Joe Gideon

Altered Self

Image of Joe Gideon - Altered Self

About this item

Back in March 2020, singer songwriter Joe Gideon was mid-tour promoting his fresh album ‘Armagideon’ when the pandemic brought his tour, along with the entire world, to a screeching halt. In the interim, Joe Gideon has been recording his follow-up album, ‘Altered Self’, set to be released on Labelman.

‘Altered Self’ is, like its predecessor ‘Armagideon’, produced by Bad Seed Jim Sclavunos. Gideon’s unique songwriting style and surreal poetic musings are very much in the fore, and although he and Jim are the sole instrumentalists, the album offers a menagerie of sounds including loopy synths, skronky guitars, sonorous bass, and lashings of bongo madness.

Expect to hear Joe yowling and howling at the moon, screeching like a bird, as well as summoning listeners to join his ‘disco church’ congregation… and for all you entomologists, Joe promises at least two songs about insects.

Joe’s previous music project together with his sister Viva Seifert, Joe Gideon & the Shark, enjoyed some successful (international) tours in the past.


1. ArchaeoPsychic
2. Bird Of Prey
3. The Deforming Mirrors, Part 1
4. The Deforming Mirrors, Part 2
5. Life Cycle Of The Atlas Moth
6. Arctic Moon
7. Grizzly
8. Spiders In Dreams
9. Wild & Free

You may also like

Back to top