Search Results for:


Josienne Clarke

Parenthesis, I

    On Parenthesis, I, Josienne Clarke has not only embraced her past but has also redefined herself in the present, presenting a body of work that is shimmering, warm, intimate, and at times, profoundly heart-wrenching. Throughout her career, Clarke has been both a Rough Trade-signed artist and a BBC Radio 2 Folk Award-winner, two opposing poles that neatly sum up her inability to be pigeonholed. Parenthesis, I is a masterful journey through her personal and musical evolution, drawing influence from folk greats Nick Drake and Sandy Denny, as well as more contemporary artists like Julia jacklin, Courtney Marie Andrews, Anaïs Mitchell and Lucy Dacus.


    1.  Friendly Teeth
    2.  Spherical
    3.  Fear Of Falling
    4.  Do You Know Now
    5.  Looking Glass
    6.  Forbearing
    7.  Most Of All
    8.  Double-Edged Sword
    9.  Firecracker
    10.  Dead Woman’s Bones
    11.  The Calm
    12.  Parenthesis, I
    13.  Magic Somehow


    Point Clear

      “A superb band. One of the best in Britain.” - Stuart Maconie, BBC Radio 6

       “Candidate are Britain’s most tasteful, witty and thoughtful band. Joyous... splices Nick Drake’s pastoral euphoria with West Coast hippie harmonies... thrums like early Fairport Convention.” - Stewart Lee, Sunday Times Album Of The Week

      “Like Midlake’s ‘The Trials Of Van Occupanther’, the results blend ancient and modern sensibilities... A well-crafted, engrossing work of the imagination.” - The Independent

      “With their beautifully spun vocal harmonies, thoughtful lyrics and alluring melodies, the band recall the likes of Crosby Stills & Nash... while always keeping one foot in the ancient roots of Brit-folk.” - Uncut Magazine


      1. Come On
      2. Dolphin Racing
      3. Saturation
      4. Pepper's Ghost
      5. Jonathan
      6. Walk Aboard
      7. Bigger Than Us
      8. Widow's Penny
      9. Tom And Tracy
      10. Matsui Serenade
      11. Newfoundland (album Version)
      12. How To Never Die
      13. Stop


      Men Of The Cloth

        Recorded to mark the 30th Anniversary of their debut ‘Dad Man Cat’ and the follow-up ‘High Havoc’, Corduroy return with an new mini-album: ‘Men of the Cloth.’

        Sitting perfectly at the corded fringe between acid jazz and rising Britpop, Corduroy emerged in 1991 out of the ashes of cult band Boys Wonder, and made three increasingly brilliant albums on Acid Jazz. They also became one of the top live acts of their generation. After an 18-year hiatus, they returned with ‘Return of the Fabric Four in 2018, and remain a draw on the live circuit.

        Featuring the popular sides from last years limited-edition 7” single ‘No More Me Me Me’ and ‘Hypnotoad’, ‘Men of the Cloth’ features four new cuts from the same Corduroy cloth - a heady mix of swinging sixties soundtracks, pop art imagery and Jazz-Funk in equal measure. A must-have addition to one of the founding acts of Acid Jazz.

        Josienne Clarke


          In her own words, Josienne Clarke viewed her 2021 album – A Small Unknowable Thing – as a leap into the abyss. Finally free from the industry structure that had been built around her over the preceding decade and more, she released the album via her own label, Corduroy Punk Records, and handled every aspect of the album’s writing, recording, and release herself, on her own terms. Free from her previous role as one-half of a duo and losing the genre constraints she was quickly and lazily placed within, she came out of that chapter emboldened – but still not truly free.

          From her home on Scotland’s Isle of Bute, Josienne began thinking about the idea of reclamation. Cutting her teeth in an industry that so often works against the artist it's supposed to support – and with a lingering idea in the wake of Taylor Swift’s ‘Taylor’s Version’ project – Josienne began revisiting the songs in her back catalogue that felt buried somehow; that had never had the spotlight she felt they deserved, for myriad reasons.

          Onliness is both a wholesome project and a spellbinding work in its own right. Opening with one of her earliest compositions – ‘The Tangled Tree’ – and closed by a brand-new song, it presents a career retrospective viewed through a new lens. The album is comprised of reworked versions of fan favourites and hidden gems from a back catalogue that always glimmered, but this time they’re entirely hers, carrying everything from booming drums to intimate acoustic guitars, with Josienne's powerful yet, at times, fragile voice whispering and screaming straight into the listeners ear.


          Barry says: Warm, mildly distorted guitar plucks and Clarke's powerful vocals twist around each other in a hypnotic display of melodicism and drive. It's a testament to Clarke's songwriting skill that she can turn the tide of the groove in an instant, shifting into a woozy psychedelic redux. A wonderful rework of some of her classic pieces, and a great introduction for any new listeners.


          1. The Tangled Tree
          2. Only Me Only
          3. It Would Not Be A Rose
          4. Ghost Light
          5. Silverline
          6. Bells Ring
          7. Something Familiar
          8. The Birds
          9. Homemade Heartache
          10. Chicago
          11. Things I Didn’t Need
          12. Bathed In Light
          13. Anyone But Me
          14. I Never Learned French
          15. Done
          16. Workhorse
          17. Words Were Never The Answer 

          Josienne Clarke

          I Promised You Light

            ‘I Promised You Light’ follows on from Clarke’s critically acclaimed 2021 LP, A Small Unknowable Thing, an emotionally charged album bubbling with courage and defiance. 

            TRACK LISTING

            1. Where The Light Comes In
            2. Driving At Night
            3. You Know Me Better
            4. Workhorse
            5. I Promised You Light

            Josienne Clarke

            A Small Unknowable Thing

              For the first time since her early beginnings, Clarke is flying solo. No label, no musical partner, no producer. Clarke is in complete control of her songwriting, arranging, producing, release schedule and musical direction. While the themes might feel familiar to her fans, the musical journey will not, with Clarke taking in a wide range of new and diverse influences across the album – from Adrianne Lenker’s ‘Hours Were The Birds’, IDLES’ ‘Colossus’, Radiohead’s ‘Airbag’ to Phoebe Bridgers ‘Garden Song’ and more, the album’s touchstones span a vast musical collage of anger and hope. Lead single, ‘Sit Out’ is frustration and defiance in sonic form. “All you stand for / Makes me want to sit out” she sings over thick, driving guitars and an almost Beastie Boys-esque drum beat.

              STAFF COMMENTS

              Barry says: Josienne Clarke's new album manages to take a diverse range of influences and seamlessly integrate them into a beautifully accomplished whole. The more cavernous percussion and distorted guitars perfectly offset Clarke's haunting vocals in the more meditative pieces here. A wonderful collection.

              TRACK LISTING

              Super Recogniser
              Like This
              Never Lie
              If It’s Not
              Sit Out
              Sting My Heart
              The Collector
              Tiny Bit Of Life
              A Letter On A Page
              Deep Cut
              Out Loud

              Latest Pre-Sales

              189 NEW ITEMS

              E-newsletter —
              Sign up
              Back to top