Search Results for:


Joe Gideon

Altered Self

    Back in March 2020, singer songwriter Joe Gideon was mid-tour promoting his fresh album ‘Armagideon’ when the pandemic brought his tour, along with the entire world, to a screeching halt. In the interim, Joe Gideon has been recording his follow-up album, ‘Altered Self’, set to be released on Labelman.

    ‘Altered Self’ is, like its predecessor ‘Armagideon’, produced by Bad Seed Jim Sclavunos. Gideon’s unique songwriting style and surreal poetic musings are very much in the fore, and although he and Jim are the sole instrumentalists, the album offers a menagerie of sounds including loopy synths, skronky guitars, sonorous bass, and lashings of bongo madness.

    Expect to hear Joe yowling and howling at the moon, screeching like a bird, as well as summoning listeners to join his ‘disco church’ congregation… and for all you entomologists, Joe promises at least two songs about insects.

    Joe’s previous music project together with his sister Viva Seifert, Joe Gideon & the Shark, enjoyed some successful (international) tours in the past.


    1. ArchaeoPsychic
    2. Bird Of Prey
    3. The Deforming Mirrors, Part 1
    4. The Deforming Mirrors, Part 2
    5. Life Cycle Of The Atlas Moth
    6. Arctic Moon
    7. Grizzly
    8. Spiders In Dreams
    9. Wild & Free

    Jess Ribeiro

    Summer Of Love

      Across the ten tracks on Jess Ribeiro’s incoming new album ‘Summer of Love’, she traverses isolation, loss, tiny snatches of love, expectation versus reality, once-in-a-century pandemics and healing. It was written and recorded during a particularly unstable time, with Ribeiro living in nine different houses across a two year period, including six months in a church outside of the city, “That instability affected my mental health, ”she says. It also created the spark for her fourth album, on which she transfixes audiences as she digs deep into the present, past, and wanted future.

      The first demos for Summer of Love were put down at a solar-powered shack by Jess with her friend and musical collaborator Dave Mudie (Courtney Barnett, Super American Eagle), an experience that wasn’t without excitement: “We used all the solar power trying to record. It ended with us around a fire for the rest of the night, terrified that the boars were going to get us.”

      From there, she recorded the album with Nick Huggins on Wautharong Country in Point Lonsdale, with special guests Jim White (Dirty Three, Xylouris White,) on drums, Darcy McNulty on saxophone, folk-diviner Leah Senior on keys, James Seymour on bass, Davie Mudie taking percussion duties, Carrie Webster’s violin and viola, and Huggins himself chipping in on bass, tape and drum loops, synth, guitars and piano. The way in which the album came together with her collaborators - separately, but towards the same north star - is where the beauty in the work is experienced. “It was improvised and experimental, musicians could only visit on eat a time due to the restrictions, half of the musicians never even came to the studio”.


      1. Maybe If I Wore Sunglasses Inside I Won’t Feel Tired
      2. Everything Is Now
      3. The Trees & Me
      4. Paradise
      5. Jump The Gun
      6. Airborne
      7. Helicopter
      8. Summer Of Love
      9. Wake In Fright
      10. Howl

      Latest Pre-Sales

      211 NEW ITEMS

      E-newsletter —
      Sign up
      Back to top