Search Results for:


T. Griffin

The Proposal

    RIYL: Library Tapes, Deaf Center, The Books, Tied & Tickled Trio. The original score for the acclaimed feature-length artworld documentary by multi-disciplinary artist Jill Magid: an exploration of the contested legacy of the Mexican architect Luis Barragan and an art intervention in its own right. Griffin wrote, performed and recorded The Proposal soundtrack with an understated but wide-ranging electro-acoustic sensibility that organically compliments the film's enigmatic narrative and the discreet beauty of Barragan's architectural spaces. Various acoustic instruments combine with electronics, sampling and ambient treatments for an ever-shifting suite of musical vignettes across the album's thirteen tracks. Guest musicians include Matana Roberts, Reut Regev, Jim White (Xylouris White, The Dirty Three), Jason Ajemian (Helado Negro), and Sophie Trudeau and Timothy Herzog (Godspeed You! Black Emperor) – alongside Griffin's own contributions on multiple instruments, field recordings and production. Griffin weaves an iridescent musical tapestry, threading various genres with sublime thematic and atmospheric coherence, echoing Magid's contemplative, cerebral journey. The music also works enchantingly on its own as a subtly haunted, evocative and meditative album


    Barry says: The Proposal is yet another perfectly weighted soundtrack by T Griffin, coming on the ever-reliable constellation records. Rich, organic basses and dissonant strings work around each-other atop a thickly textured bed of found sounds, flickering banjo and swimming, soaring atmospherics. An absolute triumph in terms of musical direction, and a perfect standalone piece in it's own right.


    01 Dearest Frederica (Opening The Proposal)
    02 Grass Horns For The Proposal Dinner
    03 Manufacture
    04 Copyright Implications
    05 Void Room And Reliquary
    06 St. Gallen
    07 Word Guitar
    08 The Jeweler
    09 Poised
    10 Architecture Of Noise
    11 The Nun With A Chipped Tooth
    12 As Ever
    13 Grass Horns For The Proposal Credits

    Johnny Griffin

    Introducing Johnny Griffin

      The tenor sax legend’s 1957 Blue Note debut. Recorded at the (original) Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, New Jersey, on 17th April 1956. Featuring a top-drawer backing band of Wynton Kelly (piano), Curley Russell (bass) and Max Roach (drums). Griffin’s composition ‘Mil Dew’ is one of the most intense album-openers in Blue Note history.
      Elsewhere there are two other fine Griffin originals (‘Chicago Calling’, ‘Nice And Easy’) and classic takes on ‘These Foolish Things’, ‘Lover Man’ and ‘It’s All Right With Me’ . The album perfectly showcases Griffin’s fiery, hard-driving, technically masterful style. 


      A1. Mil Dew
      A2. Chicago Calling
      A3. These Foolish Things
      A4. The Boy Next Door
      B1. Nice & Easy
      B2. It's Alright With Me
      B3. Lover Man

      Just In

      122 NEW ITEMS

      Latest Pre-Sales

      155 NEW ITEMS

      E-newsletter —
      Sign up
      Back to top