disco . italo . cosmic . disco-not-disco . boogie


Genre pick of the week Cover of Camino EP by Wrekin Havoc.
The iconic Is It Balearic heads to the slightly less iconic - in Balearic terms - West Midlands to retrieve this great EP of electric dance effort gems from Wrekin Havoc. 'Camino' is a loose, melody-rich sound with silvery drums and real nostalgia, then 'Moon Dance' it's a more laidback and zoned out sonic daydream for lazy and sunny afternoons by the pool. There is an electro vibe to 'RLTW' which is a reworking of a Christopher Cross Yacht classic then a T Kurt Remix reworks it into a boogie banger. Another varied and vital EP of grown up dance sounds.


Mine says: Ooooff, Wrekin Havoc can do now wrong. Here they join forces with Is It Balearic to serve up 4 ultra smooth yet moody house-y disco and boogie cuts. Insert fire emoji!


Moon Dance
RLTW (feat Gemima Gallier)
RLTW (T Kutt Version Warehouse)

Grammy award-winning DJ and producer Purple Disco Machine has shared his latest single ‘Beat of Your Heart’ in collaboration with Icelandic artist ÁSDÍS.

Combining Purple Disco Machine’s trademark disco infused sound with ÁSDÍS’s magnetic vocals, the high-energy track is laden with danceable grooves, big synths and catchy melodies. The accompanying music video, directed by NDVD, brings all of the joy of the dancefloor to life intertwining love, freedom and fantasy.

Speaking about the track, Purple Disco Machine says: “I was sent the vocals by ÁSDÍS and I immediately fell in love with her voice. I wanted to release the track as a single and we later re-recorded it together in my studio in Dresden, which was really great.”


A1. Extended
A2. Instrumental
B1. Club Dub

A cult figure in the modern Italo scene, Andy Romano went a bit quiet after his epochal release on Cyber Dance: "Every Time Feel Alright" back in 2010. An early example of the 'second wave' of Italo producers, alongside Manchester's Red Laser Records' roster of course, apparently he decided at the time to focus more on his illustration career; which makes this return some 13 years later extra special.

The chug-a-naut plugs right back into the mainframe for another authentic exercise of electro-disco. Lead track "Monday" contains the quirky arps, darting leads and vintage drum boxes that we associate with "Every Time..". "Loredane" is much more pop-orientated number; bucolic of the Italian countryside, featuring Romano himself on vocals, and definitely suitable for some drive-time fun. "Cyber Black Spaceship" lands somewhere between the two - a late night / early morning red-lit club anthem, or a heart-felt underground radio hit to soundtrack evenings on the Riveria or hitting the city. Bellisimo! 


Matt says: The return of Andy Romano! You might remember him catching the cusp of the new Italo wave around 2010 with the stone cold anthem that was "Every Time Feel Alright". Now he's back with three more authentic and fruity Italo disco tracks.


1 Monday
2 Loredane
3 Cyber Black Spaceship

After his recent release on Robert Johnson, Daniel Klein aka SIRS returns to his own Sirsounds Records imprint serving up more sumptuous original compositions on the searingly good ‘The East Is Near EP.’

The Berlin-based musical polymath SIRS (Sounds in Real Stereo), and his project has won over an abundance of admirers across the dance underground in recent years. He's produced and remixed for benchmark labels including Public Possession, Live at Robert Johnson, Compost, Future Disco, and Music for Dreams, and has been drafted to remix artists as diverse as 2raumwohnung and Ennio Morricone. His latest release arrives on the label he launched in 2017 to provide a home for his effervescent output.

On ‘The East Is Near’ Klein has elegantly produced and cleverly arranged spicy and exotic cuts for different moments of the dance, however they all have something in common – an Eastern touch. Teaming up with Berlin master musician Declan McDermott, the captivating tracks have already done some damage and noise on dancefloors around the world


Matt says: It might be the tail end of winter, but SIRS offer up some optimism via Spanish guitar licks and gentle beach canter on four sun-blushed movements of Balearic-house.


A1. Zappelnder Hindu
A2. Treibsand
B1. Ocean Dreams
B2. Zappelnder Hindu Instrumental

Temu revisits classic disco and boogie courtesy of Arthur Russell / Loose Joints and Kano on his latest 7" for Star Creature offshoot, Tugboat Editions.

"Love Dancing" is an alternatively stylized cover of "Is It All Over My Face". Taking the lyrics and a warped interpretation of the iconic organ motif, Temu takes it moody and stripped back; in tern making it a brilliant late afternoon drive-time scorcher. Picture the red sun dropping over the road as day slowly turns into night.

A similar approach is considered whist covering Kano's 1981 Italo smasher, "Can't Hold Back Your Lovin'" - subduing the energy, adding warm bass and piano chords, and styling the vocal out with a more electrofunk vibe - subtly introducing some vocoder action in the process.

Top turns from Temu! 


Side 1
1. Love Dancing (3:46)
Side 2
1. Can't Hold Back (3:55)

Joe Yellow is a studio project started in 1983 by Domenico Ricchini and the producers Miki Chieregato and Roberto Turatti.Their big hit Eurobeat / Hi NRG tune "U.S.A."('92) will be 7inch on first time, with Japanese imaginary jacket.The song became famous in Japan when dance-pop group Da pump covered it.


1. U.S.A. (Extended Vocal Remix)
2. U.S.A. (Instrumental)

Back to top