Search Results for:


The Dream Syndicate

What Can I Say? No Regrets... Out Of The Grey + Live, Demos & Outtakes

    The Dream Syndicate’s 1986 album is back on CD for the first time in 24 years. Hidden inside of ‘Out of the Grey’ are some of Steve Wynn’s strongest songs - “Slide Away” is delightful pop, “Now I Ride Alone” is moody and intense “like the hardboiled typewriting of novelists Jim Thompson, Ross MacDonald, and James Cain” that Wynn dug back in July ‘85. The epic “Boston” imagines the era in which Van Morrison was holed-up in that city circa 1967-68 writing the songs that comprised Astral Weeks while “50 in a 25 Zone” is a vehicle for a band-driven, slow burn groove.

    Deliciously remastered with new liner notes from the band’s historian Pat Thomas, the package compiles 51 songs spread across 3 CDs, including a previously unreleased live album (from July 1985) and many unreleased demos and out-takes. The deluxe reissue also features interviews with Steve Wynn, Mark Walton, Paul Cutler, and Dennis Duck - plus plenty of rare photos.

    Discs 2 and 3 reveal a wealth of unreleased material – including a never-before-heard July 1985 live album which has the ‘balls to the wall’ energy hard not captured in the studio. The songs were so fresh on that July night - they had not been recorded in the studio yet. On Disc 3, you’ll hear alternate versions of several Out of the Grey songs recorded as ‘demos’ before the album versions. These studio versions also have the raw energy of the live show, plus the band plays rare cover versions by Pink Floyd, Cream, Santana, Green on Red, Alice Cooper, Temptations, and Dolly Parton.

    51 songs including 34 never-before heard Dream Syndicate recordings – released under the title of: What Can I Say? no regrets... Out of the Grey + live, demos & outtakes… in other words, you need this!


    Disc 1 – Out Of The Grey
    1 Out Of The Grey
    2 Forest For The Trees
    3 50 In A 25 Zone
    4 Boston
    5 Blood Money
    6 Slide Away
    7 Dying Embers
    8 Now I Ride Alone
    9 Drinking Problem
    10 Dancing Blind
    11 You Can't Forget
    12 Let It Rain
    13 Cinnamon Girl
    14 Ballad Of Dwight Frye
    15 Shake Your Hips
    16 I Won't Forget
    17 The Lonely Bull

    Disc 2 - Live At Scorgies NY, 1985
    1 Out Of The Grey (Live At Scorgies NY, 1985)
    2 50 In A 25 Zone (Live At Scorgies NY, 1985)
    3 That's What You Always Say (Live At Scorgies NY, 1985)
    4 Slide Away (Live At Scorgies NY, 1985)
    5 Dancing Blind (Live At Scorgies NY, 1985)
    6 Blood Money (Live At Scorgies NY, 1985)
    7 Dying Embers (Live At Scorgies NY, 1985)
    8 It Hits You Again (Live At Scorgies NY, 1985)
    9 Now I Ride Alone (Live At Scorgies NY, 1985)
    10 John Coltrane Stereo Blues (Live At Scorgies NY, 1985)
    11 Still Holding Onto You (Live At Scorgies NY, 1985)
    12 When You Smile (Live At Scorgies NY, 1985)
    13 Days Of Wine And Roses (Live At Scorgies NY, 1985)

    Disc 3 - Odds & Sods
    1 Here On Earth As Well (Demo, 1985)
    2 Dancing Blind (Demo, 1985)
    3 Blood Money (Demo, 1985)
    4 Dying Embers (Demo, 1985)
    5 Slide Away (Demo, 1985)
    6 It Hits You Again (Demo, 1985)
    7 Now I Ride Alone (Demo, 1985)
    8 Eighteen
    9 Another Brick In The Wall
    10 Brain Damage
    11 Out Of The Grey Waltz
    12 The Munster's Theme Song
    13 Sixteen Ways
    14 Papa Was A Rolling Stone
    15 Low Rider
    16 Papa Jam
    17 I Ain't Got Nobody
    18 Jeannie's Afraid Of The Dark
    19 Badge
    20 Dancing Blind (Live At The Stone SF, 1984)
    21 Blood Money (Live At The Stone SF, 1984)

    The Dream Syndicate

    The Universe Inside

      When one thinks of the Dream Syndicate, it’s not just the wild abandon with which singer/guitarist Steve Wynn, drummer Dennis Duck, bassist Mark Walton, and lead guitarist Jason Victor perform - it’s the carefully constructed songwriting of Wynn that comes to mind.

      By now every rock critic in the country has predetermined who he or she feels Wynn reminds them of and what they think of that style of songs. This time, don’t! Which brings us to The Universe Inside. Every article or review ever written will claim “this is new and different” - well, it is! Just look at the song lengths: 20:27, 7:36, 8:56, 9:55 and 10:53. Ok, sure - the Syndicate have occasionally committed a long song to vinyl, “John Coltrane Stereo Blues” was 9 minutes with live versions over the ten-minute mark.

      For the first time, every song is a group songwriting effort. What seeps in are Dennis Duck’s knowledge of European avant-garde music, Jason Victor’s passion for 70s prog, Mark Walton’s experience in Southern-fried music collectives and Wynn’s love of vintage electric jazz. The dazzling display of album cover artwork alone should clue you into the changes. But don’t take our word for it. Dive in!


      The Regulator
      The Longing
      Apropos Of Nothing
      Dusting Off The Rust
      The Slowest Rendition

      Latest Pre-Sales

      169 NEW ITEMS

      E-newsletter —
      Sign up
      Back to top