Search Results for:


Originally released on Blue Candle Records in 1977, Steppin' Out by the 13th Floor is a true treasure that deserves a cherished place in the collection of every soul and funk connoisseur. This long-awaited reissue brings back the original magic, preserving the essence and impact it had on the music scene.
Its profound influence on bands like the Red Hot Chili Peppers is undeniable, solidifying its status as an essential gem in the annals of musical history.

Now, with this reissue, you have the opportunity to experience the same captivating rhythms and infectious melodies that captivated audiences decades ago. Are you ready to awaken your boogie spirit and infuse your living room with the long-lost spark of the mid-seventies? Brace yourself for an immersive experience as you surrender to the timeless grooves and soulful vibes that will transport you to a bygone era of musical enchantment. Allow the music to ignite your soul, reigniting the vibrant energy of the past
and instilling in you an irresistible urge to groove like never before.


Side A
A1 Sweet Thang
A2 Teffany
A3 Time And Place
A4 Hang Loose
A5 Steppin' Out
Side B
B1 Sweet Lovely Girl
B2 Get Up
B3 Leanin
B4 Rise

The 13th Floor Elevators

13 Of The Best Of The 13th Floor Elevators

    The triumvirate of Roky Erickson, Tommy Hall and Stacy Sutherland had to feature. Transcendent slower songs (often) don’t feature full band performances – so, no Splash One. The song had to be a band original. So, no Baby Blue. 13 unlucky for some. This compilation launches a new phase in the 13th Floor Elevators catalogue and previews the forthcoming series THE QUEST FOR PURE SANITY: the release in optimal quality of all surviving source material for all of the band’s recordings. ‘

    13 OF THE BEST’ has been mastered separately to vinyl, CD, and streaming for the best possible sound quality for each format. Each original source has been referenced to the earliest vinyl pressing and meticulously transferred at 96khz 24- bit resolution. Multitrack tapes of the original recording sessions have been newly mixed in strict accordance with the records as first released. ‘You’re Gonna Miss Me’, the band’s seminal single, is presented here for the first time in true stereo. Taken from the original multitrack session tape, the song has been mixed to stereo in accordance with the iconic mono 45 as recorded and engineered by Walt Andrus. ‘Slip Inside This House’ viewed by fans and critics alike as the Elevators’ masterpiece and one of the key psychedelic recordings of the era, is included on the LP as the edited mono single mix so the loudest possible cut can be achieved. The eight-minute stereo version is included on all other formats. ‘Never Another’, ‘Dr Doom’ and ‘Livin’ On’ from the band’s final sessions have been newly mixed but without the overdubs added almost a year after recording. While the session tapes survive, the overdubs do not. ‘Livin’ On’ features Roky Erickson’s original superior vocal performance instead of the overdub used on the ‘BULL OF THE WOODS’ LP. What is uniquely presented here is 100% Elevators as mixed and intended for the LP. No embellishments!

    ‘13 OF THE BEST’ is produced by 13th Floor Elevators official archivist and historian Paul Drummond who has also written sleeve notes with full track-by-track information.


    Barry says: There's not much you can say about the 13th Floor Elevators that hasn't already been said, but this stunning collection has been remastered and collected with care and attention, giving Erikson & Co's psychedelic meanderings their finest sheen yet. Ace collection.


    1. You’re Gonna Miss Me
    2. Through The Rhythm
    3. Roller Coaster
    4. Reverberation (Doubt)
    5. Kingdom Of Heaven
    6. I’ve Got Levitation
    7. She Lives (In A Time Of Her Own)
    8. Slip Inside This House
    9. Earthquake
    10. Never Another
    11. Dr Doom
    12. Livin’ On
    13. May The Circle Remain Unbroken

    Latest Pre-Sales

    145 NEW ITEMS

    E-newsletter —
    Sign up
    Back to top