Search Results for:


Oort Clod

Cult Value

    Hello and welcome to Cult Value, the new album from Manchester-based band Oort Clod, released by Safe Suburban Home in the UK and Repeating Cloud in the US this April. We are very excited to introduce this mercurial and unique collection of songs. The album includes garage stompers such as “#7”, off-kilter indie whining like the title track “Cult Value”, perfect indie pop songs like ‘Car Talk’ and much more.

    Featuring members of Unpaid Intern, the Hipshakes, Jeuce and the Early Mornings, Oort Clod was originally conceived by songwriter Patrick Glen as a fluid project with shifting members. Over the course of pandemic-era practices above the empty Peer Hat pub (the epicentre of DIY music making in Manchester) the current line-up solidified. In 2021 Oort Clod released a split E.P. with fellow Manchester band Priceless Bodies, pursuing a darker and more experimental sound. The EP received international airplay including BBC6 Music and KSFX.

    After playing gigs with bands like Porridge Radio, Jeffrey Lewis, and Garden Centre and even more practices above the Peer Hat, Oort Clod have mounted up once more to make Cult Value.

    The album’s sound is hard to pin down but it is Oort Clod’s most accessible and complete work so far. The band finds common ground in the alternative rock bands of the 1980s and 1990s, the post-punk and indie bands on Flying Nun Records and trashy compilations of post-British Invasion 60s garage gems like Nuggets. All of which come through, warped by Oort Clod’s particular sensibility, on this record made at Delicious Clam studios in Sheffield under the watchful eye of Ed Crisp. You’ll even get their cover of ? &the Mysterians “96 Tears”—rated the best ever cover of the song by the Blanketing Covers podcast, beating Jonathan Richman, Aretha Franklin, the Stranglers and Suicide (this actually exists, honestly).

    So there you have it the short and sweet lowdown on the new album Cult Value by Oort Clod. We hope you enjoy listening to it as much as they did making it and spread the good word as you see fit. Good luck in your endeavours and take care.


    1. The Lake
    2. #7
    3. Car Talk
    4. Cult Value
    5. Politicians' Eyes
    6. AC Greed
    7. Paper Cuts
    8. Wrong Attention
    9. 96 Tears
    10. Imagination
    11. Inner Rat

    Laymen Terms

    Drive To Nowhere; Verity's Novel

      A carefully crafted album that Laymen Terms have been working towards for their entire career. It's an easy blend of delicately picked and evocative acoustic musing with a driving, impassioned and melodic guitar sound, perfectly complimented Andy Tanner's warm and wistful vocals. Should give them the break they deserve.


      Say What You Mean What You Say

        From the opening number "Snap Out Of It" you'll know you're onto a winner with Attention! Featuring members of three successful emo bands (The Stereo, The Gloria Record, New End Original), Attention has forged and polished their own dynamic and exciting brand of emo which is set to eclipse their previous work. Perhaps the reason JT (vocals, guitar), Jeremy (Bass), David (drums) and Erik (guitar, vocals) have made such strides in such a short time is because they have been able to draw from past experiences and learn from previous mistakes. "Say What You Mean What You Say" is a classy debut from an emo band that are sure to please any fan of the genre.

        Duvall / Seville

        Split CD - This Time Everything Is Mine

          Duvall comprises three quarters of the original Smoking Popes lineup, and get things rolling on this split with a shredding instrumental track, followed by three contemplative pop gems. South Florida's Seville have toured with Dashboard Confessional, the bassist from Seville actually used to play in Dashboard before pursuing his career with Seville.

          Various Artists

          Liberation Sucks

            A wide spectrum of punk rock and skacore featuring tracks from Screeching Weasel, Avail, Vindictives, The Casualties, Grimple, Frenzal Rhomb, Discount, Ink And Dagger, The Icarus Line and many more! All for a low, low price as well.

            The Fairlanes

            Welcome To Nowhere

              12 songs dealing with the uncertainty of life and those troublesome emotional issues that crop up from time to time. Getting older but not necessarily wiser and finding that the American Dream is a bit of a nightmare. For fans of 'quality soft core' such as the Alkaline Trio, NOFX and Lagwagon.

              Just In

              120 NEW ITEMS

              Latest Pre-Sales

              134 NEW ITEMS

              E-newsletter —
              Sign up
              Back to top