Search Results for:


Minimal Violence

MVX / U41A

Recorded in the Autumn of 2017 at their studio in Vancouver’s Deep Blue; “MVX / U41A” is the first new music from Minimal Violence to be released on Ninja Tune’s Technicolor imprint and the first to be recorded outside their usual home production space. The result is a record that intends to reduce pop music to its emotive qualities and apply that abstract nostalgia back into dance tracks. Their penchant for the heavier and more aggressive side of dance music is most evident in its infiltration of the duo’s often raw and disorientating live set. Formed in 2015 the duo, consisting of Ashlee Luk and Lida P, have a string of releases to date with labels such as Lobster Theremin, 1080p and Jungle Gym Records. Drawing on Luk’s years of experience playing in punk bands, they combine hardware sequencers, drum machines and synths, to weave together acid tinged compositions that derive inspiration from early electronic and minimal synth through to heavier UK rave and hardcore.

Umfang makes her debut on Ninja Tune’s Technicolour imprint with the album "Symbolic Use Of Light". Highly rated for her analogue-based rhythmic excursions previously released via videogamemusic, 1080p, Phinery and Allergy Season; the New Yorker is a co-founder of Brooklyn’s colossal Discwoman crew and resident at Bossa Nova Civic Club’s Technofeminism monthly. Here we get a collection of reduced analogue hypnopompic  excursions - drifting between the lucid and hallucinatory.

Dauwd, the US-born, Wales-raised artist has been releasing music for nearly 6 years on such noted labels as Ghostly International and Kompakt. Now on Ninja Tune, "Theory Of Coloures" sees the producer delve more into his exotic and beguiling sound pool. Pulling inspiration from electronic music legends like Terry Riley, Raymond Scott and the seminal Radiophonic Workshop period in the late 50’s and 60’s, Dauwd’s new LP draws a unique line between influences as disparate as hazy Detroit house and early German krautrock. A skilled musical engineer, Dauwd’s ability to balance between such sprawling genres is, paradoxically, an exercise in restriction, finding creative freedom in limiting his own gear. It’s clear he’s no stranger to focus; sonically, "Theory of Colours" runs tightly wound, its loops intentional and layers meticulously built. Spanning a succinct forty minutes across seven tracks, Dauwd’s fondness for delays and love for vintage synthesizers characterize much of the album, which was recorded over the course of a year primarily in a Utrecht studio that houses one of the largest collections of vintage synths and other modular equipment in all of Europe. The result is an intricate, scintillating journey that hovers between familiar and strange. For many artists, that enigmatic gap is one that’s anxiously avoided-- the fear of misidentity as a musician more important than the music itself. Throughout "Theory of Colours", it’s a space Dauwd comfortably renders as his own.

Jay Daniel (Wild Oats / Sound Signature / Watusi High) is one of the leading artists in the latest generation of Detroit electronic music-makers. This debut album on Ninja Tune’s Technicolour imprint, "Broken Knowz", signals a departure from his previous output. Disillusioned with the constraints of drum programming and the associated deficiencies translating human feeling or emotion, he retreated to his mother’s basement, picked up his drumsticks and started recording into a multitrack mixer for the first time. The results are refreshingly exposed and overtly reliant on the sheer weight of the grooves. It’s a mighty debut from a young man seemingly oblivious to the weight of expectation associated with the pantheon of music makers hailing from his hometown. Jay recently played the Planet E showcase at Output NYC, followed by a Japanese tour with Kyle Hall (Wild Oats). Forthcoming Boiler Room album launch party in Detroit. For fans of Kyle Hall, Funkineven, Four Tet, Theo Parrish.


Matt says: Next gen. Detroit wonderkid Jay Daniel drops his much anticipated debut LP, following a slew of critically acclaimed 12"s. Taking on the long player format with ease, Daniel lays down live abstract grooves which'd make the Rhythm Section crew blush; before embellishing with scrumptious keyboard work and beautifully programmed synth patches. Exquisite!

Darren Cunningham (better known as Actress) arrives at Ninja Tune's singles offshoot Technicolour with the first new material under his Levantis moniker since 2013's "Believe EP" on Trilogy Tapes. Not only is this the first long player released under this alias, but it's also the first album in the Technicolour catalogue. Reportedly "about Nigredo and possession of the shadow", "Romantic Psychology 1" finds Cunningham in typically experimental form, dragging serrated metallic synths over distorted drums and hazy field recordings. Gloomy, dark and sludgey, the eleven compostitions on the LP see the prodcer drop deeper into the mordant melancholy of his "Hazyville" LP, reminding us why he's one of the most groundbreaking artists around. 

The black 180g vinyl LP is housed in an Inspira deep black sleeve with spot varnish type and includes an artwork insert by Eve Ackroyd printed on uncoated 300gsm art card. MP3 download code also enclosed.

Latest Pre-Sales


RT @JASONBOARDMAN1: @PiccadillyRecs Grooveryder in full flow & talking sense.
Wed 14th - 8:56
This is straight after our End of Year Booklet launch party @yes_mcr which is from 6.30pm - 10.30pm. Free entry to…
Wed 14th - 8:14
Thank you for the kind words. 🙌🏻
Wed 14th - 7:46
RT @AptaMusic: ACE interview from P-dog here. @PiccadillyRecs at 40!
Wed 14th - 7:20
RT @Susan_Griffin: 40 years on and still standing...great to chat to @PiccadillyRecs' Patrick Ryder about the shops's survival, breaking st…
Wed 14th - 6:56
E-newsletter —
Sign up
Back to top