Search Results for:


Phonk D is back on Exploited’s hallowed Black Jukebox series following the success of his #29 takeover earlier this year. You just can’t keep a good man down...

‘Let’s Shake’ leads the way with serious funk intent, mixing a thumping MJ-esque bassline with some of that late ‘70s / early ‘80s synth magic. Phasing guitar licks sidle up against spunky horn swells and sassy vocal blasts. It’s a track that has ‘party-starter’ written all over it.

‘Reality Dance’ is a chuggier beast, building slowly through looping guitar-and-bass plucks until a feel-good melody emerges. This low-slung, low-tempo groove is in no hurry to lay out its funky machinations, making for a perfect early-evening floor-filler as cocktail glasses clink and glitterballs bling.

‘Players Anthem’ chunks things up with conga-inflected groove and an arpeggiated bassline throb underpinning swooning female vocal harmonies. It rocks a simple arrangement that lets the groove do the talking, with sustained string notes adding an element of tension at the requisite moments.

‘No Limits’ sees Phonk D team up with old sparring partner Sascha Ciminiera for another hot collab. The bouncing off-beat groove pumps pleasingly in classic disco fashion, with a joyous mood built through Rhodesy chords and a scintillating synth line. Swelling horns are buried deep in the mix in the second half to help propel the track higher.


A1. Let’s Shake
A2. Reality Dance
B1. Players Anthem
B2. Phonk D & Sascha Ciminiera - No Limits

After last year's release on Shall Not Fade, Paul Rudder & Kresy are back - this time on Exploited for the infamous Black Jukebox Series.

‘Along With You’ bounces along with plenty of feel-good energy, channeling ‘90s spirit with its thicl bassline pump and an earworm of a sugar-sweet vocal. Well-chosen vox cuts create an infectious rhythm in between the full vocal sections while soft synth arps tickle the surface of the track and epic snare rolls inject more energy in the breakdown and at key moments. Guaranteed to get massive reactions. Kresy’s ‘Continuum Mix’ takes things into a lighter direction with gorgeous, sunny piano chords chiming in unison with a driving, uplifting bassline and pretty synth flourishes.

‘Her Dream Road’ pushes the EP into almost ambient house territory with its swirling pads and deep atmospheres, but the energetic percussion and warm bassline throb and melody give it plenty of dancefloor energy. Kresy’s ‘Mellonized Remix’ pumps it up with plump organ bass, dreamy acid licks, soaring arpeggios, continual automation and epic pad progressions that make for an absolutely huge rework that’s full of life, atmosphere and colour. 


Matt says: Shir Khan rides again! Nearly 15 years old and still providing the holiday house hits for the terraces, beach bars and nightclubs across the globe. Seriously strong offering from this well established firm.


A1. Paul Rudder & Kresy - Along With You
A2. Paul Rudder & Kresy - Along With You (Kresy Continuum Mix)
B1. Paul Rudder - Her Dream Road
B2. Paul Rudder - Her Dream Road (Kresy Mellonized Mix)

Ralph Session

Shir Khan Presents Black Jukebox 35

4 big ol’ chunks of heavy house music are the order of the day from New York producer Ralph Session’s how new EP for Black Jukebox. Combining his skills as a musician and seasoned DJ along with the technical know-how from his work as an audio engineer, the result is a collection of beautifully crafted, hard-hitting house cutz.

‘That Raw’ features a breathy spoken-word vocal from DJ Amir - one half of the legendary duo Kon & Amir - that laces the soulful, deep production with a hypnotic atmosphere. Thick bass bubbles beneath soaring strings and meandering synth arpeggios to give the track a set-building, big-room feel. ‘Do It’ rocks jaunty snatches of piano and sax over its peppy, skippy beat, with a little New Jersey feel in its incessant, phat-bottomed grove. ‘If You Want’ takes us into a deeper direction with its hazy pad work and dubby touches, with a slinky, rubbery bass groove that throbs hard beneath it all. Turn it up loud and feel it envelop you with its wide-open atmospherics. ‘Raw Sax’ rounds off with a dusty, skipping drum track shuffling around dreamy filtering synths, dubbed-out stab patterns and of course a sultry sax line. 


Matt says: Shir Khan's back with his Black Jukebox - on the dials for the thirty fifth edition of this cult house series is Ralph Session who delivers big n chunky house music that'll go down a storm in Ibiza.


A1. Ralph Session Feat. DJ Amir - That Raw
A2., Ralph Session - Do It
B1. Ralph Session - If You Want
B2. Ralph Session - Raw Sax

Hailing from Liege in Belgium, David Body has been put on our radar with releases on the fine Endless Music, but this EP for Exploited’s cult collected Black Jukebox series is truly next level house music!

Timed perfectly for that sweet Summer release, "I Bird You" is a seriously charming affair, led by a colourful, sugary-sweet refrain that twinkles and sparkles in cute fashion. A warm deep house groove crafted through swirling Rhodes chords builds the vibe before the flowery melody explodes into life, pushing the track into an altogether more magical direction. Playing this at one of the first festivals of Summer 2022 could be a truly spiritual occassion! There's 'nuff tension from the last two years to warrent a full-on maximum love in; and tracks like this could be the perfect catalyst!

"Jack Me Baby" channels rubbery bass and a galloping house beat, with minor piano chords creating a dramatic feel as a classic vocal sample whoops away in delight. The enormous snare-roll propelled build-up thrusts the track into overdrive, with a delightful, balmy synth line woven in to provide a mystical counterbalance. Another hand-aloft rush of euphoria to sound track the party season. 

"The Talking Mouettes" is a supremely feel-good slab of Balearic-tinged peak time house, with choice piano chords cut up and cascading over a high-energy groove. Big squelchy melodic bass wiggles under the chords and shoulder-popping chime riff, with plenty of power and punch scattered throughout to keep the vibes rolling. Cleverly warped vox the icing on this sweet slice of sonic cake.  

"Endless Love" is an absolute monster to close the EP, a soaring, triumphant electro-disco beauty that overflows with euphoric melody and ecstatic, eyes-closed-and-rolling tingles. It just keeps building and building through layer upon layer of synth mastery to an explosive, epic climax.

Shir Khan's series has always been a big hitter here at Picc HQ but this is one of the biggest 12"s from the firm for some time. Get them orders in quick! 


Martin says: It's been an eternity since Shir Khan's had us cantering around the shop. It's with huge delight that I can state, with authority, that David Body's launched us into the party season with this collection of open air festival house anthems.


A1. David Body - I Bird You
A2. David Body - Jack Me Baby
B1. David Body - The Talking Mouettes
B2. David Body - Endless Love

Latest Pre-Sales


E-newsletter —
Sign up
Back to top