Search Results for:


Arab Strap

I’m Totally Fine With It - Don’t Give A F**k Anymore

    Following their critically-acclaimed UK Top 20 album “As Days Get Dark”, Arab Strap return with their 2nd long player for Mogwai’s Rock Action Records with the excellent titled “I’m totally fine with it - don’t give a fuck anymore”. Almost 28 years after their debut, Arab Strap have never sounded more essential, and this new record is a fierce testament to their laser focus on wider horizons. Written and performed exclusively by Malcolm Middleton & Aidan Moffat, and finessed with longtime collaborator Paul Savage, the album furthers the band’s transformation from swooning, slow-core romantics to raging, alt-pop chroniclers.


    Barry says: A typically massive sounding, visceral blast of indie-adjacent avant-pop and shadowy electronica that's both instantly recognisable as Arab Strap, but furthers their already vast sonic explorations. With the uncompromising wit of Moffat & Middleton shining through every note, this really couldn't have been done by anyone else.


    1. Allatonceness
    2. Bliss
    3. Sociometer Blues
    4. Hide YOur Fires
    5. Summer Season
    6. Molehills
    7. Strawberry Moon
    8. You’re Not There
    9. Haven’t You Heard
    10. Safe & Well
    11. Dreg Queen
    12. Turn Off The Light


    Standard Tuning

      Standard Tuning is the final song recorded at The Knave Studios, Leeds as part of the bdrmm's recording sessions for their acclaimed 2nd album "I don't Know" released last summer 2023. The 10" comes with a remix of album track "Alps" by Nathan Fake, an etched b-side and exclusive artwork by band member Jordan Smith.


      Barry says: A superbly atmospheric distillation of BDRMM's sound with a lot more propulsive electronics and airy shoegaze breeze. Backed with a lovely remix from Nathan Fake too! Nice.


      1. Standard Tuning
      2. Alps (Nathan Fake Remix)


      Government Commissions (BBC Sessions 1996-2003) - 2023 Reissue

        ‘Government Commissions (BBC Sessions 1996 - 2003)’ is a compilation album consisting of sessions recorded between 1996 and 2003 for BBC Radio.

        This is the first time that the album has been available on vinyl since the original pressing in 2005.


        1. Hunted By A Freak
        2. R U Still In 2 It
        3. New Paths To Helicon Pt II
        4. Kappa
        5. Cody
        6. Superheroes Of Bmx
        7. Like Herod
        8. Secret Pint
        9. New Paths To Helicon Pt I
        10. Stop Coming To My House


        Ten Rapid (Collected Recordings 1996-1997) - 2023 Reissue

          ‘Ten Rapid’ is a compilation of songs released between 1996 and 1997 on various labels, including their debut single release for their own Rock Action label, ‘tuner’.

          LP includes digital download code.


          1. Summer
          2. Helicon 2
          3. Angel Versus Aliens
          4. I Am Not Batman
          5. Tuner
          6. A Place For Parks
          7. Helicon 1
          8. End



            To celebrate the UK airing of the acclaimed eight-part cocaine crime drama, “ZeroZeroZero”, we are pleased to release Mogwai's soundtrack to the series for the first time on double white vinyl and exclusively for Record Store Day. It will come with a MP3 download included. The soundtrack has only previously been available digitally. ‘...a masterful collection from a band who enter their second quarter century as essential as ever.’ Clash Magazine 8/10

            TRACK LISTING

            SIDE A
            1 Visit Me
            2 I'm Not Going When I Don't Get Back
            3 Telt
            4 Chicken Guns
            5 Nose Pints
            6 Fears Of Metal

            SIDE B
            7 Space Annual
            8 Invisible Frequencies
            9 Moon In Reverse
            10 Don't Make Me Go Out On My Own
            11 Lesser Glasgow

            SIDE C
            12 Frog Marching
            13 El Dante
            14 Major Treat
            15 Rivers Wanted
            16 Summon The Sacred Beast

            SIDE D
            17 Modern Trolls
            18 The Winter's Not Forever
            19 He Loved Trees
            20 Witches Of Alignment
            21 The Wife Was Touched

            Rave Tapes is the eighth studio album by Mogwai and their second on Rock Action, the label they set up almost 18 years ago to issue their debut 7" single, Tuner/Lower. In between, the Scottish quintet have established themselves on the international stage through a prolific recorded output and a commitment to touring that few of their peers can match.

            Clocking in at just under 50 minutes, the 10-track album is a lustrous collection mined from the same quarry as its predecessors, wreathed in painterly textures underpinned by increasingly electronic beats. The haunted strains of Deesh channel the slow-burning ecstasy of their 2006 song “Auto Rock” (a key presence in the denouement of Michael Mann’s film of Miami Vice that year) while the guitars on which Mogwai built their reputation remain, if for the most part less overtly belligerent this time round, as evidenced by the somnambulant opener “Heard About You Last Night” and the sonic scowl of “Hexon Bogon”. With Rave Tapes, Mogwai’s mastery of sound and space is firmly at its apex.

            STAFF COMMENTS

            Barry says: Mogwai, Veteran post-rockers and noise merchants ramp it up in this latest iteration, with synths! Pulsing, brooding and mysterious, and juxtaposed with their trademark melodic highs. Groovy, imaginative, and downright brilliant. Post-rock for the 21st century.

            TRACK LISTING

            Heard About You Last Night
            Simon Ferocious
            Hexon Bogon
            Master Card
            Blues Hour
            No Medicine For Regret
            The Lord Is Out Of Control

            Latest Pre-Sales

            189 NEW ITEMS

            E-newsletter —
            Sign up
            Back to top