Search Results for:


Julien Chang

The Sale

    Baltimore’s Julien Chang writes music that tunnels toward a series of deeper truths, investigating everyday existentialism, love and life, art and the artist. Arriving in 2019 with his critically acclaimed album ‘Jules’, Chang set a precedent with his breezy, dreamy debut and is now exacting his focus on 2022 with forthcoming new music.

    Chang’s second album ‘The Sale’ testify to his talents as he wrestles with enviable grace across his new 12-track catalogue, the idea of estrangement and the problematics of artistic creation. Chang leans sonically into indie-pop, with guitar-driven instrumentation burbling across punchy drums and his layered, ethereal vocals. Yet the album is still replete with touchstones of the psychedelic popcraft that enamoured listeners on his debut.

    Recorded partially in his hometown of Baltimore and partially in his dorm room at Princeton, his new album ‘The Sale’ is a homegrown effort with Chang playing all instruments, bar the odd exception of a few notable cameos from Baltimore locals, classmates and old friends. Following his debut ‘Jules’ - which saw Chang earn praise from the likes of Pitchfork, Fader, The Guardian, NME, Loud & Quiet, DIY, Billboard alongside support from BBC Radio 1 & 6Music via Annie Mac Jack Saunders and Jamz Supernova - his new LP explores the discrepancy between two worlds, a struggle to get comfortable in either one of them, and ultimately an artistic fascination with this very struggle.


    1. Heart Holiday
    2. Marmalade
    3. Sweet Obsolete
    4. Snakebit Side
    5. Snakebit
    6. Time And Place
    7. Bellarose
    8. Ethical Exceptions
    9. Crossed Paths
    10. Queen Of Sheba
    11. Competition's Friend

    Beverly Glenn-Copeland

    Keyboard Fantasies Reimagined

      Earlier this year, Transgressive reissued American-Canadian composer and activist Beverly Glenn-Copeland’s 1986 masterpiece, Keyboard Fantasies, marking the 35th anniversary of its original release. Today, he announces, Keyboard Fantasies Reimagined - a collection of songs from the now legendary album, re-worked and re-imagined by a collection of creative kindred spirits.

      The remix album and reissue of the original work follows the Autumn 2020 release of Glenn’s album, Transmissions: The Music of Beverly Glenn-Copeland. Transmissions was a career-spanning album that includes compositions from his early works including selections from Keyboard Fantasies. It also included both new and archival unreleased tracks and live versions. This collection marked the first new release from Glenn-Copeland since 2004. The New York Times called it a “life-spanning mixtape that moves from the mournful torch songs of his youth to joyously soulful odes to survival.”


      Ever New (Reworked By Bon Iver & Flock Of Dimes)
      Fastest Star (Julia Holter Remix)
      Let Us Dance (Arca Remix)
      Old (New) Melody
      Ever New (Kelsey Lu’s Transportation)
      Sunset Village (Blood Orange Remix)
      Ever New (Reworked By Joseph Shabason & Thom Gill)
      Ghost House (Performed By Jeremy Dutcher)

      Debut solo album from Dave Okumu - who you probably don't know from producing and guesting on projects with Arlo Parks, St. Vincent, Tony Allen and Jesse Ware (amongst others). You might recognize him as singer and guitarist from the Mercury nominated band, The Invisible.

      However this isn't anything like anything he's made before. An ode to early electronica, downbeat and instrumental hip-hop, it combines elements of glitch, boom-bap, and warped sample heaven to create something with soul, identity and, more important, something that'll sound amazing in your living room as the dark nights draw in.

      Playing with a tantalizingly organic palette of sounds, it's jazz-indebted, with lots of dusty piano, upright bass and brushed drums strung up with an elastic, head-bobbing groove which I can't workout is some expert MPC trickery or some other kind of beat-production voodoo. Either way it pulls you in and out, fast and slower as it nods through its movements and is a guaranteed H I T for anyone with penchant for stoner, instrumental hip-hop in the vein of Madlib, J Dilla and Your Old Droog. 


      Son Of Emmerson
      New Dawn
      Don’t Die

      Poliça & Stargaze

      Music For The Long Emergency

        Coming together again in October 2016 to prepare for a week-long residency culminating in a festival at the Funkhaus in Berlin — the former headquarters of the GDR state radio - the players wrote, rehearsed, and developed the ideas they had been pinging back and forth via the internet in the venue’s Studio 2, an exquisite, wood-panelled room with remarkable acoustics. “What that room created is pretty indescribable,” recalls Leaneagh. “It was a little cocoon.”

        When Stargaze arrived to premiere the project in Minneapolis however it was the day after Trump’s election, and they found their new bandmates reeling. It was in the wake of this news — and just a day before the premiere, that Leaneagh wrote one of the album’s most sublime pieces, How Is This Happening. “The famous question is always ‘which came first the music or the words?’” says de Ridder. “And I honestly think in this project the music came first and then Channy found the words that were going to capture the atmosphere of the music. Or transcend them. Or contrast them. So it was interesting with How Is This Happening, at the last minute to turn the process on its head.

        She just made up her lyrics and her vocal line, and she sang it to us, and we started playing to it, and arranging it as we were playing, everyone being aware of what was happening in America at that time.” The resultant album feels more than a simple collaboration, something more than a sum of its parts, a record with its own unique life force and distinctive voice. For de Ridder, the album’s title, Music For The Long Emergency, reflects the confusion of the times. “It had a meaning of music being a haven, giving you a ray of hope,” says de Ridder. “An alternative reality. And that became a theme of the music too. Quite a lot of the music is a little dark, and it does reflect what has been going on, but also incredible beauty at the same time which we hung onto because we needed to.”


        1. Fake Like
        2. Marrow
        3. Speaking Of Ghost
        4. Agree
        5. Cursed
        6. How Is This Happening
        7. Music For The Long Emergency

        The Antlers release ‘Familiars’, their fourth studio album and first since 2011’s ‘Burst Apart’. (In between, they released the ‘[together]’ and ‘Undersea’ EPs.) ·

        ‘Familiars’ was recorded, produced and engineered by the band at their Brooklyn studio and mixed by Chris Coady (Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Future Islands, Beach House) and follows 2011’s critically lauded ‘Burst Apart’, which The Sunday Times described as “some of the most beautiful music in years” and The Independent heralded as “a spine tingling triumph.”


        Andy says: Absolutely gorgeous, mellow record.


        1. Palace
        2. Doppelgänger
        3. Hotel
        4. Intruders
        5. Director
        6. Revisited
        7. Parade
        8. Surrender
        9. Refuge

        Latest Pre-Sales

        146 NEW ITEMS

        Update on the @xboygeniusx listening party - we've just heard from the distributor that there won't be any tote bag…
        Fri 24th - 5:37
        Weekly New Release Mailout Heartworms, Lana Del Rey, Depeche Mode, Talking Drums, The Re…
        Thu 23rd - 6:04
        We're hosting a listening party for the new @xboygeniusx album, on Tuesday March 28th at 4.30pm. The first 100 at…
        Thu 23rd - 12:15
        Lana Del Rey listening party today at 4pm ⏰ - Her new album is out March 24 via @polydorrecords Click the link be…
        Wed 22nd - 2:19
        E-newsletter —
        Sign up
        Back to top