synth-pop . alt-R&B . cold wave . industrial


Various Artists

DFA Records Compilation #2

    First time on vinyl, fully remastered and resequence by James and Bob Weston.

    Behold, Compilation #2. A compendium what are arguably the best prime-era DFA cuts, mostly all recorded and/or remixed at the old DFA Studios on W. 13th Street (with some notable exceptions), released as 12-inches and then compiled onto a 3xCD set for convenience because, at the time, people actually bought CDs more than vinyl.

    Now, in the spirit of time not really being much of a linear thing anymore, and for our own selfish desire to have this version of Liquid Liquid’s “Bellhead,” produced by the DFA, finally committed to wax, we have reverse engineered this thing back onto vinyl and presented it as a four-record boxed set.

    We went back and found the master tapes or files for each song - a not insignificant effort given our habit of disorganization. We then rather painstakingly resequenced and remastered it with the guy we trust with such things: Bob Weston at Chicago Mastering Service. The lacquers Bob cut were plated and pressed at what we believe to be one of the best pressing plants in the country: QRP in Salina, Kansas.

    We tell you all of this to say: we took this shit pretty seriously. Because we felt like it was important and because we felt like some folks would really appreciate it. It sounds remarkable. It looks great. (Rob Carmichael re-did the original packaging, adding a new photo from DFA OG Tim Saccenti from one of the original parties at W. 13th St.) Of course, we somehow can’t stop ourselves from making labeling errors - Pixeltan’s “That’s the Way I Like It” somehow escaped the center labels on the fourth record. It’s kind of the DFA curse. Has to be!


    SIDE A
    Black Leotard Front - Casual Friday
    SIDE B
    J.O.Y. - Sunplus (DFA Remix)
    The Juan MacLean - I Robot
    The Juan MacLean - Dance Hall Modulator Dub
    SIDE C
    Delia Gonzalez & Gavin Russom - Rise (DFA Remix)
    Black Dice - Wasteder
    J.O.Y. - Sunplus
    SIDE D
    LCD Soundsystem - Yeah (Pretentious Version)
    The Rapture - Sister Saviour (DFA Dub)
    SIDE E
    Liquid Liquid - Bellhead
    LCD Soundsystem - Yeah (Crass Version)
    SIDE F
    Delia Gonzalez & Gavin Russom - El Monte
    The Rapture - Alabama Sunshine
    SIDE G
    Pixeltan - Get Up / Say What (DFA Remix)
    LCD Soundsystem - Beat Connection (Extended Disco Dub)
    SIDE H
    Pixeltan - That’s The Way I Like It
    Black Dice - Endless Happiness (EYE Remix)
    The Juan MacLean - Less Than Human

    Delia Gonzalez & Gavin Russom

    The Days Of Mars - Repress

      Our review from 2005:

      "DFA release their fourth artist album for 2005, following on from LCD Soundsystem, The Juan MacLean and Black Dice. 'Since everything we do is theatrical, our music becomes like a soundtrack' Delia explains, and how right she is! The world glimpsed on "Days Of Mars" is an incredibly vivid one, made by layering live takes of keyboards and other instruments, many designed and built specifically for making this LP. Touching upon their love of everything from Alice Coltrane to acid house, Santeria ritual music to the kosmiche side of krautrock, opener "Rise" draws on these touchstones while remaining true to Delia and Gavin's mesmerizing sound; repetitious sinewaves ripple and undulate to achieve a heightened state of awareness. "Black Spring" pulses and builds like a climax to a long-lost horror flick (think zombies or envision a post-apocalyptic world). To further strengthen the soundtrack theme, the duo are at work on a short film to go with the epic, expansive third track, "Relevee". The album closes with the Joy Division-hinting "Black Spring", another epic piece of electronic music from this essential DFA release."

      Back to top