Fat Tony

Smart Ass Black Boy: Redux

Image of Fat Tony - Smart Ass Black Boy: Redux
Record Label
Partisan Records

About this item

‘Smart Ass Black Boy: Redux’ is the 10th Anniversary remixed and remastered edition of Houston rapper Fat Tony's second studio album and first for Young One Records (an early Partisan imprint).

‘Smart Ass Black Boy’ was one of the most acclaimed hip-hop records of 2013, ultimately becoming one of the most beloved Houston rap records of the 2010’s. The album landed on year-end lists at Complex and VICE, with Noisey and Pitchfork premiering the videos for "BKNY" and "Hood Party" respectively. It was featured in NPR’s First Listen series where they described it as "refreshing" and "promising," while Pitchfork said it "absolutely knocks." Robert Christgau gave the record an A- review (“homespun and imaginative”), and Rolling Stone called it a “thoroughly enjoyable batch of smart-ass raps.” Fat Tony has since released records with Don Giovanni and Carpark, most recently this year’s ‘I Will Make a Baby in this Damn Economy’.

'Smart Ass Black Boy: Redux' will be released digitally and on opaque red vinyl on December 1, 2023, on Partisan. The album features a never before released “BKNY (Remix),” featuring new verses from Mr. Muthafuckin' eXquire, Melo-X, and GLDNEYE.


Barry says: A rework of Fat Tony's 2013 LP, bringing to the fore FT's crisp lyrical timing and impeccably staggered groove. It's a worthy bunch of reworks too, with every one benefitting from the technological advancements since, and brought right up to date with ease. Fat tony remains one of the most singular rappers around.


1. Smart Ass Black Boy (Redux)
2. Final Destination (Redux)
3. Creepin' (ft. Jahlil Nzinga) (Redux)
4. BKNY (ft. Old Money) (Redux)
5. I Shine (Redux)
6. Never Let You Go (ft. Shan) (Redux)
7. Hood Party (ft. Kool A.D. And Despot) (Redux)
8. Frenzy (ft. GLDNEYE) (Redux)
9. Father's Day (Redux)
10. Sleepover (ft. Shawn Neon) (Redux)
11. The More Things Change (The More They Stay The Same) (Redux)
12. BKNY [Remix] (feat. Mr. Muthafuckin' EXquire, Melo-X, And GLDNEYE) (Redux)

You may also like

Back to top