Giant Sand


Image of Giant Sand - Ramp
Record Label
Fire Records

About this item

A Deluxe remastered edition of Giant Sand’s 1991 album ‘Ramp’ with a second disc featuring the Mad Dog sessions from earlier that same year. “Convertino's brush-work and Burns' upright bass provide the perfect foundation for Gelb's parched voice and chaotic guitar, and guests include Rainer, Victoria Williams and country veteran Pappy Allen. It’s one of Giant Sand's strongest and most complete albums.” The Quietus // Featuring piano lounge music for an off-world colony interrupted by an onslaught of guitar when needed, it’s light and dark and the better for it, a musical journey on a road less travelled. With Gelb’s lyrical invention to the fore: “His thoughts unfold in long, rolling sentences that don't always follow conventional rules of grammar or syntax.” The Quietus // The Tucson sound at it very best.


Disc 1

1 Warm Storm
2 Romance Of Falling
3 Wonder
4 Welcome To My World
5 AntiShadow
6 Neon Filler
7 Jazzer Snipe
8 Z.Z. Quicker Foot
9 Seldom Matters
10 Resolver
11 Nowhere
12 Always Horses Coming
13 Patsy's Blues

Disc 2 - Live At Mad Dog Studios – 30th January 1991:

1 Back To The Black And Grey
2 Trickle Down System
3 Bible Black, Book II
4 Still Too Far
5 Romance Of Falling
6 Can’t Find Love
7 Shadow To You

Back to top