Search Results for:


Jonathan Richman And The Modern Lovers

Back In Your Life - 2024 Reissue

    Back in Your Life was released in 1979 under the Jonathan Richman & The Modern Lovers moniker, but only half the album featured the backup band. The other half of the album features Richman as a solo artist. The Modern Lovers were formed by Richman and included Leroy Radcliffe on guitar, Asa Brebner on bass and Denotra 'D' Sharpe on drums. Occasionally, they were joined by Richman's friend and The Real Kids' band leader John Felice.

    Jonathan Richman & The Modern Lovers

    Jonathan Richman & The Modern Lovers - 2023 Reissue

      Born in Natick, Massachusetts, singer, songwriter, and guitarist Jonathan Richman began playing music and writing his own songs in the mid-60s. While in Boston, Richman formed the Modern Lovers, a proto-punk garage rock band. Other notable members of the group were keyboard player Jerry Harrison and drummer David Robinson, who later joined Talking Heads and the Cars, respectively.

      In 1975, Richman moved to California to record as a solo singer/songwriter. In January 1976, Richman put together a new version of the Modern Lovers, which included original Modern Lovers drummer David Robinson, along with former Rubinoos bassist Greg 'Curly' Keranen, and Leroy Radcliffe on guitar. The album Jonathan Richman And The Modern Lovers was released in May 1976, three months prior to the earlier Modern Lovers sessions which were released as their eponymous self-titled debut studio album.


      Side A
      1. Rockin' Shopping Center
      2. Back In The U.S.A.
      3. Important In Your Life
      4. New England
      5. Lonely Financial Zone

      Side B
      1. Hi Dear
      2. Abominable Snowman In The Market
      3. Hey There Little Insect
      4. Here Come The Martian Martians
      5. Springtime
      6. Amazing Grace

      The Modern Lovers

      Rock 'N' Roll With The Modern Lovers - 2023 Reissue

        Rock 'n Roll With The Modern Lovers is the second album released by The Modern Lovers. The band was formed in 1970 by singer, songwriter, and guitarist Jonathan Richman, augmented with Jerry Harrison (keyboards), Ernie Brooks (bass), and David Robinson (drums). Richman's friend John Felice joined them occasionally. Their sound almost totally focusses on the sound from the Fifties. The lo-fi record breathes folky roots music and rock 'n roll as it would sound ages ago. The album features the popular tracks "Ice Cream Man", "Roller Coaster By The Sea", and "Egyptian Reggae". The latter was a cover version of Earl Zero "None Shall Escape The Judgement" and became a UK Top 5 hit.


        Side A
        1. The Sweeping Wind (Kwa Ti Feng)
        2. Ice Cream Man
        3. Rockin' Rockin' Leprechauns
        4. Summer Morning
        5. Afternoon
        6. Fly Into The Mystery

        Side B
        1. South American Folk Song
        2. Roller Coaster By The Sea
        3. Dodge Veg-O-Matic
        4. Egyptian Reggae
        5. Coomyah
        6. The Wheels On The Bus
        7. Angels Watching Over Me

        Jonathan Richman & The Modern Lovers

        Modern Lovers Live

          The first live release from the There’s Something About Mary star, recorded at the Hammersmith Odeon Co-Produced by Beserkley Records founder Matthew King Kauffman and pop-legend and Rock ‘n’ Roll Hall Of Famer, Kenny Laguna Available CD & LP, with an exclusive yellow colour variant for Independent Retail While the U.S. might not have caught on to the magic of Jonathan Richman, the U.K. certainly did. Recorded at the Hammersmith Odeon, ‘Live’features Jonathan and the Modern Lovers performing classics from their first two releases to an enthusiastic crowd. (The eight-minute version of “Ice Cream Man” should inform that!) The set includes the recent Top 5 single “Egyptian Reggae,” as well as tracks from the Modern Lovers’ previously releases and new tracks. Captured on tape by Beserkley founder Matthew King Kauffman and Kenny Laguna (whose rock pedigree runs from Buddah Records through Joan Jett’s biggest hits)‘Live’ is a true, time and place document of the magic that is Jonathan Richman. The performer who The Farrelly Brothers chose to include in their classic 1198 film There’s Something About Mary, rather than simple licensing his music. A pivotal release in Richman’s catalog, ‘Live’ spotlights how captivating a performer he was, and continues to be.


          1. I’m A Little Ariplane
          2. Hey There Little Insect
          3. Egyptian Reggae
          4. Ice Cream Man
          5. I’m A Little Dinasaur
          6. My Little Kookenhaken
          7. South American Folk Song
          8. New England
          9. The Morning Of Our Lives

          Latest Pre-Sales

          113 NEW ITEMS

          E-newsletter —
          Sign up
          Back to top