Search Results for:


The Mo-dettes 

The Story So Far


    SEMINAL 1980 POST PUNK UK TREASURE. LIMITED 180GRM VINYL FROM THE ORIGINAL MASTERS + LYRIC SHEETS ON INNER SLEEVE + DIE-CUT A4 STICKER. INCLUDES PAINT IT BLACK, WHITE MOUSE DISCO & KRAY TWINS - Originally released in 1980 on Deram Records (a division of Decca), this is the first time this seminal UK post-punk album has been reissued on vinyl. The Mo-dettes were an all-female band, formed in 1979 by guitarist Kate Korris (The Slits), Jane Crockford (Bank of Dresden), Ramona Carlier (Kleenex) and June Miles-Kingston. They were in the heart of the late 70s London art, film & punk scene with some of the members assisting Malcolm McLaren on the set of the film, The Great Rock ‘n’ Roll Swindle, as well as living in a community squat with Joe Strummer and Sid Vicious. Their branding was eye catching too, perhaps helping to pull in a wider audience, or it could have been influenced by some of the band members’ art backgrounds too. The album features a version of The Rolling Stones’ Paint It Black, a remake of their debut single White Mice (renamed White Mice Disco), plus a cover of Edith Piaf’s Milord, along with other original penned songs.The band toured for four years and they supported two-tone ska bands such as Madness and The Specials before breaking up finally in 1982. When the members went their separate ways, many continued to work and be associated with artists such as Fun Boy Three, Everything But The Girl, and The Communards, a.o.

    Soundtrack album to the forthcoming documentary "The Man from Mo’ Wax" that charts the life of pioneering UK electronic / trip-hop figure James Lavelle, whose presence in the scene as a DJ, producer and label head remains pivotal today, nearly three decades into his career.

    The soundtrack features tracks from the film that chart the life of Lavelle + his label Mo’ Wax including:
    - artists that inspired him to create Mo’ Wax such as Hiroshi + Kudo, Zimbabwe Legit, Marie 'Queenie' Lyons + The Wild Bunch

    - trip-hop classics from Mo’ Wax by DJ Shadow, La Funk Mob, Attica Blues, Dr. Octagon, DJ Krush + RPM

    - essential Lavelle productions/co-writes with Thom Yorke, Ian Brown + Queens of the Stone Age.

    The film features interviews with DJ Shadow, Joshua Homme of Queens of the Stone Age, Massive Attack’s Robert Del Naja (3D), Ian Brown, Futura, Thom Yorke and Grandmaster Flash who help tell the remarkable story of one of the most enigmatic yet influential figures in contemporary British culture. Unearthed from over 700 hours of footage including his exclusive personal archive spanning three decades, "The Man from Mo’ Wax" is an exhilarating, no holds-barred ride through Lavelle’s career highs and lows.

    The film will be released in selected cinemas nationwide on the 31st August – celebrating the 20th anniversary of the seminal UNKLE / Mo’Wax album release of "Psyence Fiction". There will a launch event at the BFI Southbank, the home of British cinema. Album will be released same day as the film to combine marketing efforts.


    2xColoured LP Info: Coloured vinyl – 1 disc red, 1 disc blue.

    Brazilian-born, London duo The Tamborines release their second album 'Sea of Murmur' through their own imprint Beat-Mo Records.

    The heavy fuzz and swirling sounds of their debut Camera and Tremor have been reigned in to make way for a more melodic and direct approach, anchored in the band's disparate influences - Teenage Fanclub, Henry's Dress, The Clean, Deerhunter, Guided By Voices, Field Mice, pre-Creation-era MBV, Sebadoh and The Velvet Underground, to name a few.

    Lyrically the record strikes a more emotional chord than its predecessor and serves almost as a snapshot of a relationship coming to an end. "We decided that this record had to be a more personal and humane statement than 'Camera and Tremor'," says guitarist and singer Henrique Laurindo, "there's certainly a lo-fi vibe about it, but the songs are the main focus, really." Keyboard-player turned drummer Lulu Grave adds: "It would have been far too easy to just drown the songs with cool heavy synths, fuzz and feedback, but we trusted our instincts and simply aimed for a more candid and primitive record."

    'Sea Of Murmur' includes new mixes of 'Black and Blue' and 'Indian Hill', previously released as a limited edition 7" on Soft Power Records. Both songs have received airplay and praise from Amazing Radio's Simon Raymonde (Cocteau Twins / Bella Union) and from the likes of Lauren Laverne, Tom Robinson, Gideon Coe, Steve Lamacq and Tom Ravenscroft at BBC6 Music.


    LP Info: Limited coloured vinyl.

    DJ Shadow

    The Private Press

    Six years after his groundbreaking debut LP "Entroducing", Josh Davis (AKA DJ Shadow) is back with the follow up. This is everything you want from a DJ Shadow LP - crazy B-boy breaks cut ups, sublime hip hop instrumentals, oddball samples, quirky downbeat and leftfield rock weirdness. This is a totally epic LP.

    Latest Pre-Sales

    73 NEW ITEMS

    RT @heavenlyrecs: Mildlife - Automatic / Heavenly from Piccadilly Records via @PiccadillyRecs
    Thu 28th - 6:05
    30 years ago today, May 27 1990, @thestoneroses took to the stage for their legendary performance at Spike Island.…
    Wed 27th - 8:44
    Thank you. Hopefully you’ll be able to visit again in future.
    Wed 27th - 8:31
    In other news we are now on @mixcloud and in the coming weeks we’ll be bringing you staff mixes and Friends of Picc…
    Mon 25th - 11:04
    Happy Bank Holiday Monday everyone. A lot of you have been sharing pictures of the records you’ve received in the p…
    Mon 25th - 10:28
    E-newsletter —
    Sign up
    Back to top