Search Results for:


These New Puritans

Field Of Reeds - 10th Anniversary Edition With Etching

    ‘Field of Reeds’ is a dark, honest and experimental orchestral work that reflects the band’s love of Bach, Britten and Stephen Sondheim. It marks a sonic deviation for the band and represents another uncompromising shift from a band without peer. Arranged with conductor André de Ridder, ‘Field of Reeds’ also features basso profundo Adrian Peacock, renowned British jazz trumpeter Henry Lowther, Dutch contemporary composer Michel van der Aa, Swedish soundtrack arranger Hans Ek and Portuguese jazz singer Elisa Rodrigues. Celebrating it’s 10th anniversary, this edition includes an etched side on double black vinyl.


    Disc 1 / Side 1:
    1. This Guy's In Love With You
    2. Fragment Two
    3. The Light In Your Name
    Disc 1 / Side 2:
    1. V (Island Song)
    2. Spiral
    3. Organ Eternal
    Disc 2 / Side 1:
    1. Nothing Else
    2. Dream
    3. Field Of Reeds
    Disc 2 / Side 2 (Etched)

    These New Puritans

    Hidden [MMXX] - Vinyl Reissue

      As the These New Puritans canon has grown through the years, Hidden has always stood as the great indicator of the group's detail, precision and ambition. Originally released in 2010, when both Jack and George Barnett were just 22 years old, Hidden was the second album the twins released as These New Puritans.

      The album itself was produced by TNP's Jack Barnett and Graham Sutton (Bark Psychosis, Boymerang) and mixed by Dave Cooley (J Dilla, MF DOOM), it draws on both the rhythmic lexicons of dancehall and 20th century post-minimalism, the recording features 6ft Japanese Taiko drums, a thirteen piece brass and woodwind ensemble, sub-heavy beats, prepared piano & a children's choir. The result is equal parts brutal and melancholy, standing the test of time, sounding as pioneering and bold a decade on.

      Hidden is a record that crushes together menace and beauty: after the prelude of woodwind that is “Time Xone”, “We Want War” remains one of the most startling tracks to be released as a single in this millennium - a sound like swarms of invading, metallic wasps, robotic voices intoning, the martial rattle of layers of drums, Jack Barnett’s vocals an incantation. The militant funk of “Three Thousand”, strange skittish jazz in “Hologram”, and “Drum Courts - Where Corals Lie” feels like an ancient, elegiac folk song carried forth on a storm. A record of intense variety, soul and depth, Hidden is remarkable by anyone’s standards, let alone one made by a group of people barely out of their teens.

      Through the extremes of recording, These New Puritans had a critical hit. It was rightly lauded for its singularity and adventure at the time and found the group a legion of loyal fans and was given NME’s prestigious Album of the Year 2010 accolade. Further to the record, it spawned the Hidden Live tour, featuring a large ensemble, conductor Andre De Ridder, and a kids choir. 


      Disc 1
      1. Time Xone
      2. We Want War
      3. Three Thousand
      4. Hologram
      5. Attack Music
      6. Fire–Power
      7. Orion
      8. Canticle
      9. Drum Courts–Where Corals Lie
      10. White Chords
      11. 5

      Disc 2
      12. Hologram Pianos
      13. We Want War Brass & Woodwind
      14. 5 Mallets
      15. Hologram Chamber Mix
      16. Drum Courts Hidden Live Paris
      17. Irreversible¬¬–En Papier Hidden Live Berlin

      These New Puritans

      The Cut

        The Cut is a sister release to their critically-acclaimed 2019 album, Inside The Rose, and is a vast collection of new music, orchestral interludes and reworkings, and remixes by friends and collaborators including the likes of Ossian Brown (Clyclobe, Coil), Andrew Liles (Current 93, Nurse With Wound), and Scintii (Taiwanese singer-producer, featured on Inside The Rose). Marking the finite end of the Inside The Rose era, The Cut is available  in limited edition CD format, featuring hand-cut slit fabric artwork.


        1. The Mirage
        2. Infinity Vibraphones Orchestral Mirror
        3. Beyond Black Suns (Scintii Remix)
        4. If I Were You (Love At The End Of The Human Age)
        5. Infinity Vibraphones Postlude
        6. Angels Come Down
        7. Anti-Gravity Piano Mirror
        8. A-R-P Piano Mirror
        9. Beyond Black Suns (Andrew Liles Ambient Mix)
        10. New Fire
        11. Sphinx In Pieces
        12. Inside The Rose Orchestral Mirror
        13. Where The Trees Are On Fire (Maenad Veyl Remix)
        14. Inside The Rose #MeToo Mix (Andrew Liles)
        15. Angels Brass Canon
        16. Where The Trees Are On Fire (Phone Note)
        17. Into The Trees (Ossian Brown Recomposition)
        18. Intro Tape, Pt. I
        19. Intro Tape, Pt. II

        These New Puritans

        Expanded (Live At The Barbican)

          These New Puritans’ album ‘Field of Reeds’ was a beacon of experimental music last year, bathed in the adoration of critics.

          ‘TNP: Expanded (Live at The Barbican)’ captures the incredible performance from 2014 of These New Puritans performing with a full orchestra at The Barbican Centre.

          “Joined by an orchestra and the spellbinding Portuguese fado singer Elisa Rodrigues, the brothers Barnett capture the beautiful, foreboding majesty that marks their music” - The Guardian

          These New Puritans


            "Hidden" is the highly anticipated comeback from a band whose debut "Beat Pyramid" earned them huge critical acclaim. It's an epic return, featuring six foot Japanese taiko drums, a thirteen piece brass and woodwind ensemble and Foley sound effect recording techniques.
            Produced by These New Puritan’s Jack Barnett along with Graham Sutton, and mixed by Dave Cooley (J Dilla, MF Doom) the single is strange as it is confrontational. It draws equally on the rhythmic lexicons of dancehall, 20th century post-minimalism, and the plastic textures of modern US Pop.
            The album’s heavy layers of rhythm combined with the classical minimalist instrumentation will challenge, perplex and mesmerise the listener and more than reward any attention lavished upon it. Sometimes brutal, sometimes melancholy, and sounds like nothing else.

            STAFF COMMENTS

            Laura says: Heavy percussive rhythms provide the backbone here, embellished with choral chants, brass, woodwind – in fact just about everything but the usual indie-band staple - guitars. (Well, if they're in there, they're pushed way back!) It's an intriguing album, kicking off with a solemn brass-led intro it then plunges into the 7 minute epic of the single "We Want War", which is an amazing amalgamation of heavy Steve Reich-esque percussion, Eastern rhythms, half whispered vocals, blasts of brass and even a choir. The stand out track for me is the dark, claustrophobic "Three Thousand" that reminds me a little of Massive Attack.
            The rest of the album follows a similar path to these three opening tracks at times brutal and percussive, at others heavy and oppressive, and at others almost soundtracky with the brass and woodwind reminiscent of Prokofiev’s eerie masterpiece “Peter And The Wolf”.
            It’s quite proggy and maybe a bit overindulgent at times, but it’s a unique and amazingly ambitious follow up to "Beat Pyramid" that’s well worth your time.

            Latest Pre-Sales

            136 NEW ITEMS

            E-newsletter —
            Sign up
            Back to top