Search Results for:


The Specials were formed in Coventry in 1977. True innovators, the band began the British ska revival craze, combining the highly danceable ska and rocksteady beat with punk’s energy and attitude.

The band’s second album ‘More Specials’ (UK No.5, 1980) was a change in musical direction to their debut. Less frenzied and hard-hitting, it was more musically adventurous and varied, bleaker lyrics reflecting British life at the time.

This album has been digitally remastered from the original analogue stereo masters and the new vinyl cuts have been made using those new masters. Careful comparison was made to the first pressed copies of the original albums throughout the process to maintain the sound as the band had originally envisaged.

The album features a classic cover of Carl Sigman and Conrad Magidson's 1940s chestnut ‘Enjoy Yourself’ and a brooding version of the same song featuring the Go-Go's.

Includes: the rhythm & blues / 60s soul-style instrumental ‘Sock It to 'Em JB’ and the Mexican-flavoured ‘Holiday Fortnight’; the intriguing ‘International Jet Set’; the apocalyptic ‘Man at C&A’; the mournful, spaghetti western feel of ‘Stereotypes’; the emotional despair of ‘Do Nothing’ and the bright and breezy ‘Hey, Little Rich Girl’ (with fabulous sax solos from Madness' Lee Thompson).

The immortal line from ‘Pearl's Cafe’ by Terry Hall and Bodysnatchers' Rhoda Dakar, sums up their own, and the country's frustration - ‘It's all a load of bollocks, and bollocks to it all’.


Philippa says: The Specials second album sees the band expanding their horizons, mixing ska with easy listening / muzak and 60s style soul. Includes 'Enjoy Yourself', 'Man At C&A', 'Stereotypes' and loads more sing-along gems.


LP Info: 180g vinyl.

Generation X

Your Generation (Winstanley Mix)


    This Record Store Day Exclusive 7” Red Vinyl contains two previously unreleased mixes of the classic single ‘Your Generation’ and later b-side ‘Trying For Kicks’ by Alan Winstanley. During the recording of the album for the band to take away and listen to. Both tracks are previously unreleased and are Exclusive to this release and do not feature on the Deluxe Ediiton. No download.

    Special AKA

    In The Studio

      In the Studio is the third album from The Specials (Renamed Special AKA) and was originally released in 1984, long after the breakup of the original Specials. Original vocalist Terry Hall had left the band,along with Neville Staples and Lynval Golding, who had all gone on to form Fun Boy Three. For this album new vocalist Stan Campbell was enlisted. The album is a long way from their previous two releases, fusing elements of soul and jazz with their more familiar reggae influences. It’s at times claustrophobic and gives a bleak view of the world through Jerry Dammers eyes. The complete opposite of the shiny hedonistic pop that the charts were full of at the time (Wham!, Duran Duran etc.) It includes "(Free) Nelson Mandela" which was, of course, a huge hit, along with "Racist Friend” and “What I Like Most About You Is Your Girlfriend”.

      Latest Pre-Sales

      170 NEW ITEMS

      So the ‘Just In’ section is over flowing with new stock, back in stock, reissues and the remaining @RSDUK stock. Ta…
      Thu 25th - 4:36
      .@ianbrown fans. The zoltar will be here until Thurs May 2nd. It’s being taken away on the 3rd so if you arrive whe…
      Thu 25th - 4:00
      Thanks for posting about it. It’s here until next Friday May 3rd btw.
      Wed 24th - 8:58
      Yes! Thanks @NME for the feature. Come and visit @ianbrown
      Tue 23rd - 9:48
      E-newsletter —
      Sign up
      Back to top