Massive Attack

No Protection - 180g Vinyl Reissue

Image of Massive Attack - No Protection - 180g Vinyl Reissue
Record Label

About this item

Always in tune with soundsystem culture, Massive Attack followed their 1994 "Protection" LP with this brainmulching dub version, produced by the one and only Mad Professor. The project started when the group contacted Mad Professor to deliver a B-side remix for a forthcoming single. After the track was remixed, the band asked Mad Professor to listen to more of the album to explore the possibility of further remixes, the project soon becoming a track by track remix of almost the entire album. Mad Professor heavily edited the original material to form a slow, pulsating mix in which the beat is emphasized, reverb is extensively used and the occasional vocals (many of the tracks are almost entirely instrumental) fade in-and-out in typical dub fashion to create a hypnotic mix. "No Protection" was the most hyped album during dub music's revival in the mid 1990s, bewitching fans with its deep textures and unconventional fx. 


Protection (Radiation Ruling The Nation)
Karmacoma (Bumper Ball Dub)
Three (Trinity Dub)
Weather Storm (Cool Monsoon)
Sly (Eternal Feedback)
Better Things (Moving Dub)
Spying Glass (I Spy)
Heat Miser (Backward Sucking)

Back to top