Search Results for:


Absolutely CLASSIC Herbert - Say no more!!

Seriously, every home need these experimental dance staples in them. Life changing moments from one of the longest serving of the UK stalwarts. Stupendouly limited copies so cop now or cry later. You have been warned!


The Shakes

“The Shakes” is Matthew Herbert’s first album under the name Herbert since 2006’s dark orchestral disco fantasy ‘Scale’. The album deals with intensely personal issues such as raising young children against a backdrop of an increasingly unstable world. Herbert himself suggests that the record can be seen as a treatise on how “music helps to motivate, provide respite and divert us from the challenges of the everyday” and that it is “electronic music for the soul.”

In many ways, 'The Shakes' is a sequel to Herbert’s much-lauded 'Bodily Functions' album and is the latest in a series of albums that stretches back nearly 20 years to his minimalist house classic '100lbs'. It follows a vinyl-heavy trio of underground releases last year (Part 6,7,8) and is Herbert’s attempt to “seduce the listener back to the dancefloor”.

Musicians featured on The Shakes include Dave Okumu (The Invisible, Jessie Ware) on guitar, Sam Beste (Hejira, Amy Winehouse) on keyboards, organ, saxophonist Ben Castle (Quincy Jones, Radiohead), trombonist Alistair White (Van Morrison, Blur) and Chris Storr (Beyonce, James Brown) on trumpet. Vocalists on the album include Rahel Debebe-Dessalegne (Hejira, Nitin Sawhney) - who sings on 'Middle', 'Smart', 'Ones', 'Know', 'Silence' and 'Warm' - and Ade Omotayo (Kindness, Amy Winehouse) - who sings on 'Battle', 'Strong', 'Stop', 'Bed', 'Safety' and 'Peak' - and notable highlights include Herbert’s Grandfather’s piano and a piano from Wormwood Scrubs on 'Smart', the sounds of UK protest marches ('Strong') and the sound of used bullets and shells bought from eBay on 'Safety'. Most notable of all however is Father Wills, the vast church organ of St Jude’s church in Hampstead that provides the huge depth and scale on much of the album. Who’d have thought that the church organ and techno went so well together?


2xLP includes MP3 Download Code.

Accidental Records brings us a new album by Wishmountain, the original moniker of producer and DJ Matthew Herbert, 16 years after the release of the seminal techno track, 'Radio' and subsequent album 'Wishmountain Is Dead'. Championed by DJs such as Sven Vath and Westbam as well as being a club classic for legendary clubs like Fuse in Belgium, 'Radio' blasted its way in to nightclubs around the world despite being made only from 8 sounds of a beaten up plastic radio. In many ways it made Matthew's name, as someone ready to bring real and challenging sounds to the largely synthetic soundscape of club music while being unafraid to make people dance at the same time.

Despite killing off the pseudonym many years ago, Matthew decided to dust off the moniker and write a collection of new songs using the old principles. 'TESCO' is an album made exclusively from sounds recorded from the ten best-selling items in a TESCO supermarket*, and features tracks including 'Lucozade', 'Fruit Shoot', 'Andrex' and 'Dairy Milk'.

The guiding creative principle of the Wishmountain project - that each track is made exclusively from eight sounds recorded from a single object - originally stemmed from the technical limitations of Herbert's recording equipment. Using an eight-output Casio FZ1 sampler, Herbert challenged himself to build tracks using sounds from ordinary items found in the home. His debut duly featured the likes of a 'Pepperpot', 'Cheesegrater', 'Crisps' and 'Radio' on a release which is still hailed as a minimal Techno classic.

Matthew Herbert said: "After all the questioning, controversy, head scratching, mud, straw and blood of the 'ONE PIG' record, I felt like making some old-fashioned dance music. I ended up making this record in 4 days, a spontaneous crunch around the modern supermarket - a place of fantasy, trickery, wonder and horror”

Just In


Latest Pre-Sales


Featured in the new issue of @QMagazine seek it out. Thanks for asking us to be a part of it 🙏…
Thu 4th - 2:43
As you should have already heard the @RSDUK 20 releases have now been split for release across 3 #RSD20 drop days -…
Mon 1st - 1:25
Looking forward to this one guys. Pre-order here @bluenoterecords
Mon 1st - 9:06
E-newsletter —
Sign up
Back to top