Giant Sand


Image of Giant Sand - Glum
Record Label
Fire Records

About this item

A conceptual masterpiece, complete with a second disc capturing a classic KCRW Morning Becomes Eclectic session just prior to the original album’s release in 1994, plus five bonus tracks available for digital download. An epic windswept desert dry encounter with one of America’s greatest bands that traverses genres and styles to create a complete masterpiece. “While the guitars still squall and roar, they're used more sparingly, erupting to devastating effect in gloomy, low-key songs.” The Quietus // Emotional and uplifting, and always thought provoking, the band’s line up of Howe Gelb, latter day Calexico’s Joey Burns and John Convertino are joined by Victoria Williams, Pete Holsapple, Chris Cacavas, Pappy Allen and Lisa Germano, the whole shebang produced by Daniel Lanois protégé Malcolm Burn. “Giant Sand move to the darker side of their emotional stew. Within is jazz, country, folk, blues even Glam, we’re led to believe the mainstay is downbeat but the result is monumental


A1 Glum
A2 Yer Ropes
A3 Happenstance
A4 Frontage Road
A5 Painted Bird

B1 1 Helvakowboy Song
B2 Spun
B3 Left
B4 Faithful
B5 Bird Song
B6 I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry

C1 World Stands Still – KCRW SESSION
C2 I Wish You Love - KCRW SESSION
C3 Interview - KCRW SESSION
C4 Lester Lampshade - KCRW SESSION

D1 Get To Leave - KCRW SESSION
D3 I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry - KCRW SESSION
D4 Interview - KCRW SESSION
D5 Instrumental - KCRW SESSION

Back to top