William The Conqueror

Excuse Me While I Vanish

Image of William The Conqueror - Excuse Me While I Vanish

About this item

William The Conqueror's fourth album finds the indie-rock trio firing on all cylinders as frontman Ruarri Joseph confronts the thin line between creativity and madness, inspired by compassion for the reallife angels of the world. Produced by the band in a playground of vintage gear and mixed by Barny Barnicott (Arctic Monkeys, Sam Fender, Kasabian), the resulting album's ten tracks marry earworm tunes with insistent, imperious, soaring rock shapes, punctuated by chorus hooks that are simultaneously nuanced and anthemic. Joseph's compelling semi-spoken vocals and swamp-blues-Seattlescuzz guitars are propelled by the rhythm section of Naomi Holmes (bass) and Harry Harding (drums) as Excuse Me While I Vanish delivers an effortlessly winning blend of melody and ensemble dynamics, the most accomplished and undeniable William The Conqueror album to date.


1. The Puppet And The Puppeteer
2. The Bruises
3. Sheepskin Sleeve
4. L.W.Y.
5. Somebody Else
6. Shots Fired From Heaven
7. The Tether
8. Elsie Friend
9. A Minute's Peace
10. In Your Arms

Back to top