Search Results for:



Landing + Headgit (Special Edition)

    First released on CD in late 2009, "Landing" marks Githead's fourth release (and third full album) since its inception in 2004. In a short career that has boasted more five-star reviews than most bands have had hot dinners, "Landing" is, unquestionably, Githead's most accomplished recording to date.

    For the uninitiated, Githead are Colin Newman (Wire), Malka Spigel and Max Franken (Minimal Compact) and Robin Rimbaud (aka Scanner). However, who they are is far less important than what they are. And what they are is a band, rather than a collaboration between four individuals. Githead has developed incrementally and organically : from the Krautrock-infused roots of 2004’s debut EP "Headgit", through an expansion in style and mood on first album "Profile" the following year, to the self-descriptive "Art Pop" in 2007, which was critically hailed as the band's zenith. Improbably, "Landing" goes one better. All the familiar components of Githead's distinctive idiom remain in place - Newman and Rimbaud's minimalist guitar patterns, their supremely catchy melodic sense, Spigel's propulsive bass rumble, Franken's solid, steady drive - but "Landing" broadens the band's vocabulary considerably. Adding depth, texture and shading, this album's ten tracks are somehow simultaneously harder, edgier, more expansive, more organic, and more hypnotic. Crucially, though, while Githead might now be speaking a more sophisticated, nuanced language, they never once lose touch with their essential pop sensibility. It's this unique balance of convention and subtle experimentation that's always distinguished Githead from so many others attempting to plough the same adventurous avant-pop furrow.

    Previously unavailable on vinyl, this new and limited LP version of "Landing" is accompanied by a one-off pressing of Githead’s first ever release, the six track EP "Headgit" from 2004. Long out of print, "Headgit" has - like "Landing" – never been on vinyl and will only be available in this special edition package.



      Immersion are Malka Spigel and Colin Newman. Although best known for their work with, respectively, Minimal Compact and Wire, the duo’s work as Immersion provides an outlet for their ongoing fascination in crafting enthralling, unique musical soundscapes. Sleepless is Immersion’s latest album, a suite of ten distinctive, unpredictable instrumentals that effortlessly encapsulate a range of emotions and energies.

      Originally from Lodz, but raised in Tel Aviv, Malka Spigel began her musical and artistic life in Amsterdam in the early 1980s. There, she first picked up a bass guitar and, with fellow émigrés Berry Sakharof and Samy Birnbach, founded Minimal Compact, whose middle-eastern nuanced post-punk would garner a large, loyal following, especially in continental Europe. The band (later joined by Rami Fortis and Max Franken) put out six studio albums between 1981 and 1988, and their song ‘When I Go’ – sung by Spigel – was famously featured on the soundtrack to Wim Wenders’s 1987 film, “Wings Of Desire”. Although Minimal Compact haven’t released any new material for over two decades, their stature has continued to grow with each reawakening of the band for live work: six dates in Israel in 2012, for instance, saw them play to crowds unimaginable even in their heyday. Marrying Wire’s Colin Newman in 1986, they quickly developed a creative partnership and set up the Swim label in the early 1990s.

      Spigel’s debut solo album ‘Rosh Ballata’, mini-album ‘Hide’, second full-length ‘My Pet Fish’, and projects recorded under the names Oracle and Immersion all emerged between 1993 and 1997. In 2004, with Newman and Robin Rimbaud, she formed the band Githead, which has to date released three acclaimed albums. ‘Every Day Is Like The First Day’ may be Malka Spigel’s third solo album, but it opens a whole new vista for her work, and has all the freshness and promise of an exciting debut. The genesis of this material was an exploratory four-day stint with Newman with “zero preparation” at a studio run by Stereolab’s Andy Ramsay, which offered a treasure trove of musical playthings with which to interact intuitively – from bouzouki and vibraphone to decommissioned Stereolab organs and synths.

      Having laid the foundations, the couple embarked on a second phase, opening the work up to collaboration, with guest musicians chosen from friends with whom she hadn’t worked before, so as to remove any sense of continuity, familiarity or habit.That list of collaborators would eventually include Alexander Balanescu, Andy Ramsay, Johnny Marr, Julie Campbell (LoneLady Psychic Life), Matthew Simms (It Hugs Back, Wire), Nik Colk Void (Factory Floor, KaitO, Carter Tutti Void), Ronald Lippok (To Rococo Rot, Tarwater), and acclaimed soundtrack composer Teho Teardo. What comes across from this elaborate process (involving a grand total of thirteen musicians, four countries and eight studios) is the essence of each song as what Spigel would call “the first song” – a distinct, singular entity, with its own unique emotional resonance and atmosphere.

      Blending real and synthetic instruments in ways that are at once seamless and striking, these songs are as rich as they are diverse. A meditation on ephemerality in 3/4, ‘Ammonite’ sets the agenda, its Mellotron flute, live strings and bouzouki shaping otherworldly textures. Newman’s production here – and throughout the record – is crucial, allowing the individual parts to breathe and retain their own identity, while weaving them into a lush, integrated whole. There’s often a subtly hypnotic quality to this work, most memorably on tracks that forego drums, building cyclical patterns from more understated percussive and melodic elements such as vibraphone, xylophone, violin, cello and Mellotron: the ethereal ‘Dream Time’ and ‘After The Rain’, the haunted ‘Back In The Old City’ and the bittersweet ‘Lost In Sound’. Other tracks have a greater immediacy and a sometimes harsher edge.

      This is, above all, an album about creativity and the creative process – an artistic statement bringing together her work in different media, and music made with a visual artist’s sense of colour, atmosphere and composition. First 1000 copies presented in limited edition with exclusive eight page photo print booklet.



      Ostensibly a guitar/bass/drums rock trio, their originality stems from their insistence that electronic methodology is as fundamental to their music as strings and amps. Their exploration of digital manipulation creates the tron-like effect of a rock band inside a computer, and the sound they make is the very aural definition of the leading edge in contemporary music.

      Latest Pre-Sales

      236 NEW ITEMS

      Let the Saturday shopping commence. We’re open until 6pm.
      Sat 16th - 10:30
      The new self titled album from @LadytronMusic is out today. It’s their first album in seven years on Ladytron Music…
      Fri 15th - 4:37
      .@DavidBowieReal fans. His 1983 album Let’s Dance has been reissued/remastered. Out today on @parlophone
      Fri 15th - 1:35
      Hollow Earth is the new album out today from @PyeCornerAudio aka Martin Jenkins, his third for Ghost Box. It’s conc…
      Fri 15th - 12:14
      E-newsletter —
      Sign up
      Back to top