Balearic . Yacht Rock . New Age . Downbeat


Johnny Jewel

Home - OST

    Another soundtrack from the IDIB camp, this time for Fien Troch's 'Home'. The first side features a number of feels-heavy synthy outings, kicking things off with 'Magazine'. Starting subtly enough with gently phasing guitar line, almost instantly augmented with an ethereal vocal, shimmering and echoing over the top, before launching into neon synths and snappy Linn drums, lending an aura of melacholic introspection, but remaining driven enough to keep things upbeat. 

    'The Magician' goes a little further down the Italo wormhole with a throbbing single-note synth riff being joined by clattering reverbed percussion and swirling lead lines, keeping true to the upbeat neature of this first half, but expanding things into slightly more dancefloor territory before taking it back into ambient territory with free-roaming LFO'd oscillator swells and delayed melodic stabs. 

    It's when we flip over that we see the other side of the record both literally and figuratively, with the Linn Drums being traded out for a twenty bag and a massive stack of oscillators, all working together into a crescentic drone, both beautiful and haunting. 'Home' is heavy on the pads, swirling and swelling into a heart-aching cacophony of tentative hope and brittle euphoria. 

    And so it continues, 'Remorse' takes things a little more slowly, with infrequent bass drums and reticent mid-heavy synths taking centre-stage like the 9-minute intro to a Pink-Floyd outtake, brilliantly engrossing, and feeling decidedly more brief than it's four and a half minutes. 'Endless' is not in fact endless at all, but feels like it easily could be with the chilling introduction of some gloriously dusty Rhodes keys, lending melody and a perfect amount of forward motion into an otherwise completely laid-back backdrop. 

    USA underground legend Strategy (Peak Oil, Idle Hands, Further, 100% Silk) returns with his 20th album that repurposes the chill-out subgenre to withstand the heat of armageddon.

    On "The Wet Room", Cascadian experimental music fixture Strategy set out repurpose chill-out for improved resilience under the strains of record-breaking heatwaves. Syrupy bass workouts, generative freeform bubblers, captured freak transmissions, uneasy soundbites, buried secret messages, dubbed-out mixing board sessions coalesce into a purposeful, yet liquid, choreography. 

    Fans of the West Mineral / Huerco / 3XL universe and some of the recent trip-hop inspired releases from last year should defo check!


    A1. Sun Comes Down
    A2. Deadly Rainbow
    A3. No Defects
    A4. Mysteries Inside The Dogmind
    A5. Heat
    B1. Meanwhile Moon
    B2. Ride Rite (Dub)
    B3. Numeros
    B4. Freshmosphere

    Back to top