A&R, nice pressings, strong themes - they've nailed it!


A1 Mirage
A2 Coffee
B1 Tapioca
B2 Mirage (Elisa Bee Remix)
B3 Abalone

You may also like

Back to top