Search Results for:


Fat Tony

Smart Ass Black Boy: Redux

    ‘Smart Ass Black Boy: Redux’ is the 10th Anniversary remixed and remastered edition of Houston rapper Fat Tony's second studio album and first for Young One Records (an early Partisan imprint).

    ‘Smart Ass Black Boy’ was one of the most acclaimed hip-hop records of 2013, ultimately becoming one of the most beloved Houston rap records of the 2010’s. The album landed on year-end lists at Complex and VICE, with Noisey and Pitchfork premiering the videos for "BKNY" and "Hood Party" respectively. It was featured in NPR’s First Listen series where they described it as "refreshing" and "promising," while Pitchfork said it "absolutely knocks." Robert Christgau gave the record an A- review (“homespun and imaginative”), and Rolling Stone called it a “thoroughly enjoyable batch of smart-ass raps.” Fat Tony has since released records with Don Giovanni and Carpark, most recently this year’s ‘I Will Make a Baby in this Damn Economy’.

    'Smart Ass Black Boy: Redux' will be released digitally and on opaque red vinyl on December 1, 2023, on Partisan. The album features a never before released “BKNY (Remix),” featuring new verses from Mr. Muthafuckin' eXquire, Melo-X, and GLDNEYE.


    Barry says: A rework of Fat Tony's 2013 LP, bringing to the fore FT's crisp lyrical timing and impeccably staggered groove. It's a worthy bunch of reworks too, with every one benefitting from the technological advancements since, and brought right up to date with ease. Fat tony remains one of the most singular rappers around.


    1. Smart Ass Black Boy (Redux)
    2. Final Destination (Redux)
    3. Creepin' (ft. Jahlil Nzinga) (Redux)
    4. BKNY (ft. Old Money) (Redux)
    5. I Shine (Redux)
    6. Never Let You Go (ft. Shan) (Redux)
    7. Hood Party (ft. Kool A.D. And Despot) (Redux)
    8. Frenzy (ft. GLDNEYE) (Redux)
    9. Father's Day (Redux)
    10. Sleepover (ft. Shawn Neon) (Redux)
    11. The More Things Change (The More They Stay The Same) (Redux)
    12. BKNY [Remix] (feat. Mr. Muthafuckin' EXquire, Melo-X, And GLDNEYE) (Redux)

    When he's not busy laying down tracks with A$AP Rocky and Das Racist or hosting shows for VICE Fat Tony kicks back with close bud and producer Taydex spitting close to the bone, observational bars. This, his first release on Carpark records drops right on cue with his riotous live dates with Black Midi and Blackalicious. For "Wake Up", Fat Tony invited a cast of talented peers, including Sophia Pfister, Negashi Armada, Dai Burger, Clarence James, and Revenge Wife, to spit verses on the album. The record’s lead singles “Godly” and “Get Out My Way” show the musical and conceptual range the album has to offer. Fat Tony hopes that the creative risks taken on the album gesture a leap forward in his discography while retaining the charisma and sincerity his fans know him for.

    Nigerian-American rapper and entertainer Fat Tony’s fifth studio album, "Wake Up", a collaboration with producer Taydex, is saturated in the candid confidence that has carried him through his tenure in underground Hip Hop. "Wake Up" is an anthemic return to form after 2018’s "10,000 Hours". Inspired by quietly groundbreaking rap records like De La Soul’s "Buhloone Mindstate" and Ghostface Killah’s "Supreme Clientele", "Wake Up" shows Fat Tony widening the scope of his storytelling while maintaining his light-hearted and selfreflective demeanor. Taydex’s instrumentals provide a colorful and turbulent backdrop to Fat Tony’s anecdotal and satirical verses. 

    Fat Tony explains. “After that, I just decided, let’s make an EP together.” The pair began recording a five-track EP in December 2018 at Taydex’s studio, which would lay the groundwork for Wake Up. Fat Tony and Taydex put the project on pause for about three months while Fat Tony was living in New York and co-hosting Viceland’s late-night variety show VICE LIVE. After the show ended in April 2019 Fat Tony flew back to LA and spent a month and a half with Taydex recording new tracks and elaborating on what they had already started.

    “I thought it would be more interesting to make it an album than an EP, and that the time we spent apart before making the second batch of songs would make it a more interesting and diverse body of work.” By the end of the second session, Fat Tony and Taydex had created a complex collage of sounds, stories, and references that flexes the MC’s growth as a writer the producer’s masterful assembly. 


    Barry says: Everyone here will no doubt tell you i'm not a massive fan of a lot of modern hip-hop, but there's something about this superb outing from Fat Tony (not fat) and Taydex that really does it for me. Maybe it's the weighty, synthpop production, or possibly the weird gamey vibes, either way, it's superb and it's going on the player, RIGHT NOW.


    1. Get Out My Way (ft. Sophia Pfister)
    2. Godly (ft. Negashi Armada)
    3. Big Ego (ft. Sophia Pfister, Dai Burger)
    4. Magnifique
    5. Run It Up (feat. Sophia Pfister)
    6. Omaha (ft. Clarence James)
    7. Wake Up
    8. Cut That
    9. Make It (ft. Revenge Wife)

    Latest Pre-Sales

    188 NEW ITEMS

    E-newsletter —
    Sign up
    Back to top