Search Results for:


William The Conqueror

Excuse Me While I Vanish

    William The Conqueror's fourth album finds the indie-rock trio firing on all cylinders as frontman Ruarri Joseph confronts the thin line between creativity and madness, inspired by compassion for the reallife angels of the world. Produced by the band in a playground of vintage gear and mixed by Barny Barnicott (Arctic Monkeys, Sam Fender, Kasabian), the resulting album's ten tracks marry earworm tunes with insistent, imperious, soaring rock shapes, punctuated by chorus hooks that are simultaneously nuanced and anthemic. Joseph's compelling semi-spoken vocals and swamp-blues-Seattlescuzz guitars are propelled by the rhythm section of Naomi Holmes (bass) and Harry Harding (drums) as Excuse Me While I Vanish delivers an effortlessly winning blend of melody and ensemble dynamics, the most accomplished and undeniable William The Conqueror album to date.


    1. The Puppet And The Puppeteer
    2. The Bruises
    3. Sheepskin Sleeve
    4. L.W.Y.
    5. Somebody Else
    6. Shots Fired From Heaven
    7. The Tether
    8. Elsie Friend
    9. A Minute's Peace
    10. In Your Arms

    William The Conqueror

    Proud Disturber Of The Peace

      William The Conqueror are back with a new 2022 mix of their debut album Proud Disturber Of The Peace. Engineered and mixed in LA by Joseph Lorge (Hiss Golden Messenger etc), the new mix has achieved the sound the band and their label saw out of reach in the bands early DIY days.

      Including firm fan favourites ‘Tend to the Thorns’ and ‘Cold Ontario’, the album’s alt-rock transatlantic appeal puts the band in the same lane as Drive-By-Truckers, The Felice Brothers et al.


      In My Dreams
      Tend To The Thorns
      Did You Wrong
      Sunny Is The Style
      The Many Faces Of A Good Truth
      Proud Disturber Of The Peace
      Cold Ontario
      Mind Keeps Changing

      William The Conqueror

      Maverick Thinker

        William The Conqueror have paid their damn dues. Like the sportsman cutting chipped teeth in the lower leagues before shooting to the very top, this band have lugged all the amps, placated the in-house sound guy for an easier life, their nails dirty, their hair unkempt. Enough.

        Except it’s never enough, because despite their slinky, swampy, razor-sharp, blues-drenched, guitar thrashed alt. rock songs that form new album, Maverick Thinker and suggest that the door is opening for bigger rooms and broader audiences, it’s those sticky basement bar stages where the songs have always shed a skin and come alive. The record put the three piece behind the glass at Sound City Studios in LA, treading the same carpet as the likes of Nirvana, Johnny Cash, Neil Young, and Fleetwood Mac, and they might well have inhaled the spirit of them all.

        William The Conqueror’s protagonist is Ruarri Joseph who knows his way around a melody and a verse. Joseph’s wryness suggests life just ain’t plain sailin’ and he fizzes that sigh and lament into something that breathes heavy with heart and with soul.


        A1 - Move On
        A2 - The Deep End
        A3 - Alive At Last
        A4 - Jesus Died A Young Man
        A5 - Quiet Life
        B1 - Wake Up
        B2 - Fiction
        B3 - Suddenly Scared (24 Storeys High)
        B4 - Reasons
        B5 - Maverick Thinker

        Latest Pre-Sales

        154 NEW ITEMS

        E-newsletter —
        Sign up
        Back to top