Search Results for:


Gia Margaret

There's Always Glimmer - 2023 Reissue

    ‘There’s Always Glimmer' is a hugely rewarding and deeply affecting slow burner. An accomplished record that seemingly appeared out of nowhere, catching people’s attention with the fragile, intimate beauty of Gia’s compositions carrying her poignant lyrics. With word of mouth growing and multiple pressings of the record having sold out since, it’s great news then that it is finally getting the full release outside of North America that it richly deserves. The fruit of years of endeavour, ‘There’s Always Glimmer’ represents a time in Gia’s life when she had to balance her creative urges with the basic need to pay rent. A Chicago native, she excelled at both piano and guitar growing up, later finding solace in writing songs hidden away in her bedroom. Informed by greats such as Nick Drake, Linda Perhacs, The Roches and Connie Converse, she became increasingly confident that music could become more than a hobby, buoyed by the receptive audience her demos and cover series found online. Still, she decided not to rush, instead biding her time until she felt she had the right body of work to make an album ready for the daylight.


    A1. Groceries
    A2. Birthday
    A3. Figures
    A4. Smoke
    A5. Goodnight
    A6: In Normal Ways
    B1. Looking
    B2. For Flora
    B3. Sugar
    B4. Exist
    B5. Wayne
    B6. West

    Gia Margaret

    Gia Margaret - 2023 Reissue

      “Mia Gargaret” is an ambient, (mostly) instrumental album by Chicago, IL singer, songwriter, multi-instrumentalist & producer Gia Margaret. It’s also not the follow-up she intended after the critical success of her 2018 debut, “There’s Always Glimmer”. But after she suddenly found herself without use of her primary instrument, she had to rethink her methods, at least temporarily. Gia explains: “After having to cancel tours because of illness, I was unable to sing for nearly half of the year. This left me feeling like a shell of myself, so I turned to my synthesizer for comfort. These compositions helped me hold onto my identity as a music maker. At times this music helped soothe my anxiety more than therapy or anything else could.” Documenting her self-healing and without singing or lyrics to steal the focus, the instrumental tracks on “Mia Gargaret” shine a light on Gia’s skills as a musician, composer & producer. Spare but immersive arrangements of synthesizer, piano & acoustic guitar simultaneously ache & soothe, building emotional landscapes that rise & recede like scenery through a train window. “Mia Gargaret” is a gorgeous experiment & a memorable meditation on the healing power of music. This version is a limited edition of 200 – pressed on pale blue vinyl with an exclusive lithograph print.


      A1. Apathy
      A2. Body
      A3. INWIW
      A4. Barely There
      A5. For Zoya In China
      B1. No Sleep No Dream
      B2. Lakes
      B3. Sadballad
      B4. 3 Movements
      B5. Ash
      B6. Lesson

      Just In

      40 NEW ITEMS

      Latest Pre-Sales

      102 NEW ITEMS

      E-newsletter —
      Sign up
      Back to top