Search Results for:



See Those Colours Fly

    The songs of See Those Colours Fly possess a hallucinogenic and dreamlike quality - coloured by ineffable magic but always guided by hooks. The album is firmly in the grand tradition of Breathless music - epic, ethereal, otherworldly - The result is perhaps the most perfectly distilled album of the group's career. Mixed by Kramer.

    "When Dominic Appleton sang on 4AD's This Mortal Coil projects, his regal voice was arguably the most admired of that era..." UNCUT ****


    Between Happiness And Heartache

      30th anniversary deluxe edition on Heartache Pink vinyl, in luxurious gatefold sleeve, plus inner bag with with previously unavailable portraits of the band by Kevin Westenberg. Includes download with bonus track, Everything I See.

      "Without exaggeration Dominic Appleton is by far, my favourite living male vocalist. He has such a beautiful, sad voice and comes up with melodies that do the same." Ivo Watts-Russell. 


      Blue Moon

        Blue Moon includes tracks mixed by Victor Van Vugt - best known for his work with Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds and PJ Harvey - and Drostan Madden best known for his work with The Cocteau Twins. Breathless' singer Dominic Appleton contributed lead vocals to 3 tracks on This Mortal Coil's 'Filigree And Shadow' which resulted in Ivo Watts Russell helping with the tracklisting on Breathless' 2012 album Green To Blue and leading him to proclaim 2Without exaggeration Dominic Appleton is by far, my favourite living male vocalist. He has such a beautiful, sad voice and comes up with melodies that do the same".

        Originally only released as a 50 minute CD in jewel case. Blue Moon is now available both as a Double Vinyl LP in lavish gatefold sleeve and also as a Double CD in a mini gatefold version of the LP.

        Both formats include the extra tracks 'Moonstone 3' and 'Blue Moon', previously (despite the latter's title), only available as obscure B Sides.

        'Exquisite Melancholic indie pop.' THE GUARDIAN. 
        'A Lovely tearful noise' THE TIMES. 
        'The group shimmer darkly' THE OBSERVER.
        'Desolate romanticism... Outstanding' THE WIRE. 
        'Melancholy Delights' TIME OUT. 


        Green To Blue

          Godfathers of Space Rock Melancholia, Breathless return with 'Green To Blue', eleven bittersweet songs of love and loss, including three songs mixed by Kramer, best known for his work with The Butthole Surfers, Galaxie 500 and Low. And with additional guidance from Ivo Watts-Russell, who Dominic Appleton worked with as a featured singer on This Mortal Coil's 'Filigree And Shadow'.

          'Green To Blue' also features original Breathless drummer Tristram Latimer Sayer and backing vocals from fellow This Mortal Coil contributor Heidi Berry.

          Available as an eleven track double album on vinyl and CD, both in lavish gatefold sleeves, 'Green To Blue' is Breathless', melancholy masterpiece, their 'Only The Lonely', or 'Pink Moon', exquisitely sad, and sweetly maudlin, brimming with love lost laments.

          'Green To Blue' harks back to the sound of classic Breathless, with layers of vocals enveloped in reverb, floating over walls of echoed guitars and rumbling drums, traces of Barrett era Pink Floyd interwoven with fragments of Eno, Joy Division and early 4AD. Yet this is very much the sound of 2012. Dominic Appleton's voice of a fallen angel, totally unique in it's breathtaking beauty. The colour washes and explosive post rock soundscapes now interspersed with dreamy shoe-gaze pop songs, twangy guitar and swooning E Bow.

          Just In

          124 NEW ITEMS

          Latest Pre-Sales

          155 NEW ITEMS

          E-newsletter —
          Sign up
          Back to top