Search Results for:



NEU! 2 - 50th Anniversary Edition

    Special limited edition picture disc celebrating the 50th anniversary of this legendary record. Must have fan item for all fans of NEU! and Krautrock.


    1. Für Immer
    2. Spitzenqualität
    3. Gedenkminute (für A+K)
    4. Lila Engel (lilac Angel)
    5. Neuschnee 78
    6. Super 16
    7. Neuschnee
    8. Cassetto
    9. Super 78
    10. Hallo Excentrico
    11. Super



      NEU! announce the release of a brand new boxset marking the 50th anniversary of their first record, with a Tribute album featuring reworks from The National, Idles, Alexis Taylor (Hot Chip), Mogwai, Fink, Stephen Morris (New Order) & more.

      NEU!’s influence is undeniable. Klaus Dinger and Michael Rother, who had both previously been members of Kraftwerk, are a product not only of West Germany but of Düsseldorf. Like other experimental bands of the late 60s and early 70s gathered under the banner of Krautrock, they were driven by a mixture of political and artistic imperatives to reject the cliches and conventions of orthodox, blues-based Anglo-American rock and create a music that was, formally, West German in origin.

      NEU! are one of the great, belated success stories of rock music. Their influence is widespread, international, continued. Ian Curtis (Joy Division) played the rest of the group NEU! as part of their weekly education classes, David Bowie often spoke of his love for the duo and called them “Kraftwerk's wayward, anarchistic brothers”, in the 1990s Stereolab paid NEU! homage in their Franco-Germanic avant-Europop and further co-signs come from Damon Albarn, Brian Eno, Thom Yorke, Red Hot Chilli Peppers, Sonic Youth and Placebo.


      A1. Hallogallo
      A2. Sonderangebot
      A3. Weissensee
      B1. Im Glück
      B2. Negativland
      B3. Lieber Honig

      C1. Für Immer (Forever)
      C2. Spitzenqualität
      C3. Gedenkminute (Für A + K)
      C4. Lila Engel (Lilac Angel)
      D1. Neuschnee 78
      D2. Super 16
      D3. Neuschnee
      D4. Cassetto
      D5. Super 78
      D6. Hallo Excentrico!
      D7. Super

      E1. Isi
      E2. Seeland
      E3. Leb' Wohl
      F1. Hero
      F2. E-Musik
      F3. After Eight

      G1. Im Glück (The National Remix)
      G2. Weissensee (Fink Version)
      H1. Super (Mogwai Remix)
      H2. Alexis Taylor – “4+1=5”

      I1. Hallogallo (Stephen Morris And Gabe Gurnsey Remix)
      I2. Lieber Honig (Yann Tiersen Remix)
      I3. Super (Man Man Cover)
      J1. Negativland (Idles Negative Space Rework)
      J2. Guerilla Toss - "Zum Herz"
      J3. After Eight (They Hate Change Cover)

      The British Expeditionary Force

      Chapter Two: Konstellation Neu

        The B.E.F. return with a shape-shifting prog-rock indietronica record. March 26th will see the return of The British Expeditionary Force with their highly anticipated next installment on Erased Tapes Records, entitled 'Chapter Two: Konstellation Neu'. The British Expeditionary Force, short The B.E.F., was formed in 2007 by Northerners Aid Burrows, Justin Lockey and his brother James Lockey. Whilst their trademark indie-electronica marriage 'Chapter One: A Long Way From Home' was solely created via email, the long-awaited sequel 'Chapter Two: Konstellation Neu' was recorded in one room, with two drummers and mad professors on synthesisers contributing to an even broader sonic palette. A sound that producer and ex-Yourcodenameis:milo mastermind Justin Lockey likes to describe as 'prog rock, innit'. 'The tactic we've used is the 'more' method. More sounds, more layers, more people. More face to face, more angles, more songs. If we've done our sums right, it should total more than the individual pieces', explains singer Aid Burrows.


        Neu 75

          Rother and Dinger with their third (and for many years) their last studio work together. The insistent rhythms and the phased guitar and drums are as timeless as ever and in this new, official remastered edition the music seems as vital as it did when it came out all those years ago. This is probably their finest album, essential stuff!!


          After Eight



            Fresh after leaving Kraftwerk in the fall of 1971 for what they perceived to be a lack of vision, guitarist Michael Rother and drummer Klaus Dinger formed their own unit and changed the face of German rock forever. Dinger's mechanical, cut time drumming and Rother's two-note bass runs adorned with cleverly manipulated and dreamy guitar riffs and fills were the hallmarks of the "motorik" sound that would become the band's trademark. Neu!'s debut album was driving music for the apocalypse in 1971. 

            STAFF COMMENTS

            Martin says: It is almost impossible to do justice to an album like this. The wellspring of the genre that came to be known as Krautrock - and possibly its finest hour - emerged from Dusseldorf in 1971, part of a cultural watershed marking the point at which a nation began to look to the future instead of over it's shoulder. The very definition of 'modern'.

            TRACK LISTING

            Im Glück
            Lieber Honig

            Latest Pre-Sales

            169 NEW ITEMS

            E-newsletter —
            Sign up
            Back to top