Search Results for:


The Brand New Heavies

Never Stop... The Best Of

    2023 marks 35 years since the first single by The Brand New Heavies and here we have twenty-one seminal tracks from Acid Jazz royalty, The Brand New Heavies, who transcended London’s local funk scene to become to enjoy global success across with hits such as ‘Sometimes’, ‘You Are The Universe’, ‘Dream on Dreamer’, ‘Midnight at The Oasis’ and more.

    This new compilation brings together all the singles from the band’s time with London Records, featuring 15 Top 40, 5 Top 20, and 1 Top 10 UK hits.

    All formats feature new liner notes from producer and long-time fan Mark Ronson. 


    1. Never Stop
    2. Dream Come True
    3. Got To Give
    4. Don’t Let It Go To Your Head
    5. Stay This Way
    6. Dream On Dreamer
    7. Back To Love
    8. Midnight At The Oasis
    9. Spend Some Time
    10. Close To You
    11. Sometimes
    12. You Are The Universe
    13. You’ve Got A Friend
    14. Shelter
    15. Saturday Nite
    16. Apparently Nothing
    17. People Get Ready
    18. Bonafied Funk
    19. Brother Sister
    20. Mind Trips
    21. You Can Do It

    CD 2
    1. Stay This Way (Bob Sinclar Remix)
    2. Dream Come True (Heavies Mix)
    3. Never Stop (Heavies Mix)
    4. Back To Love (GP Club Mix)
    5. Midnight At The Oasis (Roger S Underground Network Mix)
    6. Spend Some Time (Brothers In Rhythm Club Mix)
    7. Close To You (Masters At Work Remix)
    8. Sometimes (Monsieur D’s Underground Behaviour Mix)
    9. You Are The Universe (Tuff Jam’s 2 In 1 Remix)
    10. Saturday Nite (Full Intention Club Mix)

    Brand New Heavies

    Original Flava

      To mark the 35th Anniversary of the label, Acid Jazz are reissuing some essential formative albums as a special series on coloured vinyl. Brand New Heavies’ ‘Orginal Flava’ was originally released in 1994, but includes material from before their seminal, self-title 1990 debut ‘Brand New Heavies’. 

      Highlights include a lounge version of ‘Never Stop’, the Crusaders-esque ‘Country Funkin’ as well as an adventurous live version of ‘Headhunters’, which shows the Heavies’ power as a live outfit. A vital snapshot into the early years of a vital band and the early years of Acid Jazz


      1. Rest Of Me
      2. Put Yourself In My Shoes
      3. Reality
      4. Country Funkin’
      5. Got To Give
      6. Mother’s Tongue
      7. Dream Come True
      8. Never Stop
      9. Headhunters (Live)
      10. A Day At The Seaside

      The Brand New Heavies

      Shibuya 357: Live In Tokyo 1992

        1991 was a momentous year for The Brand New Heavies. They started it without a singer second on the bill to The James Taylor Quartet and by the end they had a Top 3 US hit and were about to embark on a run of 16 Top 40 hits in the UK. N’Dea Davenport was by this point fronting the group as their guest singer and the brilliant string of singles from their debut album were becoming locked in the minds of an ever-growing fanbase.

        Live they were a revelation. The only group from the UK scene who could do tight and slick, without slipping into ‘lift music’ blandness. The core membership of Andrew Levy, Simon Bartholomew and Jan Kincaid had been playing together since college and each knew where the other was going. Their ability to write classic soul songs lifted them above their contemporaries.

        ‘Shibuya 357’ is the quintessential (and only live) document of an era that quickly passed. The hits - ‘Never Stop’, ‘Dream Come True’, ‘Stay This Way’ and ‘Don’t Let It Go To Your Head’ are all here - as are some compelling funk jams. This recording captures the ecstatic rush of joy; when you go from youthful dream to accomplishment in such a short period.

        The album was only ever released in Japan in the late 90s and then only for a very short time. Acid Jazz are pleased to release this new version remastered from the source tape and the album appears on vinyl for the very first time.


        Gimme One Of Those
        Ride In The Sky
        Got To Give
        People Get Ready
        Don’t Let It Go To Your Head
        Mr. Tanaka
        Never Stop
        Stay This Way
        Doin’ It To Death
        Dream Come True

        Latest Pre-Sales

        154 NEW ITEMS

        E-newsletter —
        Sign up
        Back to top