Search Results for:


Electronic duo Pale Blue returns to Crosstown Rebels with their long-awaited sophomore album ‘Maria’, revealing a spellbinding eight-track trip across electronic spheres.

After forming their critically acclaimed Pale Blue project with their debut album ‘The Past We Leave Behind’ in 2015, Mike Simonetti (Italians Do It Better) and Elizabeth Wight (Silver Hands) have only furthered intrigue and interest in the years since, uniting for a series of expansive EPs on Simonetti’s own 2MR imprint exploring dancefloor-focused acid through to gripping electronica. Having already offered a first look and preview into their long-awaited album return via three singles on the label, with remixes provided by DJ Tennis, Kölsch, Fort Romeau and Perel, mid-May sees Simonetti, and Wight finally reveal their sophomore album ‘Maria’ on Damian Lazarus’ Crosstown Rebels - offering a uniquely raw yet seamlessly polished trip into their idiosyncratic world.

“‘Maria’ is an album of love songs - the good, the bad, and the ugly… The album is written entirely in Elizabeth’s voice. These are all her words - her thoughts, based on her personal experience. When writing this record I took inspiration from classic rock LP sequencing, and tried to dial in on a coherent concept, a natural flow. Although these are clearly techno tracks, one would argue they have more in common with rock music than dance music. I wanted to try make something a little different, verse/chorus/verse tracks but still heavy enough for the club, full of melody and emotion… poppy but not THAT kind of poppy. Pale Blue has been known to take on political subject matter in the past, but the politics of love is something we can all relate to.” - Mike Simonetti.

Opening with the slow-blooming and beautifully crafted dreamlike melodies of the aptly titled ‘Spells’, the eight-track long-player navigates and traverses the broader realms of electronica through to lighter pop-influenced touches and sonics for an absorbing and compelling dive. ‘Dive’, the first single from the project, provides a hazy but resonant web of polyrhythms and textures guided by Wight’s captivating vocals, while ‘Laura’ reaches for sparkling leads synths amongst sweeping tones and moments of bliss. Offering up change to the aesthetic ‘Ice Is Falling’ is a stripped-back and haunting production as Wight’s vocals carry eerie tones and pockets of space for a hair-raising effort.

The second half of the project welcomes second and third singles ‘No Words’ and ‘Together Alone’, with the playful tones of the former complementing the wistful and floaty soundscapes of the latter for two tracks to keep listeners in a trance. Closing out the package, ‘The New Year’ is a delightfully worked pop-leaning gem built on electronic foundations with a slinking acid-tinged bassline snaking through the mix, before shaping things up with the anthemic and rosy glow of final track ‘The Last Song’.

Further emphasising Simonetti and Wight’s innate connection and bond when creating and crafting music, ‘Maria’ is an exemplary display of the two at their best across a collection of eight productions straddling the electronic-pop border with poise and aplomb.


A1. Spells 
A2. Dive 
B1. Laura 
B2. Ice Is Falling 
C1. No Words 
C2. The New Year
D1. Together Alone 
D2. The Last Song 

Red Axes

Relax Shiva - Inc. DJ Gregory Remix

Red Axes return to Crosstown Rebels with their absorbing new single “Relax Shiva”, featuring a remix from DJ Gregory.

An electronic duo at the forefront of house and techno, Tel-Aviv-based pairing Dori Sadovnik and Niv Arzi, aka Red Axes, continue to advance and develop their own ever-evolving eccentric and idiosyncratic sound. Informed by new wave and post-punk through to electronic genres across the spectrum, their releases on Erol Alkan’s Phantasy Sound, Jennifer Cardini’s Correspondant and Life and Death, coupled with recent material on Higher Ground and Shall Not Fade, have welcomed a plethora of varying soundscapes. This versatility and range is something they explore once again as they return to Damian Lazarus’ Crosstown Rebels - following on from 2015’s “Sabor” - with their latest single, “Relax Shiva”.

An intensely hypnotic and entrancing effort that slowly wanders and creeps between sounds and spheres covering all hours of the night, the warping “Relax Shiva” utilises resounding and deep organic percussion alongside a spiraling deeply rooted acid line at its core to guide the trance-inducing vocal calls across a near-eight-minute trip. Providing the remix on the package, Parisian house legend DJ Gregory, aka Point G, harnesses the vocals while introducing crisp, rolling drums and winding melodies, a sure-fire remix BOMB!


Matt says: Red Axes' singular and inimitable sound traverses into the electronic music powerhouse that is Crosstown Rebels. "Relax Shiva" fires acidic machine gun fire over a trench of barbed drums and deep bass. DJ Gregory's remix is a nice and tribal take, full of head splitting fx to boot. Top stuff.


A. Relax Shiva
B. Relax Shiva (DJ Gregory Remix) 

Various Artists

Get Lost VI - Mixed By Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs

After the phenomenal Acid Pauli 'Get Lost V' album, Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs has mixed the next in the DJ mix series, 'Get Lost VI'. TEED delivers a fantastic sonic collage over a double CD, including a new exclusive track by TEED and Eats Everything. Programed over two CDs (or unmixed double vinyl) the first CD features the more eclectic side of Orlando’s DJ style whilst CD2 is more club orientated DJ mix.

The album is full of rare and illusive sonic nuggets that have been lovingly compiled here by TEED including Richard H. Kirk, Kenny Glasgow and Kevin Harrison all on vinyl for the first time ever! A great compilation including the esoteric gems ‘Honey Drips’ by fLako, ground-breaking early 80s German electronica from Deutsche Wertarbeit, seminal British bleep from LFO, Japan exoticism from Asa Chang and Junray floor-filling barnstormers from Italy’s Visnadi and Detroit’s DJ Bone, along with the piano anthems from Future Four and Separate Minds. Quite simply an essential package!


1. Flako – Honey Drips
2. Keith Harrison – All Night Long
3. Valentina – Wolves (Roman Flugel Remix)
4. Alex Bowman - Kilnsman
5. Jorge Velez - Floo
6. Christophe – Comeback (Casino Times Remix)
7. Matthias Zimmerman - Vicente
8. Dave Aju - Anyway
9. Millennium - ICU
10. Kenny Glasgow Dance 2 Da House
11. Traumprinz - Eachstep
12. Pitto – Mono Desire
13. Gold Panda – Burnt Out Car In A Forest
14. LFO – Track 4
15. Albinos - Bakatribe
16. Asa-Chang & Junray- Hana

1. Deutsche Wertarbeit – Auf Engelsfluegeln
2. Underground Resistance – Base Alpha 808
3. Richard H. Kirk – I Want More
4. Visnadi – Hunt’s Up
5. Trus’me – It’s Slow
6. Breach & Dark Sky – The Click
7. Eats Everything & TEED – Lion, The Lion
8. Tiga – Plush (Ame Remix)
9. DJ Bone – Thursday Night
10. Future Four – Into Orbit
11. Jamie Jones – Tonight In Tokyo (Breach Remix)
12. Subb-an & Tom Trago Ft. Seth Troxler - Time
13. Bernard Badie – Time Reveals
14. Hayden Andre Project – Tribal Life
15. Mathew Jonson – Automaton
16. Separate Minds – Troubled World

LP Tracklisting:

A1. Flako - Honey Drips
A2. Kevin Harrison - All Night Long
B1. Jorge Velez - Floo
B2. Kenny Glasgow - Dance 2 Da House
C1. LFO - Track Four
C2. Asa Chang & Junray - Hana
D1. Deutsche Wertarbeit - Auf Engelsflugeln
D2. Richard H Kirk - I Want More
E1. Visnadi - Hunt's Up
E2. DJ Bone - Thursday Night
F1. Future Four - Into Orbit
F2. Seperate Minds - Troubled World

Latest Pre-Sales


E-newsletter —
Sign up
Back to top