Search Results for:


The Afghan Whigs

Up In It - Vinyl Reissue

    ‘Up In It’ is The Afghan Whigs’ second full length and their Sub Pop debut. The 1990 album, recorded by legendary producer Jack Endino, was critically acclaimed and garnered strong college radio airplay. It has been out of print on vinyl for over 25 years.


    White Trash Party
    Amphetamines And Cofee
    Hey Cuz
    You My Flower
    Son Of The South
    I Know Your Little Secret

    Mute are proud to present the 21st anniversary deluxe editions of The Afghan Whigs’ landmark album ‘Gentlemen’.

    ‘Gentlemen At 21’ features the original album newly remastered along with bonus content consisting of rare Bsides, live performances and previously unreleased demos.

    ‘Gentlemen At 21’ presents the original record’s 11 tracks, updated but still retaining the 1993 album’s blistering swagger. The same 11 tracks that have made a visceral connection with fans over the last 21 years - the deeply dark and confessional lyrical content, the no-frills production qualities and Greg Dulli’s soul-baring vocal performances captured on tape. In addition, the album includes all the original demos for the album, which were recorded at John Curley’s Ultrasuede studio space in Cincinnati.

    The bonus material also includes the original ‘Debonair’ single B sides, including ‘Mr Superlove’ and a cover of the southern blue-eyed soul classic ‘Dark End Of The Street’ along with three songs recorded live for KTCL in Denver, previously issued on the ‘What Jail Is Like’ EP. The set comes packaged with a faithful reproduction of the original sleeve art and its striking front cover image, an homage to Nan Goldin’s iconic ‘Nan And Brian In Bed, New York City’.


    1. If I Were Going
    2. Gentlemen
    3. Be Sweet
    4. Debonair
    5. When We Two Parted
    6. Fountain And Fairfax
    7. What Jail Is Like
    8. My Curse
    9. Now You Know
    10. I Keep Coming Back
    11. Brother Woodrow / Closing Prayer

    1. If I Were Going (Demo, Recorded At Ultrasuede)
    2. Gentlemen (Demo, Recorded At Ultrasuede)
    3. Be Sweet (Demo, Recorded At Ultrasuede)
    4. Debonair (Demo, Recorded At Ultrasuede)
    5. When We Two Parted (Demo, Recorded At Ultrasuede)
    6. Fountain And Fairfax (Demo, Recorded At Ultrasuede)
    7. What Jail Is Like (Demo, Recorded At Ultrasuede)
    8. My Curse (Demo, Recorded At Ultrasuede)
    9. Now You Know (Instrumental Rough Mix From Ardent)
    10. Brother Woodrow (Instrumental Rough Mix From Ardent)

    11. Little Girl Blue [B-Side (Rodgers/Hart) [Recorded At Audiocraft, Cincinnati, OH]
    12. Ready [B-Side (Rodgers/Hart) [Recorded At Audiocraft, Cincinnati, OH]
    13. Mr. Superlove [B-Side (Rodgers/Hart) [Recorded At Audiocraft, Cincinnati, OH]
    14. The Dark End Of The Day The Street [B-Side (Rodgers/Hart) [Recorded At Audiocraft, Cincinnati, OH]
    15. What Jail Is Like (KTCL Live Music At The Mercury Café, Denver, CO May 10th, 1994)
    16. Now You Know (KTCL Live Music At The Mercury Café, Denver, CO May 10th, 1994)
    17. My World Is Empty Without You I Hear A Symphony (KTCL Live Music At The Mercury Café, Denver, CO May 10th, 1994)

    The Afghan Whigs

    Do To The Beast

      ‘Do To The Beast’ is the first new album by The Afghan Whigs in over a decade and a half. Founded in Cincinnati, Ohio, in 1988, the band has long stood out from its peers, with their savage, rapturous blend of hard rock, classic soul, and frontman Greg Dulli’s searing angst and obsessions.

      The new album is both a homecoming - it marks their return to Sub Pop, for whom the Whigs were the first signing from outside the label’s Northwest base - and a glimpse into the future of one of the most acclaimed bands of the past twenty five years.

      ‘Do To The Beast’ is an appropriately feral title for one of the most intense, cathartic records of Dulli’s entire career. It adds fresh twists to The Afghan Whigs canon: there’s the film noir storytelling of ‘Black Love’, the exuberance of ‘1965’, the brutal introspection of ‘Gentlemen’. However, the album exudes a galvanized musical spirit and rhythmic heft that suggest transcendence and hope amidst the bloodletting.

      Recorded in LA, New Orleans, Cincinnati, and Joshua Tree - a virtual map of the band’s past and present homes, the album features Whigs co-founders Greg Dulli and John Curley, along with the core band of guitarists Dave Rosser and Jon Skibic, multi-instrumentalist Rick Nelson and drummer Cully Symington. Also featured are soul iconoclast Van Hunt, Mark McGuire (Emeralds), Johnny ‘Natural’ Nagera (Usher’s musical director), Alain Johannes (Queens Of The Stone Age, Arctic Monkeys), Clay Tarver (Bullet LaVolta, Chavez), Dave Catching (QOTSA, Eagles of Death Metal), among others.


      Laura says: Greg Dulli and co return in fine style with this swaggering blend of rock'n'roll angst, classic r'n'b and soul. A dark and uncompromising tour de force.

      Latest Pre-Sales

      121 NEW ITEMS

      The Vinyl Adventures independent label market is coming to town on Sunday December 5. Check out these cool, very li…
      Mon 29th - 10:20
      T-minus 1 hour until #BlackFriday @RSDUK stock goes ONLINE. Full details of what's gonna be available here >>>…
      Sat 27th - 7:00
      Great choices here from our very own Barry aka @AptaMusic Have a read and give the playlist a listen 🎧…
      Fri 26th - 6:17
      TONIGHT! Doors at 8pm people. Ticket/vinyl bundle still available 👇 @nightanddaycafe
      Fri 26th - 3:32
      E-newsletter —
      Sign up
      Back to top