Search Results for:


Produced in collaboration with Jessy Lanza, Paul White, Greg Abrahams and regular collaborator Joe Brown, Lapsley’s third album is an intimate but universal exploration of those Cautionary Tales that - eventually - may also prove the making of you.

As eclectic as it is unguarded, the album is a form of therapy in the truest sense: a talking cure and a hauntingly beautiful confession, resulting in a thrilling yet soulful work of love, loss and growth.


Barry says: Throbby bass, sleek vocals and sidechained synth sweeps are exactly what you'd expect from Lapsley but 'Cautionary Tales' runs effortlessly through the fringes of bass music, R&B and modern IDM as well as the perfectly accomplished sleek synth-pop we've come to know and love. The vocals here are vocoded and twisted around the instrumentals, sometimes unrecognisably but always with a keen ear on production. Lovely.


1. 32 Floors
2. Hotel Corridors
3. Paradise
4. Close To Heaven
5. Dial Two Seven
6. Nightingale
7. War And Peace
8. Levitate
9. Smoke And Fire
10. Pandora's Box
11. Lifeline
12. Say I'm What You Need

The album was written during a year spent touring incessantly and playing festivals across the world. It was recorded this summer at the Funkhaus in Berlin – a building with the same otherworldly weirdness as Breton's beloved creative HQ, The Lab in South London, which was demolished last summer to make way for luxury flats.

Breton also employed the services of the Macedonian Radio Symphonic Orchestra who appear on five tracks throughout the album. The band recorded the tracks earmarked for orchestration on a laptop, translated them into sheet music and flew to Macedonia where the 44 piece orchestra then played them live in the studio. The stunning results can be heard on 'Envy', 'Closed Category', 'Legs and Arms', 'S Four' and 'War Room Stories'.


S Four
Legs & Arms
Got Well Soon
Closed Category
National Grid
Search Party
302 Watch Towers
Fifteen Minutes

Just In


Latest Pre-Sales


E-newsletter —
Sign up
Back to top