Search Results for:


All 8 of the Mad Professor remixes included here are previously unreleased and include his dub mixes of 2 tracks not originally featured on "Mezzanine" but from the same period: "Metal Banshee" - a dub version of "Superpredators" which was a cover of Siouxie and the Banshee’s "Metal Postcard"; and Wire, a track they recorded for the soundtrack of the film Welcome to Sarajevo.

This release is a vinyl accompaniment to the 2CD deluxe version of "Mezzanine" which features these remixes + the original album remastered.

Sonically it doesn't pull any punches, with Mad Prof's iconic, dub-wise production decorating and galvanizing the original stems with a futurist / psychedelic mentality. Striding confidently into avant-dub territory, you can really get lost in these deep layers of bass & echo. 


Side A
Metal Banshee (Mad Professor Mix 1)
Angel (Angel Dust)
Risingson (Setting Sun Dub 2)
Teardrop (Mazaruni Dub 1)

Side B
Inertia Creeps (Floating On Dubwise)
Exchange (Mountain Steppers Dub)
Wire (Leaping Dub)
Group Four (Security Forces Dub)

Massive Attack

No Protection - 180g Vinyl Reissue

    Always in tune with soundsystem culture, Massive Attack followed their 1994 "Protection" LP with this brainmulching dub version, produced by the one and only Mad Professor. The project started when the group contacted Mad Professor to deliver a B-side remix for a forthcoming single. After the track was remixed, the band asked Mad Professor to listen to more of the album to explore the possibility of further remixes, the project soon becoming a track by track remix of almost the entire album. Mad Professor heavily edited the original material to form a slow, pulsating mix in which the beat is emphasized, reverb is extensively used and the occasional vocals (many of the tracks are almost entirely instrumental) fade in-and-out in typical dub fashion to create a hypnotic mix. "No Protection" was the most hyped album during dub music's revival in the mid 1990s, bewitching fans with its deep textures and unconventional fx. 


    Protection (Radiation Ruling The Nation)
    Karmacoma (Bumper Ball Dub)
    Three (Trinity Dub)
    Weather Storm (Cool Monsoon)
    Sly (Eternal Feedback)
    Better Things (Moving Dub)
    Spying Glass (I Spy)
    Heat Miser (Backward Sucking)

    Massive Attack


      Three years after changing the musical landscape with the stoned and soulful majesty of "Blue Lines", Massive Attack returned to the airwaves and turntables with the afterhours cool of "Protection". A natural successor to their stratospheric debut (even down to the sleeve design), "Protection" finds the group in confident mode, continuing to fuse hip hop, reggae and soul, but adding elements of R&B and chilled out electronica. The LP opens in emotive fashion with Tracey Thorn collaboration "Protection", before the thumping bass and relaxed rhymes of "Karmacoma" begin to test your speakers. The infectious, undulating groove of "Weather Storm" is one of the finest sample flips ever, while the menacing piano and robust breakbeats of "Heat Miser" rival the introspective quality of anything on DJ Shadow's "Endtroducing". Peppered with irresistible melodies and irrepressible rhythms throughout, all the while maintaining a subtle melancholy, "Protection" is the perfect soundtrack to those lonely moments very late in the night.


      A1. Protection
      A2. Karmacoma
      A3. Three
      A4. Weather Storm
      A5. Spying Glass
      B1. Better Things
      B2. Euro Child
      B3. Sly
      B4. Heat Miser
      B5. Light My Fire (Live)

      Massive Attack

      Blue Lines - 180g Vinyl Reissue

      Recorded in Neneh Cherry's nursery by a group of self-proclaimed "lazy Bristol Twats", 'Blue Lines" took the hip hop rulebook, ripped it up and used it for roaches. Generally considered the first trip hop album, though the term wasn't coined until several years later, "Blue Lines" was a runaway in the United Kingdom, though sales were limited elsewhere. A fusion of electronic music, hip hop, dub, '70s soul and reggae, the album established Massive Attack as one of the innovative British bands of the 1990s and the founder of trip hop's Bristol Sound. Shifting the 'dance-music' focus from the feet to the head, "Blue Lines" saw hip hop beats collide head on with lilting dub grooves, while dusty samples were dexterously chopped and scratched into fresh rhythms. While tracks like "Blue Lines", "Five Man Army" and "Daydreaming" feature free-flowing rhymes from Daddy G, 3D and Tricky in ATCQ style, Massive Attack approached the American-born hip hop movement from an underground British perspective, packing their innovative beats with elements of jazz-funk and dub. Elsewhere, reggae legend Horace Andy lent his unique voice to the revolutionary grooves of "One Love" and "Hymn Of The Big Wheel" (also featuring Neneh Cherry), while Shara Nelson's soulful vocal capped off album standout "Unfinished Sympathy" perfectly. Now back in press on pristine black wax, "Blue Lines" sounds every bit as good today as it did on its release 25 years ago - timeless.


      A1. Safe From Harm
      A2. One Love
      A3. Blue Lines
      A4. Be Thankful For What You've Got
      A5. Five Man Army
      B1. Unfinished Sympathy
      B2. Daydreaming
      B3. Lately
      B4. Hymn Of The Big Wheel

      Just In

      40 NEW ITEMS

      Latest Pre-Sales

      102 NEW ITEMS

      E-newsletter —
      Sign up
      Back to top