Search Results for:


Nightmares On Wax

Shout Out! To Freedom....

    Shout Out! To Freedom… is the new album from Nightmares on Wax featuring Shabaka Hutchings, Greentea Peng, Haile Supreme, Mara TK, Sabrina Mahfouz + Pip Millett

    “I feel like I've been set free of something and I am now becoming who I really am,” says George Evelyn. As Nightmares on Wax Evelyn has - for the last 30 years, as Warp’s longest serving signing - been consistently at the forefront of contemporary music, creating a unique blend of electronica, jazz, hip-hop, techno, dub, funk, soul and techno.

    Although 9 albums in, he may have only just truly stepped into his own groove. Lockdown forced a change of pace and offered some time for meaningful reflection and introspection. “I've been gigging non-stop for 10 years,” he says. “And that experience has been beautiful but it also drained me emotionally.”

    He began to reassess some things. “As a creative you're always questioning everything,” he says. “So having the time and the space has meant that I could do a proper deep dive into this stuff. So it was all about this journey of going back to myself, and realising being at home with my wife and my daughter that I’ve not really been here properly. It’s like I've just woken back up to what I actually have - and it's already here.”

    “I wanted to ask: what is freedom?” he says. “Everybody's got a different idea of it, everybody's got a different concept of it. I realised that internally, we all want to be free of our shit and it doesn't matter what it is. Everybody wants to be free of something. So there are shout outs to freedom in each song. They're all different cries and different calls but there's a coherent feeling through it.”

    When all the guest’s contributions were complete and the album was meticulously assembled to what we hear now, Evelyn picked up one last powerful and potent theme that came oozing out of the grooves. “I think it's the story of the human spirit,” he says.


    Tracklist CD :

    1 Shout Out! (Intro)
    2 Imagineering
    3 Creator SOS
    4 3D Warrior
    5 Miami 80
    6 GTP Call
    7 Wikid Satellites
    8 Breathe In
    9 To Freedom (Interlude)
    10 Wonder
    11 Own Me
    12 Widyabad
    13 Isolated
    14 Trillion
    15 Up To Us

    Tracklist LP’s :

    1 Shout Out! (Intro)
    2 Imagineering
    3 Creator SOS
    4 3D Warrior

    1 Miami 80
    2 GTP Call
    3 Wikid Satellites
    4 Breathe In

    1 To Freedom (Interlude)
    2 Wonder
    3 Own Me
    4 Widyabad

    1 Isolated
    2 Trillion
    3 Up To Us

    The iconic compilation series "Back to Mine" returns in 2019, to mark its 20th anniversary, with the indomitable Nightmares on Wax, to share his personal collection of music for after hours grooving. The series was renowned for its eclectic selection and selectors which includes some of the biggest names in electronic and pop music, from the likes of Faithless to Pet Shop Boys, Groove Armada to New Order.

    The collection includes three exclusive tracks, one new track from Nightmares on Wax, along with a remix from the man himself of seminal band Fat Freddy’s Drop and brand new project Creative Principle. The album is impeccably mixed and blended, as you’d expect from a DJ and collector of George’s pedigree. His selection includes a strong representation from his roots in Northern England. Opening with respected Manchester soul duo Children of Zeus, Hull’s Steve Cobby provides his own "Lefthanded Books" featuring Crazy P’s Danielle Moore and also introduces his chuggy-disco project Chieftain. There’s also room for the recent Nightmares on Wax recent single "Look Up". Moving internationally; there’s Greek producer Dim Zach who doffs a cap to Imagination on the synth-heavy "Innocence", US-born / Colombian based Afro / Latin / disco / funk producer Bosq, Italy’s Massimo Vanoni with the slo-mo funk "Exciting Groove", the deep and jazzy "Gotta Have It" by Berlin’s SoulPhiction side project SBM and two tracks by New Zealander Ladi6.

    This first re-installment of "Back to Mine" is a triumphant return for the iconic and music loved series. Nightmares on Wax delivers an incredible selection of tracks that gives the listener a real insight into the artists personal and extensive taste. 'I always hoped that when the time was right I would be asked to do a Back To Mine release and so when the call came there was absolutely no hesitation'. - Nightmares on Wax.


    Barry says: The iconic album series Back to Mine returns in 2019, to mark it’s 20th anniversary, inviting the indomitable Nightmares on Wax to share his personal collection of music for after hours grooving. Dig in for Piccadilly faves Children Of Zeus and Steve Cobby along many other jamz!


    A1. Children Of Zeus - Fear Of A Flat Planet (feat. LayFullStop)
    A2. Ladi6 - Ikarus
    A3. Creative Principle - Caught In The Middle
    A4. Bosq Ft. Induce - Step Into Midnight (Disco Stepper)
    B1. Massimo Vanoni - Exciting Groove
    B2. Nightmares On Wax - Good Ship (Feat. Steve Spacek)
    B3. Dim Zach - Innocence
    B4. Ladi6 - Royal Blue (Silent Jay, Sensible J And Leigh Fisher Remix)
    C1. Chieftain - Out Of My Life (Instrumental)
    C2. Steve Cobby - Lefthanded Books Feat. Danielle Moore
    C3. Soulphiction Presents SBM - Gotta Have It
    D2. Nightmares On Wax - Look Up (Feat. Andrew Ashong & Sadie Walker)
    D3. Fat Freddy’s Drop - Russia (Nightmares On Wax Remix)

    Iconic Warp mainstay Nightmares on Wax can now announce his long-anticipated return with new album Shape The Future. The marriage of soul, hip-hop, dub and timeless club sounds that N.O.W. has been mutating and perfecting for years finds perhaps its most fluid form yet on Shape The Future. Energized by globetrotting runs of studio sessions and DJ sets, this latest salvo is a masterpiece of contemporary and classic genre-blending that solidifies Nightmares On Wax’s place as an inspirational electronic music figurehead. This includes the shamanistic vocals of recent single Back To Nature, and in particular the the arresting voices of Mozez alongside Kanye West and Flume collaborator Allan Kingdom, as featured on brand new cut Citizen Kane. Nightmares on Wax is one of the most influential artists of a generation, his music has inspired many musicians and producers across the globe over his quarter decade career. As Warp’s longest serving active artist, he has broadened the sound of the label and paved the way for artists such as Flying Lotus, Hudson Mohawke and Mount Kimbie.


    01. Back To Nature Feat Kuauhtli Vasquez & Wixarika Tribe
    02. Tell My Vision Feat Andrew Ashong
    03. Shape The Future
    04. On It Maestro
    05. Tomorrow Feat LSK
    06. Typical Feat Jordan Rakei
    07. Tenor Fly
    08. Citizen Kane Feat Mozez
    09. Deep Shadows Feat Sadie Walker
    10. Gotta Smile
    11. The Other Ship

    Latest Pre-Sales

    133 NEW ITEMS

    In celebration of new TMR HQ and store in London, @thirdmanrecords announce some ultra ltd new releases from some o…
    Sat 25th - 7:01
    Weekly New Release Mailout: LNT Don Letts, Public Service Broadcasting, The Lathums, Flyi…
    Thu 23rd - 5:00
    Jordan Rakei's amazing alt project, released via Rhythm Section and now repressed to coincide with "What We Call Li…
    Thu 23rd - 11:32
    PRESALE: @dinkededition 146 @mhaolmusic 'Gender Studies' • Clear Vinyl 12" EP • Signed & numbered postcard insert…
    Wed 22nd - 9:30
    We only have a couple of tickets left for the @Tim_Burgess show @nightanddaycafe tonight. It's going to be mega. I…
    Wed 22nd - 7:15
    E-newsletter —
    Sign up
    Back to top