Search Results for:


The Young Gods

The Young Gods

    The Young Gods’ classic debut album is reissued on vinyl including a previously unreleased John Peel Session.

    Released in April 1987 on Organik and Wax Trax! Records, this sample-based record produced by Roli Mosimann is much more than an album, it is a phenomenon - a musical revolution which appears as a milestone in the alternative music scene. Hailed by international critics, The Young Gods received a unique attention from the British music press:

    ‘A firestorm, a total, catastrophic sweep across the scattered fragments of rock history and rock dilapidation, “The Young Gods” used sampling not out of some nostalgic sense of mischief but to whip up everything into a hurricane of charcoal. The ultimate in technology to release the most determindely savage sound of the year. We repeat this is the future.’ — Melody Maker, Best Album of 1987

    The Young Gods 1987 reissue album was remastered from the original recordings and is being released on 140 gram heavyweight vinyl.


    A1. Nous De La Lune
    A2. Jusqu’au Bout
    A3. A Ciel Ouvert
    A4. Jimmy
    A5. Fais La Mouette
    B1. Percusionne
    B2. Feu
    B3. Did You Miss Me
    B4. Si Tu Gardes
    C1. Envoyé
    C2. Soul Idiot
    C3. C.S.C.L.D.F
    C4. The Irrtum Boys
    D1. Fais La Mouette (John Peel Session)
    D2. Jimmy (John Peel Session)
    D3. The Irrtum Boys (John Peel Session)
    D4. L’Amourir (John Peel Session)

    The Young Gods

    Data Mirage Tangram

      "Sleep my angel, my child, see how the city spreads.” Under Franz Treichler’s wings, huge, breathtaking panoramas unfurl like beautiful dreamscapes on the edge of sleep. A weightless dream that is both comforting and blackened with darkness. A return to known land, whose topography has been modified by time and age. Three human beings in the matrix of Data Mirage Tangram, the new Young Gods album.

      Eight years without a studio album. The gods may have eternity on their side, it was about time they followed up on Everybody Knows and addressed the period of artistic confusion – in Treichler’s own words – that followed Al Comet’s departure and his replacement with the original god, Cesare Pizzi. The subsequent tour which focused on the Swiss band’s first two albums, could have ended in a deadlock. Instead, it brought a breath of fresh air to the trio, revitalised by this return to their roots. Rock and electro avant-gardists are not known for their backward-looking attitude. Still, thirty years of uninterrupted activity, celebrated with the publication of an 800page book in 2017, could only strengthen the gods’ will to write a new chapter to their already impressive history.

      Data Mirage Tangram was born in a basement amidst people. Franz Treichler (lyrics, guitar, electronics), Cesare Pizzi (sampling, electronics) and Bernard Trontin (drums, percussion) accepted Cully Jazz’s invitation to set up on the stage of the THBBC wine cellar for an open laboratory for the duration of the festival. “That’s when the songs appeared”, says Treichler. “We didn’t know where we were going. Bernard brought an old sampler on top of his drums, Cesare, a laptop, me, a guitar, a bass, a laptop… anything I had on hand. The audience came and went. We didn’t feel obliged to present a finished product. It was really stimulating.”

      At the end of the residence, the seven tracks of the album existed in body and mind. The curves still needed to be shaped, the textures refined, and the lengths cut up. The band incorporated the songs into their live repertoire, fine-tuning them for three years into their final structure, captured in Franz Treichler’s studios and mixed on the console of English record producer Alan Moulder (Nine Inch Nails, Editors, Foals). “For the first time ever, this record is the result of entirely collective work”, says the delighted Geneva pioneer.

      The result is to be savoured as a major album by The Young Gods and an addition to their multiple experiences as well as their shared DNA. Each track exists for itself while creating a coherent ensemble, a united journey in seven unique steps. “The tangram in the title refers to Japanese puzzles consisting of seven pieces that can form a square or various silhouettes of animals and characters”, says the singer. In this digital world, which the gods explore like visionaries, the music breathes and breaks free, undulating on the string of a guitar that once again takes centre stage.

      Entre en matière whispers a haunting mantra and Tear Up The Red Sky orchestrates a cosmic bombardment of divine fury. Figure sans nom returns to the band’s acid groove and Doors influence, while Moon Above ploughs a fallow field, bruising it with unidentified sound objects. The 11 spellbinding minutes of All My Skin Standing let you come back to your senses before a final explosion of white noise and saturated guitars. You Gave Me A Name offers a breath of fresh air, like a welcoming bubble. Finally, Everythem closes everyone’s eyelids, softly and silently.

      How would you sum up the Young Gods’ history? “A long road”, says Franz Treichler. A road that unfurls and stretches out to the horizon and its mirages.


      1. Entre En Matière
      2. Tear Up The Red Sky
      3. Figure Sans Nom
      4. Moon Above
      5. All My Skin Standing
      6. You Gave Me A Name
      7. Everythem

      A1. Entre EnMatiére
      A2. Tear Up The Red Sky
      B1. Figure Sans Nom
      B2. Moon Above
      C1. All My Skin Standing
      D1. You Gave Me A Name
      D2. Everythem

      Mark Berube is one of Canada's most captivating and unfaltering talents, having devoted himself with the spirit of a craftsman to the art of song over the course of the last decade. With one foot rooted in the folk music tradition of story-telling, the poetry of spoken-word and the other planted in a childhood love of South African music, psychedelic folk pop and a smattering of jazz, Berube has a broad and eclectic base from which to build his albums, all bound together by his warmly potent voice. His shadowy co-conspirator Kristina Koropecki adds layers of cello, autoharp, saw and a classical music vocabulary to the mix, resulting in rich, lush and adventurous sonic landscapes.


      1. Russian Dolls
      2. Confessions To A Streetlight
      3. Carnival
      4. Ethiopia
      5. Oak Tree
      6. Queen And Country
      7. Mississippi Prom
      8. Cardinal Cloven Light
      9. The Good The Bad And The Photograph
      10. Another Century
      11. Beer Garden

      Latest Pre-Sales

      146 NEW ITEMS

      🚨NEW MIXCLOUD MIX 🚨 A super Saturday mix from one of our longest serving former members of staff - Mr D. Walker ak…
      Sat 8th - 3:27
      💫 COMPETITION 💫 To celebrate Iceage’s new album ‘Seek Shelter’, the bad have gifted us a little package: • A sin…
      Sat 8th - 1:21
      Saturday rain, go away ☔️ 😒 Yes, it might be terrible weather today in Manchester but it’s dry and bright in here…
      Sat 8th - 11:28
      JUST IN Colourful heavyweight fair-trade cotton canvas bags with 12cm (4 1/2") gusset. There’s about 30 vinyl LPs…
      Fri 7th - 2:07
      Pre-orders now being taken for the debut album from @AptaMusic - ‘Rainbow Island’ is out next Friday May 14 via the…
      Fri 7th - 11:53
      E-newsletter —
      Sign up
      Back to top