Search Results for:




    Ponyland are a psychedelic punk, force of nature, a multi-limbed monster of scuzzed-out riffs and thunderous ritualistic grooves. Combining the grinding onslaught of Lightning Bolt, the ecstatic spectacle of Sun Ra and the irreverent spirit of System of a Down, this unhinged, masked menagerie have to be seen to be believed. Intoxicating rhythms meet hook driven waves of riffage, with ecstatic energy that will make your legs rattle uncontrollably.

    Following on from their debut album Mora Mora, this new full length LP HARE BRAINS sees Ponyland embrace a new edge to their visionary sound world. Keeping the trademark, pulverising double drum kit engine and fuzz-drenched psychedelic soundscapes, the band have supercharged their songwriting with focused riff-based hooks and driving punk-edged vigour. Prominent female vocals channel Bikini Kill and Warpaint, whilst gritty, melted electronics flow around a classic thrashing guitar sound. Hare Brains is a celebration of dysfunction, a call to arms against human apathy, a psychotropic odyssey of eroded power structures, post-apocalyptic landscapes and mutant pigeons.

    The anarchic pagan ecology of Ponyland’s vision grabs the listener and catapults them into a visceral NOW, full of defiant life, movement, and human connection.


    A SIDE
    1. The Zone
    2. Giant Mutant Pigeon
    3. Happy Hare Core
    4. Ritual

    B SIDE
    5. Chum
    6. Do It All Again
    7. Washer Spacer
    8. Dysfunctional

    Ivan The Tolerable

    Wild Nature!

      Ivan The Tolerable is the alter ego solo project of Middlesbrough based musical wizard Oli Heffernan. Aside from his solo work as ITT, Oli has played in numerous bands over the years including Year Of Birds, King Champion Sounds with members of the Ex, Detective Instinct, and Shrug, and has collaborated with icons like Mike Watts of the Minutemen, and J Mascis of Dinosaur Jr.

      Ivan The Tolerable started by accident in 2013 when Heffernan recorded a bunch of songs for his band at the time (Year Of Birds). These were a bit too left-field for a speedy garage band, so Oli decided to put them out on tape himself, and hasn’t looked back since with releases on Up In Her Room, Stolen Body Records and Library of the Occult to name just a few.

      We are delighted to bring you our next entry from the Ivan The Tolerable archive reissue series, 2019’s ‘Wild Nature!’ Originally released on CD by Ack Ack Ack Records back in 2019, the album has now been remastered and repackaged, and will be released on super ltd edition orange wax. Here’s a bit about the album in Oli’s own words.

      ‘Wild Nature was originally recorded sporadically during the first half of 2019. It started life in one house, then I moved and it was finished in another. I remember screenprinting the original CD artwork on the sly at my old job during my lunch breaks and hand-assembled a small run of about 50 that are all long gone. I also remember walking around Albert Park early one morning in thick fog with a field recorder to capture the sounds that were then processed to form 23 Minutes Over Albert Park (condensed to 4 mins for the reissue due to time constraints). I think this was also the last album I recorded vocals on and also the last one I recorded completely by myself - all instruments, recording, mixing, mastering and artwork done by me at home. I know the first and last tracks were recorded as a birthday present for someone but I cant remember much about the other songs i'm afraid - 4 years is a long time in my speedy world. I've been asked a bunch over the years about a vinyl edition of this one - so here it is. Enjoy - especially everything that went through the delay pedal, which is sadly no longer with us.’
      Oli Heffernan,
      Jan 2024


      A SIDE
      1. Queen Of Quilts
      2. The Contrarian
      3. Black Ink

      B SIDE
      1. The Cat Song
      2. 4 Minutes Over Albert Park
      3. Rubbing Teeth
      4. Queen Of Baths

      Snakes Don’t Belong In Alaska

      Navegando Al Paraiso

        Snakes Don't Belong In Alaska have firmly established themselves as a prominent force in the underground UK psych scene, sharing the stage with some of the biggest names in the current generation of psych rock. Notably, they collaborated on a mesmerising album with the legendary Japanese psych artist, Junzo Suzuki, and have had the privilege of performing alongside esteemed bands like Hawklords, 10000 Russos, and The Myrrors, among others.

        Originating from the vibrant city of Newcastle upon Tyne, SDBIA embraces an experimental genre non-conforming psych style, blending elements of stoner, kosmische, space rock, prog, and post rock. This captivating fusion of sounds creates a unique musical experience that continues to captivate audiences far and wide.

        Their latest offering ‘Navegando Al Paraiso’ sees a slight change of pace from the band, but none less potent. As we’ve now become accustomed to with SDBIA, the band invite you on a transcendent musical journey, effortlessly blending psychedelic rock with waves of folk and post-rock. This album immerses listeners in a dreamscape where ethereal melodies ebb and flow like the tides. Each track evokes a sense of wanderlust, drawing inspiration from timeless musical traditions while pushing the boundaries of sonic exploration. Snakes Don't Belong in Alaska paint an otherworldly soundscape that invites you to lose yourself in the euphoria of musical and introspective discovery.


        A SIDE
        1. First Breath Of Paradise
        2. Eternal Sunday

        B SIDE
        1. The Worship Of An Orange Sky God
        2. My Void Is Full Of Colour

        Latest Pre-Sales

        155 NEW ITEMS

        E-newsletter —
        Sign up
        Back to top