Earl Brutus

Tonight You Are The Special One (Expanded Edition)

Image of Earl Brutus - Tonight You Are The Special One (Expanded Edition)

About this item

Earl Brutus achieved notoriety and cult status with the release of their debut album Your Majesty… We Are Here. Their attention grabbing interviews and gigs attracted wider interest and they sign to Island Records via Fruition. They released a second long player, Tonight You Are The Special One, and several singles including The SAS And The Glam That Goes With It and Come Taste My Mind (“masterful examples of raging techno-pop” - Select ) and Larky.

The band continued to play chaotic shows and the last ever gig is at Hammersmith Working Men’s Club on 7th April 2004 and the last track from that gig, Teenage Taliban, is included on the 2CD edition along with a demo recorded in William Reid’s (Jesus And Mary Chain) front room. Other bonus tracks include all the single b-sides sequenced by the band.

The art direction on this re-issue has been done by Scott King who realised the concepts for the original release and singles. The album sleeve is included in Q magazine’s 100 Best Album Sleeves Of All Time in 2001.


1: The Sas And The Glam That Goes With It
2: Universal Plan
3: Midland Red
4: God, Let Me Be Kind
5: Come Taste My Mind
6: Second Class War
7: Your Majesty We Are Here
8: Don't Die Jim
9: 99 P
10: East
11: Edelweiss
12: Male Wife

DISC: 2 (2cd Edition Only)
1: Nicotine Stain (Live)
2: Superstar
3: Larky
4: Tv Tower
5: William, Taste My Mind (William Reid Remix)
6: Gypsy Camp Battle
7: The Scottish
8: Teenage Opera
9: Come Taste My Mind (Live At The Astoria 1998)
10: Nice Man In A Bubble
11: England Sandwich
12: Teenage Taliban (Demo / Live From Hammersmith Working Men's Club, 7 Th April 2004

Back to top