Search Results for:




    Echoes is the amazing new album from Manchester based multi instrumentalist and producer Apta.

    Utilising a wide range of sound sources, from Eurorack modular to his own guitar and bass playing, the Apta sound is rich, uplifting and alive with invention and lightness.

    In a genre of music where there is often more melancholy than outright happiness, Echoes imparts a feeling of joy onto the listener. Apta's mastery of the gentle guitar figure to compliment intricate synth melodies shines through in tracks such as 'The Slide', and in 'Polar(+)', with it's organ chords, synth swirls and electric bass, make you wonder what Sigur Ros would have sounded like if they had chosen a less chaotic left turn with Takk.

    Echoes is such a rewarding experience, and in its complex weaving of sounds, will keep surprising you with new treasures with each listen.

    All tracks written, performed and produced by Apta.
    Mastered by Antony Ryan at RedRedPaw.
    Design by BMH Arthouse.


    1. Swell 01:00
    2. The Slide 03:54
    3. Ripples 03:16
    4. Threads 03:54
    5. Polar (+) 05:33
    6. Same As It Ever Was (Bokeh) 01:38
    7. The Same As It Ever Was 03:57
    8. DSI 03:52
    9. Paraesthesia 03:38
    10. Wander 03:55
    11. We Tire 04:11



      New CD edition of January's quickly sold-out cassette 'Vignettes'. Includes bonus track not on original release. 

      “Hazy summer montages, worn film and distant fuzzy rock radio. Festivals staring at shifting clouds, green grass tickling your neck…” So says Barry “Apta” Smethurst of the feel he was aiming to capture on this superlative collection of instrumentals. Based in Manchester, he cites Sigur Ros and Boards of Canada as influences, but the album has more in common with the sense of pastoral stillness evoked so perfectly by Brian Eno on the blissful second side of Before And After Science.

      It shimmers. It soothes. It is an idle sunny afternoon of a record, steeped in restless daydreams of hovering dragonflies and slow-moving water. ‘12v’ is the most Eno-esque, a delicate dance of puckish guitar and electric piano slowly subsumed by the ebb of modular synths. ‘Spark’ is five minutes of impudent pizzacato that launches into the softest of beats, and closer ‘The Inward Eye’ is a gentle awakening with a smile a mile wide. Beautiful. - Bob Fischer, Electronic sound 


      Matt says: Beginning with the pure celestial tones of "Breeze", you could be mistaken to think Apta had taken a turn towards Iasos' deep sound spirituality. For his ever growing fanbase - those Tamagotchi utopias are still shining ever present in crystalline hi-def. But there IS a sense of something greater here; a practice and methodology akin to meditation; everything is thought out, programmed, and done for reason. By getting deeper inside his circuits Apta seems to be eking out a new cosmic consciousness, almost preparing us for the metaverse before we inhabit it. Incredible.


      1. Breeze 01:41
      2. The First Sight 03:22
      3. 12v 05:14
      4. Try, Try 03:29
      5. Segue 02:16
      6. Equinox 04:41
      7. Spark 05:22
      8. Name3674982 04:39
      9. We Watch The Horizon Fade 06:48
      10. The Inward Eye 03:55
      11. Drive (bonus - Download/CD Only) 04:49 

      Latest Pre-Sales

      165 NEW ITEMS

      Exciting to have the fantastic @MOZE158 in this week updating our mural wall 🎨 All will b…
      Wed 25th - 2:21
      PRESALE: @dinkededition 196 @SzunWaves 'Earth Patterns' Orange with black & white splatter vinyl. Photobook by di…
      Wed 25th - 10:00
      New @dinkededition incoming tomorrow, Wednesday May 25 at 11am. Set those ⏰
      Tue 24th - 9:43
      🔵 BLUE MONDAY 🔵 @chkchkchk are back with their ninth album, ‘Let It Be Blue’, out now on Indies exclusive blue vin…
      Mon 23rd - 6:04
      Some Sunday classics here for you. OPEN 11 - 5 today.
      Sun 22nd - 10:10
      E-newsletter —
      Sign up
      Back to top