Search Results for:


Turin Brakes

Wide-Eyed Nowhere

    Wide Eyed Nowhere is Turin Brakes’ ninth full studio album, a set of new songs emerging 21 years after their seminal debut. It's no easy feat maintaining an optimistic attitude through the turbulence of the years, but the band found their own method down in deepest Tooting to produce this lean, bittersweet collection.


    1. When You're Around
    2. Up For Grabs
    3. World Like That
    4. Into The Sun
    5. The Ride
    6. Isolation
    7. This Love
    8. Rain And Hurricanes
    9. Solid Ground
    10. Wide-Eyed Nowhere
    11. No Rainbow

    Turin Brakes

    The Optimist - 20th Anniversary Edition

      Turin Brakes critically acclaimed debut album ‘The Optimist LP’ gets the re-issue treatment to celebrate its 20th Anniversary

      The ground breaking long player, originally released in 2001 features classic tracks such as ‘Underdog (Save Me)’, ’The Door' and ‘Feeling Oblivion’.
      ’The Optimist LP’ will be re-released on Deluxe 2LP & 2CD on Two-Piers, a new Brighton label, now with a Bonus album of ‘Demos’ from the original sessions and New Artwork. The Album has been out of print on Vinyl for many years now.

      Press for The Optimist LP:

      Drowned in Sound - 'The Optimist LP' is a quite stunningly beautiful record.

      NME - It’s one of those albums. Like ‘Parachutes’, for some, we suppose. But then listening to Coldplay instead of Turin Brakes is like the [I]Almost Famous[/I] generation choosing Don McLean over Tim Buckley. One’s comforting, familiar, pretty; the other strikes at your soul. And it’s a special kind of record which can encourage [I]and[/I] soundtrack such introspection, without losing its edge to indulgent miserabilism

      Pitchfork - Olly Knights' vocals mix Jeff Buckley moan and Marc Bolan hiss. The songs are simple, emotional, and earnest…., and they're laden with Everly Brothers harmonies 


      A1 Feeling Oblivion
      A2 Underdog (Save Me)
      A3 Emergency 72
      A4 Future Boy
      A5 The Door
      A6 State Of Things
      B1 By TV Light
      B2 Slack
      B3 Starship
      B4 The Road
      B5 Mind Over Money
      B6 The Optimist
      C1 Feeling Oblivion - Demo
      C2 Underdog (Save Me) - Demo
      C3 Emergency 72 - Demo
      C4 Future Boy -Original Version.
      C5 The Door - Original Version
      C6 State Of Things - Demo
      D1 By TV Light - Original Version
      D2 Slack - Demo
      D3 Starship - Demo
      D4 The Road - Demo
      D5 Mind Over Money- Demo
      D6 The Optimist – Demo

      1 Feeling Oblivion
      2 Underdog (Save Me)
      3 Emergency 72
      4 Future Boy
      5 The Door
      6 State Of Things
      7 By TV Light
      8 Slack
      9 Starship
      10 The Road
      11 Mind Over Money
      12 The Optimist
      1 Feeling Oblivion - Demo
      2 Underdog (Save Me) - Demo
      3 Emergency 72 - Demo
      4 Future Boy -Original Version.
      5 The Door - Original Version
      6 State Of Things - Demo
      7 By TV Light - Original Version
      8 Slack - Demo
      9 Starship - Demo
      10 The Road - Demo
      11 Mind Over Money- Demo
      12 The Optimist – Demo

      Turin Brakes

      Invisible Storm

        After an impressive 17 years together, seven studio albums and over a million records sold worldwide, they might be excused a bit of downtime. But no… the London 4-piece Turin Brakes have announced their eighth studio album ‘Invisible Storm’ coming in January 2018 on Cooking Vinyl, followed by a major UK tour. 2016 saw them back lighting up the airwaves with national radio playlisting for three singles from critically acclaimed album ‘Lost Property’ coupled with a packed schedule of touring. Yet all along the way new material kept bubbling through. New songs kept popping up, in soundchecks. Light-bulb moments materialised in midnight sessions in hotel rooms or in any spare moments found. Invisible Storm is big-picture music played on a small screen, refracted through lyrics that embrace the personal and the universal, without offering the comfort of easy answers. Formed in Balham South London, Turin Brakes released their Mercury Music Prize nominated debut album The Optimist in 2001 followed by Ether Song in 2003 which featured the top 5 hit single Pain Killer (Summer Rain). One of the finest indie bands of the last decade with 7 top 40 hits to their name Turin Brakes are a band that’s weathered many Invisible Storms, that are sure of who they are and what they’ve set out to do, and know that there’s always a story left to tell…


        1. Would You Be Mine
        2. Wait
        3. Always
        4. Lost In The Woods
        5. Deep Sea Diver
        6. Life Forms
        7. Invisible Storm
        8. Everything All At Once
        9. Tomorrow
        10. Smoke And Mirrors
        11. Don’t Know Much

        Turin Brakes

        Lost Property

          A collection of dispatches from the elusive side of reality that’s just a twist away from the everyday, Lost Property features the band’s trademark West-Coast acoustic guitar and widescreen harmony textures. Listen carefully beneath the lush, cinematic production the band created with co-conspirator Ali Staton (Madonna, La Roux) in the analogue world of Rockfields’ legendary studio; and you’ll hear other hints and stories, both hopeful and unsettling, resonating with unexpected echoes from your own life.

          The record scales up from the intimacy of Martini, through the uneasy domesticity of Quiet Ones, the futuristic pulse of 96, the yearning gospel inflections of Save You hurtling towards the towering darkness of epic finale Black Rabbit. There’s the intimacy and warmth that Turin Brakes have taken along with them down the years, but this time reaching up towards something bigger, more epic in scope and darker in hue. It’s a sound yearning for the wide open spaces of the USA but rooted in the grimy streets of South London, still unique, still unforgettable.

          How many pundits frantically casting their runes back in 1999 for predictions for the new millennium would have foreseen that Turin Brakes would be releasing their seventh studio album in 2016? Back then, they were hotly-tipped young ingénues, and we all know what usually happens to them in the heartless world of showbiz….While many of the rest of the class of 2000 seem forever frozen into the faces in their yearbook pictures, Turin Brakes are still making their way through the century’s changing landscape.


          1: 96
          2: Keep Me Around
          3: The Quiet Ones
          4: Lost Property
          5: Rome
          6: Brighter Than The Dark
          7: Save You
          8: Martini
          9: Jump Start
          10: Hope We Make It
          11: Black Rabbit

          Turin Brakes

          We Were Here

            We Were Here, the bands sixth album, was recorded at Rockfield Studios and engineered and mixed by Ali Staton (Rufus Wainwright / Madonna / Tricky) and produced by Turin Brakes and Ali Staton.

            Latest Pre-Sales

            241 NEW ITEMS

            E-newsletter —
            Sign up
            Back to top