Search Results for:


Kaidi Tatham

It Never Stops

Imagine a held-up-in-traffic Wayne Shorter arriving late to a Weather Report studio session and Joe Zawinul, Victor Bailey, and Omar Hakim filling in the time by jamming on a grooving house cut. Had that happened, it might have sounded a little bit like “It Never Stops,” one of two ultra-fresh tracks on Kaidi Tatham's Yore debut. Jazz and house are obviously distinct genres, yet as this irresistible cut makes clear, swing is common to both. The other track, the cerebrally titled “One For The Brain,” locates itself closer to house music proper but is no less appealing for doing so.

Given the jazzy vibe of “It Never Stops,” it's fitting that Benji B once deemed Tatham the 'Herbie Hancock of the United Kingdom.' Regarded as one of the originators of the broken beat sound, the UK-based multi-instrumentalist has worked with many an artist, from Bugz In The Attic and The Herbaliser to DJ Jazzy Jeff, and his session work credits list Slum Village, Amy Winehouse, Soul II Soul, and others. His own discography includes EPs and releases for labels such as 2000 Black, First World Records, Theo Parrish's Sound Signature, Eglo Records, and now, of course, Yore.

“It Never Stops” rolls in on a wave of silky synthesizer textures and percolating precision with a tight, funky groove that instantly pulls you into its velvety world. Triangles, electric bass, and clavinet add collective radiance to the material as the tune struts its way into your psyche. As if to make the jazz connection even more explicit, Tatham works an acoustic piano solo into the cut's second half before shifting focus back to the groove for the coda. “One for the Brain,” by comparison, digs into its chugging house pulse with fervour whilst also sweetening the arrangement with painterly synth flourishes. This one charges with breathless determination and like “It Never Stops” nods in jazz's direction with the inclusion of a freewheeling piano solo. Every minute and second on this strictly limited 12“ release seems meaningful. 


Matt says: Masterful broken beats by the don Kaidi Tatham. His first for the Yore label and a real doozy of a double header. One side revelling in organic, jazzy instrumentation while the other dives headfirst into tweakin' electronics - retaining that familiar bump and glide this prolific producer has nurtured through the years.


A1. It Never Stops
B1. One For The Brain 

Jordan Fields ropes in some help from his close-knit Chicagoan community for a thoroughly delightful excursion into pure house music for the lastest release on long standing imprint, Yore.

SIX tracks (count 'em!) meaning there's plenty wriggle for your wonga on this 12"! All of it leaning on the deep, tribal and slightly jazzy - it's wraught with the spirit of house music through and through with dreamy organ licks, frenetic percussion, warm bass and insurmountable energy.

Pressed nice and crisp and loud as per the Yore standard, six fresh joints to rock out in the club or the house party. 


Matt says: Inflation busting value from JF and friends with a LONG playing house EP that offers pure wriggle for your wonga! Five tracks - over half an hour run time - that's half a headline set at THP covered in one record!


A1. DUBrazil – Untitled 1 07:10
A2. DUBrazil – Untitled 2 07:34

B1. Jordan Fields – Wanna Feel The Music (Piano Mix) 05:39
B2. Tracky Disco – Keep It Going 05:15
B3. Afrolectro – Needs Love 06:20

Latest Pre-Sales


E-newsletter —
Sign up
Back to top