Search Results for:


DMX Krew is back on Furthur Electronix! Here with a fine, versatile EP, ranging in style from tripped-out downbeat to bleepy Sheffield style bass, techno and acidic breakbeats. All in all another top drawer release from one of our greatest UK underground electronic legends. TIP!


Ambient Frog
Bell Break
Blue Blob
Clean The Stylus (ashley Break)

DMX Krew has been turning out electronic music from his analog-laden studio since 1994. He has built a discography nothing short of prolific. He mixes tech savvy with a firm understanding of club music and a penchant for catchy and clever hooks. The “Powerplay EP” forms a great display of this. On the A-side, "House Twerp" works up the sparks as a gentle bassline, bubbly synths and bright chords rub against one another. "I love Kevin" continues along the opener's groovy tone, but with the tempo pitched up a notch, a cheerful brass lead and vintage transposed vocal samples, it full on targets the floor. It is a slab of feel-good machine funk, ideal for brightening a room that is far from having its lights turned on. "Masked Man" on the B-side is the most bare-bones club track of the collection. The twitchy lead is modulated left and right: set to a subtly crushed drum track, its tension is continuously building and falling backwards. Closer and title track "Powerplay" is a sparse and subtle slow-builder. Flanged percussion, menacing chords and a classic roving bass sequence are the central ingredients for this muggy and eerie house cut. ALT003 provides a diverse selection, entirely in correspondence with the artist's ability to create within a wide array - from rude electro to synth pop and a lot of the space in between. Ed DMX never really cared much about how his music is categorized, though. And rightfully so, as, even if it indeed tackles many genres, in the end it only sounds like him.


Matt says: Ed's back at the dials with an uplifting EP full of twangy basslines, squidgy synths and kinetic drums. A singular, visionary and prolific composer that's a definite UK dance music treasure.


Side 1
1. House Twerp
2. I Love Kevin
Side 2
1. Masked Man
2. Powerplay

Just over 20 years since its original release on Aphex Twin’s Rephlex records, DMX Krew’s classic We Are DMX receives its much needed first reissue on Cold Blow. It expands the original LP into a full 2xLP gatefold with four(!) bonus tracks, including instrumentals and the beloved Denki No Merodi now for the first time on 12”.

We Are DMX is a testament to the true depth of Ed DMX’s musicianship. From catchy electro pop sing-alongs to melodic dance tracks defying pigeonholes, the album was crafted almost entirely by Ed himself. True to the original album credits, the reissue is mastered by the legendary Matt Colton and is housed behind the iconic artwork by Manuel Sepulveda of Optigram.


A1.The Glass Room
A2. Hard Times
A3. Street Boys
A4. Konnichi Wa!
B1. Honey
B2. Last Days
B3. Good Time Girl
B4. Release My Dub
C1. Twenty Minute Affair
C2. Get With You
C3. We Are DMX
D1. Denki No Merodi
D2. Street Boys (Dub Mix)
D3. Konnichi Wa! (Instrumental)
D4 Good Time Girl (Instrumental)

Latest Pre-Sales


🔵 BLUE MONDAY 🔵 Coil - ‘Queens Of The Circulating Library’ reissue out now via @daisrecords
Mon 30th - 5:48
Tom Verlaine 1949 - 2023. Thank you for the music.
Sat 28th - 10:48
After doing a shop window take over back in Nov with empty sleeves. The vinyl is finally here 🙌 Léna C - Promenade…
Fri 27th - 4:24
E-newsletter —
Sign up
Back to top