Search Results for:



Unison Life

    When times are tough, or you’re feeling worn down, you start longing for a life of total peace. A life where there are no fights, arguments or lies; where there is no such thing as disappointment and your actions have no consequences. Some might call it a “fantasy world”. Genre-jumping Belgian trio Brutus call it the “Unison Life” – a phrase that titles their third studio album. Unison Life is about all the stuff that wears you down in the first place. It’s the ugliness, the pain, and the acts of bravery that get you through it all. Beginning with a portrait of contentment and unravelling from there, the album goes into battle and asks what really counts. In their own words: “Is this Unison Life a hoax? Or a quest?”

    Since their formation in 2014, Brutus have made a name for themselves with their restless, emotionally raw rock that traverses the landscape of metal, punk, post-hardcore and beyond – often in the same song. The three members first met in their hometown of Leuven, where they cut their teeth playing in different local bands. Their influences are wide and varied. Drummer/vocalist Stefanie Mannaerts – who grew up above a music shop run by her family – is into a variety of genres from post-metal to electronic music. Bassist Peter Mulders is more of a punk guy, while guitarist Stijn Vanhoegaerden is into country and more melodic rock. Their diverse tastes come together through Brutus to create a sound that’s as heavy as it is unexpected, full of beauty and surprises.


    A1 Miles Away
    A2 Brave
    A3 Victoria
    A4 What Have We Done
    A5 Dust
    B1 Liar
    B2 Chainlife
    B3 Storm
    B4 Dreamlife
    B5 Desert Rain

    Earl Brutus

    Tonight You Are The Special One (Expanded Edition)

      Earl Brutus achieved notoriety and cult status with the release of their debut album Your Majesty… We Are Here. Their attention grabbing interviews and gigs attracted wider interest and they sign to Island Records via Fruition. They released a second long player, Tonight You Are The Special One, and several singles including The SAS And The Glam That Goes With It and Come Taste My Mind (“masterful examples of raging techno-pop” - Select ) and Larky.

      The band continued to play chaotic shows and the last ever gig is at Hammersmith Working Men’s Club on 7th April 2004 and the last track from that gig, Teenage Taliban, is included on the 2CD edition along with a demo recorded in William Reid’s (Jesus And Mary Chain) front room. Other bonus tracks include all the single b-sides sequenced by the band.

      The art direction on this re-issue has been done by Scott King who realised the concepts for the original release and singles. The album sleeve is included in Q magazine’s 100 Best Album Sleeves Of All Time in 2001.


      DISC: 1
      1: The Sas And The Glam That Goes With It
      2: Universal Plan
      3: Midland Red
      4: God, Let Me Be Kind
      5: Come Taste My Mind
      6: Second Class War
      7: Your Majesty We Are Here
      8: Don't Die Jim
      9: 99 P
      10: East
      11: Edelweiss
      12: Male Wife

      DISC: 2 (2cd Edition Only)
      1: Nicotine Stain (Live)
      2: Superstar
      3: Larky
      4: Tv Tower
      5: William, Taste My Mind (William Reid Remix)
      6: Gypsy Camp Battle
      7: The Scottish
      8: Teenage Opera
      9: Come Taste My Mind (Live At The Astoria 1998)
      10: Nice Man In A Bubble
      11: England Sandwich
      12: Teenage Taliban (Demo / Live From Hammersmith Working Men's Club, 7 Th April 2004

      Earl Brutus

      Your Majesty...We Are Here (Expanded Edition)

        Earl Brutus are Nick Sanderson (Clock DVA, Jesus And Mary Chain, World Of Twist), Gordon King and Jim Fry (World Of Twist), Rob Marche (JoBoxers, Subway Sect) with Shins and Stuart Boreman.

        Earl Brutus formed in 1993 and release a handful of singles before their debut album Your Majesty… We Are Here on Deceptive Records in 1996. They are chaotic, glam-rock, glitter-stomp British Pop. They think Bowie, T-Rex, Kraftwerk and The Fall. Their chaotic live shows became folklore and their reviews and interviews were always impressive. Your Majesty… featured in Q Magazine’s Top 50 Albums of the Year in 1996 and in 1000 Albums To Hear Before You Die.

        Your Majesty… has been long unavailable and is now re-issued.

        The two CD edition also includes all the b-sides sequenced by the band and an unreleased David Arnold remix of Life’s Too Long, the rare Alan Vega (Suicide) version of On Me Not In Me and Earl Brutus Display Purchasing Power, both commercially available for the first time.


        DISC: 1
        1: Navy Head
        2: I'm New
        3: Male Milk
        4: On Me Not In Me
        5: Don't Leave Me Behind Mate
        6: Thelmex
        7: Black Speedway
        8: Motarola
        9: Shrunken Head
        10: Cursty
        11: Blind Date
        12: Life's Too Long
        13: Karl Brutus
        14: Single Seater Xmas

        DISC: 2 (2cd Edition Only)
        1: Earl Brutus Display Purchasing Power
        2: North Sea Bastard
        3: Mondo Rotunda
        4: On Me Not In Me (Alan Vega Version)
        5: Bonjour Monsieur
        6: Valley Of The Slimkings
        7: Like Queer David
        8: Life's Too Long (Flash Vs Tarkus)(Saint Etienne Remix)
        9: 48 Trash
        10: Life's Too Long (David Arnold Remix)
        11: I Love Earl Brutus (Introducing Shinya)

        Latest Pre-Sales

        184 NEW ITEMS

        E-newsletter —
        Sign up
        Back to top