Search Results for:


The Comet Is Coming


    The Comet is Coming returns with their second full length album on Impulse! Records. King Shabaka, Danalogue, and Betamax’s newest effort finds the Mercury Prize-nominated trio creating a musical landscape that is equally cerebral as it is physically enthralling. While containing elements of jazz throughout, this release leans further into heavy dance-hall themes, providing hypnotic, electronic soundscapes to dance to while keeping you intellectually stimulated.


    1. Code
    2. Technicolour
    3. Lucid Dreamer
    4. Tokyo Nights
    5. Pyramids
    6. Frequency Of Feeling Expansion
    7. Angel Of Darkness
    8. Aftermath
    9. Atomic Wave Dance
    10. The Hammer
    11. Mystik

    On Trust In The Life Force Of The Deep Mystery, the Mercury Music Prize-shortlisted futurist jazz voyagers The Comet Is Coming are making music for these crisis times of chaos and mass meltdown. The title of the album, the band say, concerns “finding meaning in that which you cannot grasp”, it considers “truth in the existence of a primordial energy”. It asks “What does it mean to be human? The music on the trio’s second record, out on impulse! in March 2019, fluctuates between pulsating, danceable, electronic groove-centric pieces and quieter, melodic jazz-infused compositions.

    The Comet Is Coming are: Danalogue (keyboards/electronics), Betamax (drums) and King Shabaka (saxophone).


    Millie says: Comet is Coming have sparked electricity with their new album, high energy jazz and a mixture of everything in between, hints of electronic and melodic interludes woven in masterfully. The trio are channeling existential questions and ideology but have certainly nailed their cosmic jazz sound, that’s for certain!


    1. Because The End Is Really The Beginning
    2. Birth Of Creation
    3. Summon The Fire – IG1 On Jan. 18
    4. Blood Of The Past (feat. Kate Tempest)
    5. Super Zodiac
    6. Astral Flying
    7. Timewave Zero
    8. Unity – IG2 On Feb. 8
    9. The Universe Wakes Up

    The Comet Is Coming

    Channel The Spirits - Reissue

      “Great fire will fall from the sky, the cause will appear both stupefying and marvellous. Very soon after, the earth will tremble. ” The arrival of The Comet as prophesised by Nostradamus. And the earth did tremble.

      Our saviours Danalogue The Conqueror , Betamax Killer (both Soccer96 ) and King Shabaka (Sons Of Kemet, The Ancestors ) bestowed upon us their debut album Channel The Spirits on April 1st 2016 CE. From simpler times, this was a prophetic document. A celeb ration. The beginning of the end.

      For those recent converts, here is Channel The Spirits (Special Edition) . Here is the universe in a microcosm; the life-force distilled down to its raw essence : sex and dancing. Here is a package that includes the debut Prophecy EP from 2015CE. Here are three previously unheard tracks: the fabled Ancient Tapes.


      Disc A
      Channel The Spirits
      1. The Prophecy
      2. Space Carnival
      3. Journey Through The Asteroid Belt
      4. Nano
      5. New Age
      6. Slam Dunk In A Black Hole
      7. Cosmic Dust
      8. Star Furnace
      9. Channel The Spirits
      10. Deep Within The Engine Deck
      11. Lightyears (feat. Joshua Idehen)
      12. End Of Earth

      Disc B
      1. Neon Baby
      2. Star Exploding In Slow Motion
      3. Do The Milky Way
      4. Cosmic Serpent
      5. Final Days Of The Apocalypse (feat. Joshua Idehen)

      Ancient Tapes
      6. Slammin
      7. Transmission
      8. Closing Credits 

      Latest Pre-Sales

      204 NEW ITEMS

      E-newsletter —
      Sign up
      Back to top