“...It’s the most wonderful time of the year…”

Not Christmas of course, but the season of our famed End Of Year Review. For 12 months we’ve been inundated with fresh new releases, hot reissues, killer comps and innovative sounds, and we think 2019’s round up might just be the best one yet. So put a mark in your diary for Wednesday November 27th, when we launch this baby with a massive day of musical merriment!

Festivities start over breakfast with our internet-breaking chart announcements on Twitter / Instagram from 9-10am. Then you’ve got an hour to recover your equilibrium and make yourself presentable before hitting the shop for our 11 a.m. opening.

After a day of incidents and accidents, hints and allegations, we’ll be clearing a little counter space and decking our halls for an Instore Party from 5pm - 7pm! Not only will the staff be manning the turntables for two hours of B2B2B2B2B2B DJ fun, we’ll also have free food and drink (inc. mince pies!), Piccadilly Records Lucky Dip (prizes inc. t-shirts, totes, mugs, the Piccadilly vinyl compilation (more info below) and more!), 10% off all vinyl and CDs (free CD sampler with top 50 albums, top 20 comps, top 20 reissues), but MOST IMPORTANTLY you can pick up a free wristband for entry to our Outstore launch party at Night & Day...

That’s right folks, this year’s afterparty is right across the road at another O.G. Northern Quarter institution, Night & Day Cafe, from 7 p.m. to 11 p.m. There’s free entry via the aforementioned wristband and you’ll have the pleasure of DJ sets and a live performance from a slew of top secret chart topping guests, as well as the usual booze-fuelled frivolity the Night & Day is famous for.

Dust off your dancing shoes and meet us in store!


Wednesday November 27th
  • 9-10 a.m. - Chart Announcements on Twitter & Instagram
  • 11-7 - Shop open
  • 5-7 p.m. - Instore party inc. DJs, discounts, booze, giveaways and wristband collection
  • 7-11 p.m. - Outstore launch party at Night & Day Cafe w/ chart topping DJs & Live performances.

As mentioned above, After the success of last year’s inaugural Piccadilly vinyl, we’ve worked our magic once again to bring you another compilation LP, jam packed with musical magic from our top 20, as well as the gold medalists in the reissue and compilation categories.
The full tracklisting will also be announced on November 27th.
Arriving at the beginning of December it's the perfect vinyl gift available for pre-order now at the knockdown price of £9.99!!

Various Artists

Piccadilly Records Compilation 2019

    Do not adjust your sets / swap your reading specs, we’ve gone and done another record! After the success of last year’s inaugural Piccadilly vinyl, we’ve worked our magic once again to bring you another compilation LP, jam packed with musical magic from our top 20, as well as the gold medallists in the reissue and compilation categories. 

    Buckle up as we blast off into the sonic stratosphere with the ‘Piccadilly Records Compilation 2019’.

    W.H. Lung get things off to a flying start with the existential motorik and art pop perfection of ‘Second Death Of My Face’, a soaring combination of searing synthwork, sophisticated lyrics and propulsive rhythm which segues perfectly into the psychedelic throb and shoegaze shimmer of Lorelle Meets The Obsolete’s ‘Líneas En Hojas’. The tempo settles into a riverbank lilt for the haze of Vanishing Twin’s summertime serenade ‘Magician’s Success’, before coasting through the orchestral beauty of Prefab Sprout’s ‘Sleeping Rough’ and Shana Cleveland’s nuanced acid folk. Closing out the A-side perennial Piccadilly favourites Moon Duo take an arp out of Apta’s book and walk us through the cosmos with the optimistic space disco of ‘Stars Are The Light’.

    The spaced out synth tones remain for B-side opener ‘101FM’, a stomping coming of age cut from fierce MC Little Simz, who hands the baton to a lovelorn Cate Le Bon for her swooning ‘Daylight Matters’, a songwriting masterclass if ever I’ve heard one. Our own modular maestro Apta enters the fray next, working the filters for a beatific Balearic rework of Horsebeach’s ‘Trust’, before fellow knob-twiddler Andrew Wasylyk picks a path between Air (French band) and Air (Japanese Ambient imprint) with the evocative and pastoral beauty of ‘Journey To Inchcape’. Continuing the theme of cinematic and serene, Portico Quartet tug at each one of our heartstrings with the immersive electro-acoustic nocturne ‘Gradient’, a perfect precursor to Ghia’s end of night anthem ‘You Won’t Sleep On My Pillow’, a stand out track from the exceptional ‘Proper Sunburn’ compilation.


    Side A:
    1. W.H. Lung: Second Death Of My Face
    2. Lorelle Meets The Obsolete: Líneas En Hojas
    3. Vanishing Twin: Magician’s Success
    4. Prefab Sprout: Sleeping Rough (Remastered)
    5. Shana Cleveland: I’ll Never Know
    6. Moon Duo: Stars Are The Light

    Side B:
    1. Little Simz: 101FM
    2. Cate Le Bon: Daylight Matters
    3. Horsebeach: Trust (Apta Modular Mix)
    4. Andrew Wasylyk: Journey To Inchcape
    5. Portico Quartet: Gradient
    6. Ghia: You Won’t Sleep On My Pillow

    Latest Pre-Sales

    190 NEW ITEMS

    E-newsletter —
    Sign up
    Back to top