Search Results for:


The Decemberists

Traveling On

    The EP “Traveling On” is the next iteration of The Decemberists B-sides series, a tradition that began in 2005 and serves as a follow up to “Florasongs” and “Long Live the King”. It’s comprised of five B-sides related to their last album ‘I’ll Be Your Girl’ (4 tracks that were exclusive to the Exploded Edition box set + a full band version of “Traveling On”).


    1. Down On The Knuckle
    2. I Will Not Say Your Name
    3. Tripping Along (Full Band Version)
    4. Midlist Author
    5. Traveling On

    The Decemberists explore a new sound with a new producer on their inspired eighth studio album I’ll Be Your Girl, which will be released March 17 on Rough Trade Records. The acclaimed Portland, Oregon-based band worked with producer John Congleton (St. Vincent, Lana del Ray) and embraced influences such as Roxy Music and New Order to spark a new creative path, as can be heard on the synth-driven lead single “Severed”

    I’ll Be Your Girl is the sound of a veteran band finding new inspiration, a unit unafraid of challenging itself to re-connect with its creativity. “Making music is an infinite choose-your-own-adventure,” says Colin Meloy, “and when you go down one path, the other paths get sealed off. So every time we could, we said, ‘If this is what our impulses would tell us to do, let’s try to imagine it in a different way.’”


    Barry says: A more direct affair than their previous outing, 'I'll Be Your Girl' flits between the full-sounding AOR melodicism of War On Drugs and the pseudo-country psychedelia of their previous iterations, 'I'll Be Your Girl' takes all the elements we love about The Decemberists and distills them into a cohesive and hugely satisfying whole.


    Once In My Life
    Cutting Stone
    Tripping Along
    Your Ghost
    Everything Is Awful
    Sucker’s Prayer
    We All Die Young
    Rusalka, Rusalka / The Wild Rushes
    I’ll Be Your Girl

    The Decemberists

    What A Terrible World, What A Beautiful World

      “In some ways, this album was four years in the making,” says Colin Meloy, frontman and primary songwriter of the Decemberists. “We were on hiatus, so we had all the time we could want, no schedule or tour, no expectations.”

      With the ability to work at their own pace, the resulting record, What a Terrible World, What a Beautiful World, is the band’s most varied and dynamic work, both musically and emotionally. Since their earliest recordings more than a decade ago, the Decemberists have always been known for their sense of scope and daring—from “The Tain,” an eighteen-and-a-half minute 2004 single based on an Irish myth to their last two ambitious, thematic albums, The Hazards of Love and The King is Dead. This time, though, Meloy explains that they took a different approach: “Let’s make sure the songs are good, and eventually the record will present itself.”

      Without a deadline, the Decemberists were also able to explore every song to completion. “Usually you have to let some songs slide because of time constraints,” Meloy says, “but nothing was relegated to the b-side pile, everything was given a fair shake. Which is a blessing and a curse—we ended up with 18 songs, and each had champions and detractors. There were a multitude of albums you could potentially make—somber, over-the-top pop, folk—and I think every band member would have created a different record.”

      Ultimately, What a Terrible World, What a Beautiful World found its final form, a distillation of the best things about this remarkable band. A new way of working led to a renewed excitement about the next chapter for the Decemberists. “I’ve never lived with a record for so long,” says Colin Meloy, “documenting my shifts and changes as a songwriter, with a real sense of time passing. And there’s something very freeing about working on music with absolutely no agenda, and just letting the songs become themselves.”

      The Decemberists

      The Hazards Of Love

        The Decemberists' "The Hazards Of Love" album plots an extravagant tale rooted in ancient language and imagery of a woman ravaged by her lover who is able to change his form between animal and man. The result is musically and lyrically rich with elaborate orchestrations that explode like baroque fireworks. The Decemberists are joined on this record by Lavender Diamond's Becky Stark and My Brightest Diamond's Shara Worden and there are cameos from Jim James of My Morning Jacket, Robyn Hitchcock and The Spinanes' Rebecca Gates.

        1. Prelude
        2. The Prettiest Whistles Won't Wrestle The Thistles Undone (The Hazards Of Love part 1)
        3. Bower Scene
        4. Won't Want For Love (Margaret In The Taiga)
        5. Wager All (The Hazards Of Love part 2)
        6. Queen's Approach
        7. Isn't It A Lovely Night
        8. Wanting Comes In Waves/Repaid
        9. Interlude
        10. Rake's Song
        11. Abduction Of Margaret
        12. Queen's Rebuke/The Crossing
        13. Annan Water
        14. Margaret In Captivity
        15. Revenge (The Hazards Of Love Part 3)
        16. Wanting Comes In Waves (Reprise)
        17. Drowned (The Hazards Of Love Part 4)

        Just In

        40 NEW ITEMS

        Latest Pre-Sales

        102 NEW ITEMS

        E-newsletter —
        Sign up
        Back to top