Search Results for:


Mark Knight / Green Velvet / James Hurr

The Greatest Thing Alive / Lady (Hear Me Tonight)

Chicago legend, Green Velvet, returns to Toolroom as he locks horns with label founder Mark Knight and studio partner, James Hurr, for 'The Greatest Thing Alive'. A low slung, chunky affair that screams Miami Space terrace at 8am! Quirky, full of character and Green Velvets unmistakable vocal re-work of the classic 'Mannish Boy' from Muddy Waters pushes this record into a really special place. Green Velvet debuted on the label back in 2015 alongside Technasia with 'Suga', a record that went onto to be an overall Beatport #1 and remained as their highest selling track for many years that followed, the track also sits on an impressive 9m streams. On the flipside, head honcho Mark Knight, returns with studio cohort and DJs favourite James Hurr, as they take on one of House music's all-time classic records; 'Lady (Hear Me Tonight)'. No messing around, Mark and James offer up an alternative take to this stone cold classic, bringing the infectious vocal and iconic guitar riff to the forefront, mixing into a signature Mark Knight club heavy beat. Having previously collaborated on 'Make You Happy' with Todd Terry and last year's 'You Are A God' with vocalist Cari Golden, Mark Knight and James Hurr are fast becoming a killer duo in the studio, and throughout the scene. Offering up a killer reinterpretation of legendary House classic 'Lady (Hear Me Tonight)' by French House duo Modjo, a record which transcended the boundaries of dance music back in the early 2000's and has since become a record synonymous with the era. True to form, Mark Knight and James Hurr mix their musical prowess together and deliver yet another stomping hit for the clubs!


Matt says: Phwooaaarr!! Take it to the terraces and the super clubs with two stonkingly large main roomers. Hard to pick a fave - whether its the monumental deep chug of "The Greatest Thing Alive" or the rattling refix of "Lady" - both are gonna blow the roof off!


A1. The Greatest Thing Alive
B1. Lady (Hear Me Tonight)

Toolroom provide the hotly anticipated return of renowned Glaswegian artist KC Lights, as he delivers yet another classic record in the making – 'Better Times', featuring the stunning voice of Merseyside-hailing Låpsley. A debut collaboration for the pair, as they drop a sweet cut of Disco infused House that will undoubtedly soundtrack the year. A label favourite in every sense of the word, KC Lights is most-known for his 2020 smash-hit 'Girl', a record you couldn't switch off from throughout that summer, followed up by his classy cut 'Cold Light' the following year with reputable vocalist and songwriter Leo Stannard, who also appeared on his summertime anthem 'Daydreamer'. If there's one thing KC Lights can do time and time again, it's writing infectiously catchy, timeless records that you'll hear almost anywhere you go, from underground clubs to radio stations and beyond. Featuring on the record is critically acclaimed vocalist and songwriter Låpsley, who rose to fame back in 2016 with her debut LP 'The Long Way Home' on the legendary XL Recordings. Of course, you can't forget DJ Koze's massive disco edit of 'Operator', which shot Låpsley through the stratosphere. With a string of huge hits and a voice to match, KC Lights and Låpsley come together on 'Better Times', offering three different mixes for this exclusive vinyl package.

Countless radio plays on Radio 1 from Danny Howard, Sarah Story, Pete Tong Other notable radio plays – Kiss FM, Toolroom Radio, Sirius XM, Data Transmission Radio, Radio 1 Dance Anthems, Radio 1 Party Anthems, Rinse FM, Select Radio, Tomorrowland Radio


A1. Better Times (Extended Club Edit)
B1. Better Times (Extended Mix)
B2. Better Times (Extended Dub Mix)

Next up on Toolroom’s 4-track vinyl sampler series, we welcome LA based DJ and producer Noizu to the label, debuting with his remix of Mark Knight, Green Velvet and Rene Amesz – ‘Live Stream’. Diving deep and pulling up a Toolroom classic from the 2016 archives, Noizu delivers a powerful rendition of ‘Live Stream’, ramping up the energy of the original to a whole new level, cutting it fresh for dance floors in 2023.

Next up and landing back on the firm during our 20th birthday celebrations is none other than Danny Howard, who returns to the label with a beefed up edit of a Toolroom classic – ‘Hear What They Hear’ by Adrian Hour. A secret weapon for DJs worldwide, released back in 2016 on Adrian Hour’s ‘Like This’ Ep, this B side became an unlikely hero that still gets hammered today by the likes of John Summit and Eats Everything. After doing the rounds at Glastonbury festival this year and beyond, Danny's update has turned one record with a solid dance floor reputation into a certified slammer!

Next up, we’ve got an absolute belter of a record from two renowned producers in the scene: Watermät And Raumakustik, with their debut collaboration ‘Out Of My Head’. Merging each artist’s signature sounds together, from Raumakustik’s solid production skills to Watermät’s penchant for locking in quirky and catchy vocal hooks, ‘Out Of My Head’ is a certified dancefloor weapon in the making.

Last but not least, is another label debut from London based DJ and producer, deeper purpose, who’s landing with a huge tech house roller, ‘The Stutter’. An artist creating shockwaves across the dance music spectrum, deeper purpose is fast becoming a familiar name in the dance sphere having earned a solid reputation as a producer with killer releases on highly regarded imprints such as off the grid, catch & release and repopulate mars. A staple record in all his performances, ‘The Stutter’ has shaken dancefloors all over the world, from EDC Vegas to Club Space Miami, to Ministry Of Sound London and beyond!


A1. Mark Knight, Green Velvet, Rene Amesz - Live Stream (Noizu Extended Mix)
A2. Adrian Hour - Hear What They Hear (Danny Howard Extended Re-Edit)
B1. Watermat, Raumakustik - Out Of My Head
B2. Deeper Purpose - The Stutter

Next up on Toolroom’s 4-track vinyl sampler series is a juicy selection of the hottest new releases from 2023. Long-standing member of the toolroom family, Martin Ikin lays down an absolute stomper on with ‘Oscill8’. German DJ and production duo Raumakustik and French DJ and producer Tony Romera, land with their deep club weapon ‘That Groove’.

One of dance music’s hottest acts right now Low Steppa, drops his seriously exciting debut collaboration with label favourite Crusy - ‘BFG’. Rounding off the package is another main label debut from eden Prince who arrives with new single, ‘Get Down’.


A1. Martin Ikin - Oscill8
A2. Raumakustik, Tony Romera - That Groove
B1. Low Steppa, Crusy - BFG
B2. Eden Prince - Get Down

Latest Pre-Sales


E-newsletter —
Sign up
Back to top